We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...in Wildwood, NJ!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Starlux Hotel! It was the greatest experience we've had in Wildwood. We booked a two room king size suite with a private balcony. My husband and I loved Starlux Hotel so much, we booked that same suite twice-Once for our honeymoon in July 2008, then again in August. They have very clean rooms and courteous staff members. Breakfast was a plus! We had a really nice housekeeper, too. Also, I absolutely LOVED the fact that I could listen to doo wop music by their clean pool or jacuzzi ALL DAY! I am a doo wop fanatic =)

We plan on returning to the same suite July of 2009...and for the rest of our lives!

Note: Starlux is a very family friendly hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank MrsCook71908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 702 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2008

Kudos to the owners of this fantastic hotel for taking Doo-wop into the 21st century. They took what was a fairly plain old Wildwood Motel and turned it into a place that would make the Jetsons feel right at home. The "Astro Room" Lounge next to the pool is ultra cool with 6 Nelson Bubble Lamps hanging from the ceiling and a space age era circular enamel metal fireplace in the center. While drinking your morning coffee you can hang out on the retro mod sofas and read one of their many Mid-Century arcitecture & furniture books. They obviously spent alot of money on this place as there is alot of attention to detail - great wallpaper, light fixtures and color schemes. The rooms are fun and very cool and for the purists many of the bathrooms are original with period tile and light fixtures. We loved the pool and the heated whirlpool is great on chilly mornings. We peeked into the Airstream trailers that you can stay in and they looked like they would be a blast. The StarLux is very centrally located and you can easily walk to the boardwalk and beach. Obviously there are many great period motels in Wildwood that are more original but it is great that there are people who are investing in the future of Wildwood Doo-wop instead of taking the Greedy Way Out and tearing down Wildwoods history in order to build cookie cutter condos.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank boomerangroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

This hotel is really neat! Unique decor and style, nice accommodations very close to the beach. Had everything I needed for a great stay. Reasonably priced for the area. Would recommend to a friend

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank starente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Staying at the StarLux was a great experience the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Its near all main attractions. My girlfriend and I are looking into staying at the StarLux in the near future.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank LouAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Arrived Labour Day, for a 3 night stay. Check in was quick, reception is located in Main building. Confusing at first as no signs direct you to reception. Everyone checks the lounge building in front of the pool. We had a 2 room suite, which we were able to get for the price of a single room. The rooms were a good size, and the bathroom was very clean. Bed was comfortable as well. Breakfast was served in the mornings, consisting of bagels and muffins, as well as coffee, tea and juices. Never used the pool as we always headed to the beach. Short walk to the boardwalk, then about 1/3 of a mile to the water. Beach was great. Overall our stay was great and we had a great time. Many places to eat within walking distance of the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

A friend of mine suggested I should do a review of the Starlux... I did stay there awhile back but I feel my experience is pretty relevant to this discussion.

The Starlux might look cool and be a landmark destination that attracts people with its retro-theme but beware! This place is not as unique as portrayed; so please read before you shell out an exorbitant amount of money for this place.

A cool, retro exterior appears on 1 side of the building and the rest of the design was neglected or abandoned. Shouldn't architecture address 3-dimensions? The back of the hotel is a total disgrace with a huge unused concrete slab that could be used for parking.

OK, onto the room; I got the standard hotel room that advertised 1 queen sized bed; in all honesty, it appeared to be a full size. The room was very small, no chair or seating area but with thin tabletop / dresser furniture and laughable closet that had a shower curtain instead of a slider or door! The bathroom was a joke!!! When I walked into it, I didn't think I had a toilet because it was around a corner and enclosed in a very narrow, tight space. The water pressure was weak and had enough warm water for a 5 minute shower. The bed linens did not smell clean; they had a musty and smoky smell... I stripped the bed and was glad I brought my own comforter and towels (something I normally do). The overall design of the room had some retro shapes and colors but the lava lamp is really out of place; Doo Wop is late 1950s-early 1960s and lava lamps are late 1960s- early 1970s.

My friends and I were at the Starlux during Cheerfest or one of the cheerleading events being held at the Convention Center. Girls were screaming, yelling, running from the time I arrived until the time I left. Also, 2 of my friends who were in room 301 got an early morning wake up when the Doo Wop music started blasting out of the speaker; right outside of their room.

I am from the Cape May County area and now live in NYC; I am used to paying top dollar for things and this whole experience was a huge disappointment. Everything seems to be based upon some "upscale ideal" but there is nothing extraordinary or unique about this place. It feels like someone slapped some retro architecture on top of a Days Inn and added an expensive price tag.

If you really want an outstanding, memorable Doo Wop lodging experience, go to the Caribbean. These owners know the true meaning of Wildwood because they focus on authentic details and offer reasonable rates for all the rooms they have. You could extend your trip by a week from all the money you'd save!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kristen773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed Aug 11, 2008 for three nights. Booked a Double/Double room. Not worth the price. Paid $678.00 + tax. The room was very small. One adult and two teens had a very hard time moving around. Not up to standard in appearance or cleanliness. Very poor water pressure in shower. Wireless internet did not work from the room. Had to go down to lounge to connect. Poor on site parking - must park offsite across the street. Continental breakfast was below average. Repair men kept coming in and out to repair electrical outlets!
The hotel is directly on the main road into Wildwood. (Rio Grande) and is therefore very noisey. As far as Doo Wop motels go - liked th Caribbean better. It's cheaper, cleaner and better location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emmypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#12 of 68 in Wildwood Crest
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#5 of 75 in Wildwood
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 75 in Wildwood
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#12 of 75 in Wildwood
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $44 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing