We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be Fooled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Was looking forward to a night away with my two boys and my brother and his son so we booked the queen suite, Room 101. As soon as we walked in the room the smell was stale...bad enough where the cleaning people had left the windows open. For a two room suite there was nothing in it. The first room had one couch with a small table and a the floor was commercial linoleum with a beat up throw rug. Upon checking the bathroom we found a few dead bugs on the floor and another in the tub.

The bed had dirty sheets......stains that looked like......you can only imagine.

One final thing.......not hot water for a shower. Though we let it run for 5 minutes it never got any better than lukewarm.

I expected more considering it was still off-season.

Don't be fooled by their glitzy web site........all flash with no substance. Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank DrZeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLuxManager, General Manager at The StarLux Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

I am very sorry that DrZeek had a bad experience at the StarLux. Several glitches took place. His room should not have been 'on the market' and rented. His bad experience is a huge dissapointment to us and his complimentary stay is still waiting for him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 705 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2008

To start off our trip the Starlux never received our reservation from Hotels.com.

We had a room with 1 queen bed. Room was very clean but VERY SMALL. And you could hear everything going on outside.

Loved being so close to the boardwalk and beach but HATED that the parking lot for the hotel is across the street and the local kids used the lot to park in and hang out in (it's right next to a community center).

If in Wildwood again we'd probably stay someplace else. Was expecting so much more from the reviews I read on this site.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank brianasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

If you are the type of person that enjoys the finer accomodations when booking a vacation, and are planning a trip to Wildwood, New Jersey, then search no further and trust this review! I have been vacationing to Wildwood, New Jersey for eleven years now, and I've experimeneted all accomodations from motels, to hotels, and even vacation homes/condominiums in North Wildwood, Wildwood, and Wildwood Crest New Jersey. Although, I have had good experiences with all, my most memorable vacations and accomodating stays have been at the StarLux Hotel in Wildwood New Jersey (located conveniently at the intersection of Rio Grande Ave. and Atlantic Ave.). Their incredible ammentities include a game room suitable for children of all ages, guest laundry facilities, a continental breakfast bar for you morning enthusiasts, a gorgeous recreation room with a fireplace, wet bar, and large flat screen television (where there are designated movie nights for all guests), a heated swimming pool, accompanied by a large hot tub which is opened year round. Each room accomodates their guest with a refregerator, microwave, and coffee maker. But lets not forget their incredible suites, suitable for a couples retreat or a family getaway! If you are looking to have the perfect vacation in Wildwood, start at the perfect hotel...The StarLux, where you will enjoy Wildwood's premier boutique featuring a design with futirsitic styles of the past and a terrific staff awaiting your arrival!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank borntobemoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Starlux Motel is a beautiful place to stay. It is a Doo Wop Boutiuqe Motel. We stayed in a room that was more like a house. Lots of space, very clean, great location in the center of Wildwood new jersey! Just steps to the Beach and Boardwalk. They have an area where you can go read a book or just relax with a fireplace and its by the pool. This place is a must visit! Just ask for Gordon or any of there friendly staff when making a reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeCpottstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

The hotel was great and so was the staff. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank palicarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Just wanted to send a note to let you know that our stay was GREAT! We so enjoyed our time. We came down in February. The Staff was so kind and courteous. The room was so comfortable and the decor was just charming. We love the theme of your entire hotel. We even loved the surroundings outside. We only hope the entire town begins to follow your lead in the hopes of putting Wildwood back on the map of places to vacation.

Keep up the good work, we will be back


Thank You

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunluvinjacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

My recent stay at the StarLux was an entirely pleasant visit. My very positive experience started with a graceous and helpful young lady at the front desk. From that point on, all of the staff seemed interested in doing all they could to make my stay enjoyable. My two room suite was spaceous and comfortable. It was very clean and well appointed. The location was excellent. It is only one short block from the Wildwood Boardwalk and shore. Although the weather was cool, on the sunny days I enjoyed the small balcony. Hearing the sound of the waves and watching them break on the beach was great! Brisk walks on the shore also added to enjoyment. The cool temperatures of the off-season were minimized by the fact that there were no crowds and I really appreciated the "peace and quiet". The fact that the StarLux is also located close the the beautiful town of Cape May, the Cape Light House, Sunset Beach, and a wondertful waterfowl sanctuary adds to its appeal. I will definitely stay at the StarLux again if the occasion arises.

Respectfully,
Roy Lauter, President of New Hope International

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
2.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Suites, a Sundance Vacations Resort
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#23 of 75 in Wildwood
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#8 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wildwood
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $66 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing