We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better think twice, read this first before considering.”
Review of El Ray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Ray Motel
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better think twice, read this first before considering.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As my wife and two children walked into the room, we couldn't get the feeling out that just being there was making us dirty. We had noticed the lack of maintenance on the pool which looked like it had a crack in it. We joking laughed, uncontrollably, at the horrendous conditions and thought we'd give it a try. Just walking on the tiled floor made my clean socks dirty, there was garbage behind the light stand, the light stand wasn't even plugged in, had the line spliced to make it longer to reach an outlet, and was missing a bulb to add to the fiasco. One of the power outlets was missing a cover. The bathroom smelled worse than a public restroom, it honestly smelled as if someone had purposely broke wind right before I walked. I turned on the shower and the pan started filling with water. The drain was clogged!!! I let the man at the desk know of the this and he came with a toilet plunger into the room and began vigorously plunging as if his life depended on it. He pulled out some garbage out of the drain, showed it to me, and left. At that point my other half told me she was about to go sleep in the car with the kids if need be. So she got up, walked across the street and booked a room at the Days Inn. Do yourself a favor and save yourself and your family the hassle of coming here. I honestly think these owners need to heavily invest in maintaining their property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Estebanx313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    13
    13
    23
See reviews for
42
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here last weekend(6/21/2013). Let me start by saying the location is great everything you need is in reach. And there is a pizza store connecting to the motel that makes great food and open late. The managers were a great help and really friendly, I enjoyed chatting with them. The rooms were as we expected very clean and kept clean. Every morning the maids would come in and clean while we were at the beach. I would recommend this to everyone I know and the pricing is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stevensoliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been there once this summer for the first time and I love this place will for sure go back there again next year if i get the chance to. The room was clean/nice and the pool was nice all and all i give it a 9/10 especially for the location and how clean it was

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julian_0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

went there for prom w my friend and had a great time... best part is the location and the the pizzia shop next door n that we didn't have to drive anywhere... will most likely stay there again whenever I go to wildwood

Room Tip: the room I stayed in had a balcony which was nice but it was a little more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinicum, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I have been going to the El~Ray Motel for almost 20 years! WE WILL STAY NO WHERE ELSE!!! Contrary to other reviews, this Motel is CLEAN, SAFE, FAMILY FRIENDLY, AND VERY REASONABLE! The owners, Mr and Mrs. Hanna are always there to greet you with a smile or even a hug, They work extremely hard everyday to assure you a nice stay. This motel offers daily maid service with fresh towels. They offer free coffee and doughnuts daily. They offer a great pool to accomadate the whole family. Two sun decks with lounge chairs. They even have a pizza shop hooked on to the side of the building. The location can not be beat, One block from the boardwalk and beach. Walking distance to restaraunts, ice cream shops, you name it. They also provide FREE parking during your stay. I have reccomended the El~Ray motel to friends and families for years. It is our home away from home and we stay there a few times each season. It really is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Dori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stay here all the time, breakfast on weekend, clean rooms, manager friendly and most helpful. Would recommend to anyone. Location is close to boardwalk and convention center. Maid came to room every morning with clean towels and freshed beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank debbie233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

AS OF 9/16/12 ---everything is in working condition;toilet flushes;shower works;extremely convenient, with easy access to local restaurants, boardwalk, ice cream parlors; has a pool as deep as 9' (for adult) and 2' (for the little ones); beds are compfy, TV has more than one station; management and service are extremely nice and the deals are completely reasonable for a motel thats located only a block away from the boardwalk.. we had a block party-like event there, at least on 2 different occasiond, LEMME TELL YA'.. IF MANAGEMENT CAN HANDLE ME!! THIS HAS GOTTA BE A GREAT PLACE TO STAY...CAUSE IMMA CARAZY BOY!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ford982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.4 mi away
Skylark Resort Motel
Skylark Resort Motel
#24 of 76 in Wildwood
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Motel
Seashell Motel
#48 of 76 in Wildwood
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarem Happy Days
Clarem Happy Days
#37 of 76 in Wildwood
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#28 of 76 in Wildwood
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountain Motel
Fountain Motel
#35 of 76 in Wildwood
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Comber Motel
Surf Comber Motel
#40 of 76 in Wildwood
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ray Motel

Property: El Ray Motel
Address: 4711 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4508
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Ray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing