We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy Car Show weekend saved by the Starlux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philly, PA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Rainy Car Show weekend saved by the Starlux”
Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband, a friend and I visited Wildwood 05/08-11/08 for the Spring Car Show. Alhough the weekend was pretty much a wash out we had a great time despite the rain thanks, in part, to the Starlux. Driving up on Thursday night our first impression of the hotel was "wow". The property really does stand out due to it's unique look and cool exterior lighting. Parking right out front was available, check In was quick and the evening desk girl was very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor and was ocean front. Our balcony actually overlooked the "Wildwoods" sign which was beautiful, at least on the one sunny day we got. Unfortuantely I cannot guarantee this view in future as an empty lot is situated between the hotel and the boards and will certainly house rentals or a hotel soon. Also the hotel almost at the end of the boardwalk (past the convention center) and the walk to the middle is kind of far. As we are young, fit and childless the location was fine for us but older folks or families with young kids might need to take the tram. Anyway, the two room suite we booked was really perfect for us (a group) since it had a spacious living room area, with a couch, desk and TV, for hanging out. The kitchenette was small and wasn't really properly stocked with dishes, cups, etc. but we weren't there to cook so it didn't matter for us. The table between the rooms was perfect for cards and takeout and we used it frequently. The two bedrooms (a king in one and two doubles in the other) were clean and had plenty of closet and dresser space. The king room could have been a little bit bigger... it was tight walking around the bed... but it wasn't a deal breaker. The bathroom was plain but spotless and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The cleaning girl was excellent as she kept the fresh towels and shampoo stocked. She worked around us a lot of the time since we were in the room due to the rain and was nothing but friendly. The pool was honestly freezing... it could have heated it a bit more but with the cold temps and cold rain I can understand why they didn't waste the money. The hottub was wonderful and we truely did use it every day. The night manager frequently kept it open late for us which was really nice and appreciated. The continental breakfast was crap... mini muffins, bagels and danishes out of a box and juices in cans... but that's what get for free. The room the breakfast was served in was way nicer than the food... seriously it was really cool. Because we had our own living room we didn't go in there much but I could see hanging out as a group in that space. The game room was one of the few disapointments as most of the stuff in there was broken but if it had been nice out we would never have gone in there so there you go. A few of the other minor issues we had... the TV in the living room kept shutting off, the elevator was very slow, the ice maker on our floor was broken, the lights on the headboard were pretty much all busted and there was only one bell cart for the entire hotel. The only major issue we had was with the African American, day, desk girl who's name I forget. She really needs to be fired. She was unprofessional and had major attitude. She actually had a mouth full of food through our entire checkout. It is shame she is the first thing people checking in during the day see, as she does not really represent the attitude of the hotel or it's employees. Thankfully we barely saw her since she was only on during the day and we were mostly out and about then. Overall this one poor performance thankfully did not taint our impression of the Starlux. The other ammenities, employees, etc. made this place a "we'll be back" kind of hotel. Good job.

  • Liked — Clean, fun rooms
  • Disliked — Certain front desk girl
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESLIEKURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    179
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
343
154
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Cradle of Liberty, Philadelphia PA
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We had a great time here at the StarLux. Looking for something to do during those long cold winter months, do what we did. Reasonable prices, nice room and the first time I was ever in an outdoor hot tub in 20 degree weather (WE LOVED IT). One of our best memories will be the 50 yard dash from the hot tub back to the hotel. We will do this again.............

  • Liked — The hot tub
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joeyd1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

The StarLux Motel, Wildwood, NJ
Date of Stay: April 22, 2008


We love to travel off-season and take our bikes and were heading south from NYC, so we decided to stay at the very Retro Star Lux Motel in Wildwood, NJ. We read that, in addition to their motel units, they had two Airstream RV Trailers across the street set up for overnight accomodations. We figured we'd give it a try and we absolutely loved it. Although one of the two trailers was out of service temporarily, the one we were in was just great. Real Retro motif, lava lamp, even a retro looking microwave oven. It had all the conveniences of home plus two TV's and a really nice AM/FM radio sound system.

Across the street at the motel, they had a nice heated outdoor whirlpool spa, which we enjoyed and Oldies music playing on their loudspeaker by the sitting area. Lots of retro furniture in the lounge area and a small continental breakfast which we enjoyed before heading out to bike ride on the fabulous Wildwood boardwalk capped off our fun one night/one day stay.

Can't really comment on the motel rooms since our goal was to stay in the Airstream, but overall the place was clean, comfortable and the off season rates were terrific.

  • Liked — The Airstream Experience !!
  • Disliked — Enjoyed it All --Nothing Bad
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We LOVED the StarLux, and plan to come again as soon as we get the chance. Jay, we didn't catch his last name, was more than helpful, giving us walking directions to the place as well as being really friendly, prompt, and accommodating, despite being new to the place. Our stay was memorable for the decor and privacy, as well as its prime location right on the shore. (I am still wearing a pair of sunglasses I earned from countless quarters' worth of skeeball!) One thing we did notice was that we couldn't find our way to the ice machine, despite the availability of an ice bucket. Just a small snag in our otherwise perfect weekend in WildWood.

  • Liked — Kitschy decorations, complete with lava lamp
  • Disliked — They are sorely missing an indoor swimming pool, right about where the lounge is now.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank juliewuliewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

Went for a weekend getaway. We were impressed by the retro style. Even more impressed by the overall cleanliness, the friendly staff and great room and great location. We would definately return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Style,cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2008

What a fun hotel! Great service. Management was extremely helpful. It was off-season but they treated us like star guests. Hotel is comfortable and clean. It is in a great location. I look forward to going back.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank GBHallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Was looking forward to a night away with my two boys and my brother and his son so we booked the queen suite, Room 101. As soon as we walked in the room the smell was stale...bad enough where the cleaning people had left the windows open. For a two room suite there was nothing in it. The first room had one couch with a small table and a the floor was commercial linoleum with a beat up throw rug. Upon checking the bathroom we found a few dead bugs on the floor and another in the tub.

The bed had dirty sheets......stains that looked like......you can only imagine.

One final thing.......not hot water for a shower. Though we let it run for 5 minutes it never got any better than lukewarm.

I expected more considering it was still off-season.

Don't be fooled by their glitzy web site........all flash with no substance. Stay away!

  • Liked — it was close to the convention center
  • Disliked — the smell of the room, no hot water
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DrZeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLuxManager, General Manager at The StarLux Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
I am very sorry that DrZeek had a bad experience at the StarLux. Several glitches took place. His room should not have been 'on the market' and rented. His bad experience is a huge dissapointment to us and his complimentary stay is still waiting for him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#15 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#6 of 76 in Wildwood
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#4 of 76 in Wildwood
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#9 of 76 in Wildwood
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Property: The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing