We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family style dining, burned out staff”

Schellenger's Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 161 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family style dining, burned out staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

To quote Moe Szylack of the Simpsons "If you like a restaurant with a lot of crazy crap on the walls.." this is a place for families- (carpeting in restaurants is always a tell tale sign of that)
the servers were like zombies - no personality or charm. The kids meal does not even come with a beverage and the tap water had a weird taste.
Having said that, the crab dishes were full of chuncky crab meat and not watered down with sauces and bread crumbs.
If you just want a night out with the family and don't care if you are treated coldly by servers, this place is fine. Dinner for 6 was about 120 dollars including tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    104
    55
    39
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Towaco,NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“We go at least twice on our week vacation!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great meal nice size portions love the free apps with a coupon!! Love the Asian pear martini!! Fun atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTania33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
294 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL....”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent meal, large portions and very friendly staff. Wish we would have tried it sooner. All ready looking forward to going again in September when we are down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIKENGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
372 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Love this place, iconic!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place has been part of WW for years. Yes it is old. Yes is does smell musty however the restaurant is clean, the food is good and so is the service. We can't go to WW without making this our annual seafood trip. We like that is looks like it did from years ago. It is dated but that is the history of the place. We love the coconut shrimp and drinks. A must for large families. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummimummi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overpriced dinner food thought we were going to get a great dinner while on vacation price was no issue but you could get better food somewhere else for less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunchbox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schellenger's Restaurant also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Schellenger's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing