We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PLACE TO STAY IN WILDWOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Spent 7 Nights at the Starlux over a holiday weekend which is usually chaotic in most hotels but had the best time. Would definately stay there again. Staff is friendly, property is clean, what else can you ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz69diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 705 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was our first time visiting wildwood. We did not know what to expect. Booked a suite for a little over $300. We needed the space for our 2 yr and 1 yr old kids. The kitchenette was useful. Overall the hotels 50's retro decor is fine if you like that sort of thing. The suite were decent sized. Cleaniless was impressive. The white towels smelled decent. The beds were fine too. We only stayed 1 night. We were close to the large Wildwood sign on the boardwalk. There are diners and CVS/Walgreens five minutes away by car not walking distance if you have small children. Although close to beach an being real clean the room was over priced. It seem like nYC prices (husband and I would know working in midtown Manhattan hotels) so if yu want decent and clean and close to beach this place is fine. But that's it just fine not gr8 not overdone not impressive just fine.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I greatly enjoyed my two night-stay at The Starlux. Not having been to the area in a very long time, making a lodging choice was difficult, given that nearly all hotels there are independently owned and not affiliated with a national brand that sets standards Other tripadvisor reviews led me to The Starlux, and I'm glad they did.

The overall look and feel of the place is awesome with its funky retro decor and atmosphere, including lighting, furnishing and architectural touches, raging from the cool sign on the corner to the lava lamps in the rooms. The pool area is terrific with nice lounge chairs and appropriate background music. The complimentary breakfast is simple, but a nice touch nonetheless, as it's not that expected in a resort town like Wildwood. They should consider serving it outside near the pool when the weather is nice. The location is plenty close to the beach and boardwalk. It's a little bit of a walk to the more happening section of the boardwalk, but it's a pleasant walk and not an issue.

The rooms are a bit on the small side, but quite comfortable and functional, not to mention phenomenally clean. The number of television channels seemed infinite and a DVD player was a nice touch, but having three remote controls (including one for the cable box) seemed to be overkill. The toiletries provided were far better than what I would expect in this area.

Overall, I can't say that the staff was overly friendly, but they were efficient for the most part and got the job done. Jose, my housekeeper was the exception and was friendly and accommodating. My observation of the service is probably indicative of most Wildwood properties.

Before I list my complaints (many of which are more suggestions), it should be noted that despite these criticisms, The Starlux is still better than most other places in Wildwood, and with the nature of the seaside resort town, it's a far different scenario than what we're used to in most metropolitan areas.

The wireless Internet at the hotel showed a strong signal, but connecting to it was a real pain and the hotel staff admitted that they weren't very savvy with such help. The curtains in the rooms are a couple inches shy of the bottom of the windows, and that bothered me--besides the light getting in, if someone were to make the effort, they can see in--including the entire bed. It would be nice if Kleenex were provided in the room. While the bed was comfortable, for the price charged (which was high, but admittedly competitive), it would be nice to have better sheets and pillows, and a comfy duvet rather than the old-school blanket and bedspread.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here in mid June for a 2 night stay; just after the kids got out of school.
the location is fine for us-one block from the convention center and probably 3/4 mile from the first of Morey's Piers. the location is one block from the iconic "Wildwoods" sign. It is what I'd call the lower end of the boardwalk, so can be quite a long walk depending on where you need to go.
The service is awesome-from the accommodations I needed making a reservation, to all the staff we met along the way. This was our first visit to Wildwood, so we had questions about the town and attractions, and a couple people at the desk were extremely helpful. Note that they have a deal with the Piers so we obtained an all day pass for all the Morey's Piers (and waterparks) for $30 per person. Quite a deal we thought.

The comments about breakfast are true--very minimal. we had plain bagels, danishes and coffee. No cereal, oatmeal, nothing hot. Treat yourself to a breakfast at nearby Marvis diner if you're there more than a couple days.
The only downer we had was the street noises. This is an open hotel, on a busy street, so it got a bit loud. The a/c on low provided enough "white noise" that sleeping was possible after that. The room itself is fine. Small, but well equipped and very comfortable.
We saw the two Airstreams, but couldn't get into one of those. They are actually across the street in the hotel's auxiliary parking lot. Kind of cool, but perhaps next time.

Overall, I'd return to the Star Lux. The service, warm pool and location were fine for us and made it a pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

While very familiar with The StarLux, I never had an opportunity to give it a try until I needed a hotel room in Wildwood in the middle of winter. In January, The StarLux is one of the only options on the island if you need a place to stay. While I didn't get to enjoy the place in the heart of the summer season as it should be enjoyed, I did get to experience it after admiring it while eating Sea Shell ice cream year after year.

The motel is an older building that was severely refurbished years ago. That meant a standard motel room inside a building that doesn't look quite like anything else in the area- the way it should be in Wildwood. The room was pretty spacious- probably because there was only one queen bed inside of it- while the bathroom towards the back was fairly small. For one night and one person, it was fine. A larger family staying for a longer period of time would need one of the motel's larger rooms. The room's furnishings were pretty basic aside from the lava lamp and surfvoard-shaped decorative panels on the walls but everything was clean and well-maintained.

One of The SlarLux's best attributes is its location. There is a short walk to the heart of the boardwalk but you're still only a block from the beach (not very useful in the middle of winter but great during the summer months) and a short walk from countless restaurants. The motel features limited on-site parking and a larger parking lot across the street, which is where most people will end up finding space for their cars.

Wildwood motels seems to fall into two categories- those you can take and those you should leave. The StarLUx definitely falls into the former, which is a good thing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

From my first phone call until the end of our visit it was a great experience. I travel alot for work and this was pleasure and I couldn't ask for a freindler staff, I loved the rooms, nice clean, smell nice. We will be going back again and again because we go to wildwood often and now I found a great place to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hope57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The StarLux is a retro Doo Wop hotel located on Rio Grande Ave. in Wildwood NJ. I found that this particular hotel is very clean, and the service is well mannered. Overall, cleanliness was at a supreme-compared to bordering hotels. Besides the hotel rooms not being oceanfront, it is right across the street (Ocean Ave.) from the boardwalk. It is located by the convention center which makes it a good choice for business travelers. There is a long walk to the beach in this section of Wildwood...around a quarter mile, but if you can walk, it shouldn't be a major issue. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet area of town without all of the commotion of the North Wildwood boardwalk. As stated, a little walk to the beach, and to any boardwalk shops, but it is not that bad of a problem. The price is right for a good quality Doo Wop hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWildwoodsNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#24 of 75 in Wildwood
911 reviews
2.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $66 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing