We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Home Alone”
Review of Alton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alton Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Wildwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at The Alton Motel for Bike Week. The new owners (Bud & Julie) are the best and have turned this once lonely property into a home away from home. As with most of the old hotels/motels in Wildwood, the accommodations are standard fare. Where this property shines is the way they have made improvements. The motel is clean and under constant care. The location is perfect. The maid service is prompt and very accommodating to everyone's needs.

The owners have gone and continue to go out of their way for their guests. Everything is done to make you comfortable. We are very happy that we stayed here. Hey, the owners stay with you all day & night. They are building a home away from home for all of their guests. The best part is that they treat you like family. We will definitely stay with Bud & Julie every time we go to Wildwood.

Room Tip: Talk to Bud or Julie for whatever your needs may be....they're very accommodating The first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerguy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

If your looking for a motel that when you sit on the toilet it moves because the bolts are broke This is a great place to stay!
If your looking for a motel with a bunch of people drinking and yelling and swimming in the pool till 3.00 o'clock in the morning disturbing all the other guests in the motel
This is a Great place to stay!
This Motel is the worst Place I ever stayed in My life !!!!!! I almost forgot According to The Girl at the front Desk informed me that this is a 23 room motel with only 10 parking spaces at the motel So If by some strange chance you want to take your car out with your family for a nice dinner somewhere in town when you come back you won't have your old parking space BUT DON"T FEAR !!!! You only have to go 5 blocks away 2 blocks up and 3 down and you can park in another lot reserved for the Alton Motel Guests.(Hope it's not Raining)
This is a Great Place to stay!
If you enjoy waking up to 7 police officers Because the group Partying all night had someone break in and rob them of their Money and personal belongings and all the guests in the place were standing outside on the balcony's furious how they had to put up with all that misery all night long
This is a Great Place to stay!
In ending I'd like to say that the Owner is quite a cheery Guy and seems to blame everything that's going on in his Motel on a few Knuckle Heads (in his words) But I will say this about the Owner He really Cares about His Guests because when your driving down the street You can't miss the Motel Because He parks His Black on Black Mercedes sl Convertible right on the end in the first Parking spot Therefore leaving only 9 spots for the 23 room Motel So for all you Guys looking to enjoy all these great things that I enjoyed at my visit to the Alton and enjoy staying up all night to the drinking and partying and noise This is without a doubt the Best Motel to go to In Wild Wood
Oh I almost forgot before going home place a call to you chiropractor because after trying to sleep on those beds your going to need one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I have been coming to the Alton for the past 3 years since the new owners took over and we love it! The staff is awesome, the rooms are clean, location is perfect and the place is very accommodating. There also is a cafe attached to the motel and the food is very good. My favorite kids place to eat "Mack's Pizza" is right up the street. Many of our friends have stayed here too and we all keep coming back. Great place too for Irish weekend...room rates are even better....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been going to the Alton for the past two years and have never been disappointed! We usually take kids, and we have a great time. The owners are awesome and very accommdating and the staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean, the pool area is fun and It's close to the boardwalk, with restaurants and bars close by.

Room Tip: If you have a family or more than 4 people staying with you, the 3rd floor Suite is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I gave this place a poor review because when we went to check in there was no parking available.They told me that there were only 10 spots and that I would have to park our car 2 blocks down and 2 blocks over. They asked if that would be a problem for me and I said maybe. I was then told that if I didn't like it they would refund my money and I could leave. The man was very rude about this, and during the whole check-in. Our room was dated and not very clean. The floors were tile and dirty. The bed sheets were stained and the comforters were dirty. The bathroom sink was rusty, the tub was slow to drain to where you could only take a 4 minute shower or it would overflow, there was mold in the grout, and the outlet by the sink was loose to where it only worked if wiggled. I had to style my hair in a compact mirror due to no outlet by a mirror in room. The bedside lamp was the only light in room and the switch on that had to be wiggled to work. After getting a rude welcome I didn't even report any of this because I figured that they didn't even care, and we were only staying 2 nights. They made us wear a wristband to show we were staying on property. They said that they have a big deck(which was on the roof), but it was roped off. The pool was small but nice, and they had a few tables and chairs around it. This was probably the nicest thing. There were 2 girls that worked at night and they were very nice. They chatted with the other guests and were very helpful with finding things in the area. Even though this was a last minute trip, I will not come back.

Room Tip: It was full on a Saturday. We had a room by pool and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The location and additional parking are a plus.

We have come the past 3 years from western New York and look forward to many more. We feel very safe staying here and having a restaurant on the premises that opens early
as I wake u as I wake up early bu all like to s all like to sleep in.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevecsapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Beach Blast on the second floor of the hotel there was tile on the floor in the room which was a huge plus no stinky must be smelly carpet! The staff was very courteous and accommodating It was a hop skip and a jump from the boardwalk And there was a close bar restaurant right at the corner called tu kers which had excellent food and drink the only downfall to the hotel is they only give you one key to the room they have a great little restaurant attached to the motel which had a nice cheap breakfast would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.8 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#16 of 75 in Wildwood
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#25 of 75 in Wildwood
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#21 of 75 in Wildwood
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Motel

Address: 235 E Wildwood Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4837
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alton Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Alton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing