We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food options Good views, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
Ranked #38 of 159 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Wharf is a family run establishment featuring 2 restaurants under one roof. The Dining Room at The Wharf features a casual upscale dining experience with a complete waterfront view. The menu features all fresh, local seafood and the finest cuts of meats. On the Deck at The Wharf you will find live entertainment daily, a full service waterfront bar and the same fresh food concept as the dining room. The menu on the deck concentrates on fresh seafood and burgers, handmade pizzas, and some of the finest bar fare in the Wildwoods. Lunch specials, happy hour and a fabulous kid's menu make the Wharf the family destination of the Wildwoods.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice food options Good views, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited the wharf on a weeknight in summer 2013, a bit easier to find a table at this casual menu on the deck and inside finer dining restaurant near the Wildwood, NJ bridge. FInding a seat on the weekends is much more difficult, it's a popular place for around 6-7 weeks of the summer. They have a friendly experienced staff at the front of the house and offer the outside dining with a bar type menu and the inside for more let's face it, expensive options, with some entertainment sometimes.
Ordered the macadamia and coconut crusted broiled mahi dish which was perfectly prepared. Fresh seasonal veggies and a starch were all well done. My wife had the crabcakes which I tried. They were very good with a combo of lump and mixed blue claws broiled not friend, which we prefer. Salads were pre-prepared and very chilled....not our preference but they seek to serve alot and pre-make the salads as most restaurants do. However, be mindful if you claim to be a "fine dining" establishment, the salads should be made at ordering but this is the Jersey Shore and I did not mind. It was fresh. No dessert or coffee two glasses of wine and the bill was under $100 for two with tip. So by Jersey Shore standards, I would call this pricey but for what you get compared to other restaurants, it was fresh, well prepared and tasty. Servers were friendly and the facility is clean. I would easily return without issue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    78
    38
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, mediocre food and bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went this past weekend for an early dinner with a couple people. I've been here dozens of time and we usually stop by on the boat while fishing and eat outside on the deck. The views are nice and its usually a nice experience but not this time. I'm not sure if the server was new or not but once he dropped off our food we didn't see him again for another half hour. When he finally came back and got us refills he brought the drinks back pressed against his stomach so they dripped all over him and it was frankly unsanitary. The wings we had were chewy and over done and the pizza was semi-burnt on the bottom. An order of wings and a cheese pizza were 25 dollars and not worth half that. Save yourself a let down and try one of the other great places down the shore, Dogtooth is right down the street and it is much better or just go to the lobster house and eat out on the deck.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clsmooth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way too many other choices in Wildwood area- choose one of them”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Awful from the begining. Waitress was clueless. Got my order wrong-didn't care. Lobster bisque wasthe soup of the day-lobster bits in red salt water. Filet med well was tough and FOLDED IN HALF- weird and nasty. Chicken parm served without pasta. Dry and greasy. Crab cakes were interesting. Cold and the breading was hard. Take your money and time elsewhere too precious to waste here. Used to be a nice place. USED TO BE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof1teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Only the ocean was saltier than the food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a family get together after reading reviews, wish we would have picked Alfe's instead. Parking was terrible. Entrance cluttered by smokers!! Hostesses could care less. Server got 2 orders wrong. Was not apologetic Every thing we ordered from soup to entrees was really salty. Scallops were gritty. After complaining again was offered 1 lousy dessert to compensate 6 diners ! 18% gratuity was tacked on the bill too! Food lousy and overpriced, go elsewhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaleLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Low Quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It Just As When You Want A Great Meal, You Feel Let Down When You Thought
It Would Be A Very Good Dinner. Everything Is Extra , And And The Service Is Ok.
Your Best Bet Is Rick's Sea Food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing