We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“late winter stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia,pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“late winter stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My mother,daughter and I had a wonderful stay at the Starlux. the gentleman who works nights, Wayne, was most helpful in our request for an additional night. He went out of his way to accomodate my request so we would not have to switch rooms the next day(Our stay happened to coincide with a large group coming in for a cheerleading competition.) My mother is in her 80's and that moving the next day would have been most inconvenient. I would surely recommend the Starlux to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandchair22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    157
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
289
136
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night at The StarLux while I was in Wildwood for the Episcopal diocese of NJ's annual convention. The suite was comfortable, the kitchenette had a good size refrigerator and shelves full of dishes and cups. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel, but I would definitely consider it for a longer stay in the future. Thanks!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My Fiancee an I had traveled down to Wildwood, NJ., for a 1 night stay at the Star Lux. We just needed to get out of our area. We called a few days earlier to see what they had available, and I had spoken with a gentleman named Wayne. What a sweetheart! He was able to tell me what rooms they had left, what they had in them,/equipped with and how much the prices were. So needing to confer w/my fiancee, we called the next morning and booked our room with a really nice woman named Mary(I believe) and she gave us the info. on our room that we'd be staying in. We stayed in a Suite I believe. It had a queen bed, small kitcheneete, Sofa-bed, big bathroom, nice sized table, all equipped with plates, bowls, spoons, cups, forks, knives, etc. and dish soap. The room had 2 Tvs, a stereo(tape deck n CD) and a desk an 2 sets of drawers. We were able to chill an relax in our room, have dinner, and unwind - We couldn't have asked for a better room ESPECIALLY for the price of our room! Everyone who works at the Star Lux is friendsly, helpful and we just had a really wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelCoGRL792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Conveniently located within walking distance of the convention center. Arrived at 9:15am & was cheerfully greeted by Jacqui. She was able to accommodate our early arrival in our 2 bedroom suite. Rooms were spotless, kitchen was well supplied with the necessities & bathroom looked newly renovated. Only there for one cold night -but the room had wonderful heat. Would return again in the summer to try the balcony & the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank potato4931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a small hotel with a pool and laundry facilities. Breakfast was a little too simple for our taste but sufficient. The style of the fifties space neon lights was very well executed to small details, which we liked very much. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi coverage could be better. Really close to the beaches and boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marleen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had not been to Wildwood since I was a child and was looking forward to sharing childhood memories with my children and the Starlux did not disappoint. It was a block from the beach and big WILDWOOD sign and the other way were tons of restaurants to walk to off the boardwalk too. We did not have to drive anywhere. The location was wonderful. The suite met our needs of a family of four. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was great for kids--warm, shallow end, and fun. The discount to the piers and waterparks was great and we had a ball. I wanted to stay longer and wish to return this summer.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the suite with the kitchen to grab breakfast and lunch. There was a nice balcony to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As we stayed recently, in the snow. I can't review the outside amenities. I will say the location is great. No vehicle necessary in the summer if you stay here. Walk to beach, stores, restaurants. The 50's decor is cool, but it can't hide the fact that it's old. They did a good job covering it up but it's still there, it is an old place. I did not have a room with a flat screen, I had an old 32in tv that for some reason randomly changed the channels on its own every once in a while. The air conditioner/heater was an ancient unit under the window that is loud. Really loud. The beds are awful. Tiny and uncomfortable. Walls are paper thin. The place was clean though, and during the summer, to be that close to the beach, I think this hotel would be more than adequate for that alone. The kicker for me was when I went to take a shower and the water ran orange for about 30 seconds before it cleared. Maybe an off season issue? Don't know, but I didn't like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank col6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
2.2 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#11 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#1 of 77 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#13 of 77 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#3 of 77 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#5 of 77 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Property: The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing