We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 163 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wharf is a family run establishment featuring 2 restaurants under one roof. The Dining Room at The Wharf features a casual upscale dining experience with a complete waterfront view. The menu features all fresh, local seafood and the finest cuts of meats. On the Deck at The Wharf you will find live entertainment daily, a full service waterfront bar and the same fresh food concept as the dining room. The menu on the deck concentrates on fresh seafood and burgers, handmade pizzas, and some of the finest bar fare in the Wildwoods. Lunch specials, happy hour and a fabulous kid's menu make the Wharf the family destination of the Wildwoods.
Pitman
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We went with a huge group of about 12 people and sat outside (during the heat wave). Being on the water we thought there would be some kind of breeze, but there wasn't.

The food was good and the drinks kept coming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank requinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    86
    39
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“WALKED OUT!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our first night at the shore decided to go back and try the Wharf... boy were we wrong. At 5:30 on a Thursday 7/5 the place was not crowded. Walked in and were told to seat any where we wanted! Picked a seat out side by the bay and waited and waited and after 15 minutes not one server even brought us a menu let alone look at us! Seriously, they need to train the staff and hire some hosts that give a darn!. Got up and left and the hostess said why are you leaving and we said well... no one ever gave us a menu or even acknowledged us! Left and went to Uries! Wonderful meal and were seated asap. We will not go back ever again. Now I know why we stopped going there in the first place. Not worthy of our time or our families!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yummimummi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Party Outside Fine Dining Inside”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have been eating and chilling at the Wharf for many years. This is one of our favorite places to have a cold beer on a hot summer day. The outside dock area has two small bars and a good size deck with tables. You can order raw bar, soups, salads, and sandwiches outside in addition to drinks. Many people come here to hang/chill on the deck, eat, drink, and listen/dance to live music. There is always a cool breeze and a nice view of the bay. We come for the party outside but, have eaten in the attached restaurant. Every time has been very good. We went on a Saturday night to chill on the dock but, it was very busy so we asked about eating inside the restaurant. Since there was just the two of us we were seated right away. I ordered the roasted corn & crab chowder, house salad (comes with meal), and the seared sea scallops with a creamy risotto. Everything was excellent! My husband ordered the salmon Oscar with garlic mashed potatoes. He enjoyed it very much! Our waitress was outstanding. Come and enjoy the summer time party on the dock but, also try the wonderful food inside the attached restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdbCapeMayNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellefonte, pa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not the place it used to be.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have been coming to the Wharf for years and it was always pretty good. Last August my wife
and I went there for dinner and we felt like we were bothering the staff when we walked in. We had reversations but did not need them and if things keep up the way they were last summer nobody will need a reservation. The service was poor at best, the food was average. They used to have some of the best crab cakes on the island. Not last year, could have been an off night.

The waitress was more interested in talking to her friends than she was taking care of customers.
She walked by and just slaped the check on our table without asking if we wanted anything else not even desert.

Another couple was talking to a different waitress and walked out after she gave them their menus.

Chance are we will not go back this summer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbum1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Who serves you cold dinner rolls?”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Went to the Wharf to see if the new and improved menu was really new and improved.....when the waitress brought the bread to the table, I was very disappointed....cold! who serves cold dinner rolls? I asked the waitress if she could have them heated, she returned to the table and very apologetically said *THE CHEF SAID NO*...... really? If this was any indication of how the rest of my meal was going to go then I knew instantly I would not be returning. Our dinner was actually very good, not the best, but much better then the food they used to serve. Top that off with the excellent service, the Wharf will get one more visit......HOPE THE BREAD IS HOT NEXT TIME...... GREAT ATMOSPHERE, GREAT SERVICE, GOOD FOOD, HORRIBLE BREAD.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing