We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service, Mediocre Food”

Schellenger's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 166 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Mediocre Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went to Schellenger's for restaurant week and was very disappointed. I believe Robert Irvine and Restaurant Impossible would have a FIELD DAY in this place. The decor was ridiculous--the food was mediocre--and the staff was slow and unpleasant. I asked for water with my meal and was given a 4 oz glass--and told I could not have a bigger glass because they ran out and they were not allowed to put pitchers on the table. We were seated right away but ended up there for over 2 hours due to extremely poor service. While my friends ordered regular meals (off the restaurant week menu) I ordered a simple salad--i still waited over 40 minutes for it. The food was not at all worth the wait. I do not recommend this place to anyone who appreciates good service along with good food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GStall23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    112
    63
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Food was amazing.The only issue was the glasses were small and there were no free refills. Overall a great dining experience...will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verflores02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iluvacation
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family visited Schellenger's this summer for dinner. It is decorated top to bottom in nautical type theme which is cute for a seafood restaurant. The service was ok, not the best, not the worst. The food was just ok as well - nothing special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a nice time”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Another pretty cool little restaurant in Jersey. It was decorated from head to toe with ocean-like stuff. The food was pretty good also. I was a little skeptical when we first came, but I left very impressed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.J.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smelly”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dont even bother , the place smells , looks run down , dirty and to be honest looks like a tourist trap , go across the street to Jersey Girl spend a little more but leave happy on a good meal .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schellenger's Restaurant also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Schellenger's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing