We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nostalgic Jersey Shore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Jersey Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the StarLux. After problems with our first stay, Gordon Clark invited us back and provided a 2 room suite. The suite was very clean and suitable. The suite had 2 TV's and a small kitchenette. My son said the sofa bed in the living room was very confortable. The hotel's decor is kinda of beachy-art deco with a 50's/60's twist. It definately is a cool place and the hotel's exterior can not be missed as you approach.

From the moment we checked in until our departure we felt welcomed and we had a great time. The hotel is very close to the boardwalk and you can easily walk to the beach. The front desk sells amusement pier passes at a discount and we purchased these to use. This gave us access to the rides and waterparks.

The whole Wildwood area is full of small local hotels with only a few national chains and the StarLux appears to be above the rest. I would gladly stay there again and hopefully will in the future. Thanks to Gordon Clark we gave the StarLux a second chance and it paid off. Great Beach Weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smnlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    165
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
306
141
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is so cool. The rooms were modest in size but clean with an up dated bathroom. Loved the pool and hottub. Enjoyed the pool table as well although they did not have any chalk for the cue sticks. The employees were more than willing to help with any questions. Only reason I did not give it an excellant star rating is that the continental breakfast was REALLY basic...muffins and donuts. I would like to have seen something a little healthier like whole grain bagels or bran muffins.

Room Tip: Nice location. Right across from the boardwalk main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a block of rooms for our wedding guests at The StarLux. The hotel is very clean, has room to accommodate needs, a food area and game room! Our guest big and small had fun here. The staff allowed us to use the lounge area for our wedding location. Our event took place 2 weeks after Hurricane Sandy and some displaced families were staying there. We continue to send out our prayers to those affected and continue to thank The StarLux for continuing to accommodate our wedding guests. Great weekend.

Room Tip: Not your typical beach hotel. Our favorite room was the 2 bedroom suite which also had a sleeper cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

When my Husband told me that he had booked us a get away for the the weekend in Wildwood I was a little disapointed. Wildwood is not one of my favorite places! But I have to say that the StarLux made it all worth while. The first impression when your drive up is amazing. It was dark out but you can see the PalmTree from 2 blocks away. We had a great view and a room that was actually 2 rooms with a kitchen and dining table. Everything you could need was there. Dishes , glasses , toaster etc. There is a hottub out by the pool that is running all year even though the pool is closed. A great little area in front of the lobby with a Fireplace. Very cozy and warm. But the best thing about it was Jacquie. She is at the Front Desk and was there for us no matter what the question. She helped us with printing out confirmation for reservations for the Cape May Ferry and new answers about other places that wew were interested in going to. I would go back there anytime of the year! A great little spot!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyo5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Loved being across the street from the beach. Boardwalk bike rides were fun! Would love to go back in the summer as more would be happening . Stayed for the fabulous 50's weekend . Would stay at the Starlux again .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikespeakroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great place to vacation, relax or believe it or not even have a wedding. My son was supposed to be getting married on Sunday, October 28th then Hurricane Sandy decided to enter the picture. They were to be married in a beautiful tent a few blocks from the hotel on the brides grandmother's property. We were all planning to spend the week-end at the StarLux. When the tent company told us they would not put up the tent the StarLux offered their lounge to us. They set up tables, let us use their breakfast room for food preparation and allowed us to decorate their lounge for the wedding. The entire staff could not have been nicer. It was like one large family pulling together for the bride and groom. We will always have great memories of my son's wedding thanks to the generosity and kindness of the staff and management of the StarLux Hotel. Unfortunately the wedding had to be moved up to Saturday evening instead of Sunday afternoon due to the mandatory evacuation so we did not get to stay the entire week-end- but we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Loved the suites with the extra space. The little balcony was a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Retro hotel only one block from the beach. We just stayed in one of the suites and had a small balcony with an ocean view. Well planned, attractive, small suite. Very clean hotel with an excellent staff that will do anything to make your stay comfortable. Nice continental breakfast .

Room Tip: Suites are excellent. Small kitchen with a full fridge and a small microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildwood
2.2 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#4 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#10 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#2 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#4 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#3 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The StarLux Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The StarLux Hotel & Suites

Property: The StarLux Hotel & Suites
Address: 305 E Rio Grande Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#1 Business Hotel in Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The StarLux Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The StarLux Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Hotel Wildwood
Starlux Motel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing