We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Wildwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Motel
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in Wildwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ernie and Sandra were wonderful hosts on our two night stay at the Sunflower Motel. Rooms were very clean, pool was nice, and only a block from the Boardwalk. They were very accommodating to our family (we arrived with very active 2 and 3 year old children), couldn't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonJ112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for our soccer tournament in June. Sondra and Ernie were the best. Usually stay in Hotels but was very surprised how clean this Motel was. We all had a blast and Ernie will constantly make you laugh. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

You truly feel as if you are a member of their family! This is still a family owned business, which already means they honestly care about who stays there...they know every guest by name, not number! Clean and pleasant its right near the board walk! I love this place...will go back every chance i get!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellenice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was my families first trip to wildwood and we didnt know what to expect. But what stuck out the most was how family orientated this motel was! We arrived an hr early and Sandra the owner allowed us check in early and get settled into our rooms. When i booked only 2 weeks prior to our trip (which during peak season isnt alot of notice) We needed 2 rooms and she only had 1 availible but was able to put the effort in to move around other guests room to make our dates available with 2 roooms next to each other. Most other guestseem like annual returning guest which speaks volumes for the sunflower. Everyday our rooms were clean spotless and done early! And you didnt get the feeling that any of the staff were going through any of your stuff which ive had that unfortunate expierience in the past.What was really cool was how both Sandra and Ernie would always walk around and talk with all the guest to see how everyones stay was going and to just have general conversations with guest to make you feel very comfortable. and last and most important was the motels location!! It is located a 1/2 a block from the prime location of the boardwalk right between the 2 top piers! Thank you Sandra and Ernie!!! You truely care for all your guest and we will see you next summer!!!
Jean and Lynn G.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my wife (we are in our 30's) and and 3yr old twins for 4 nights over the July 4th weekend. There are two features that distinguish this motel from others in the Wildwoods (and the Jersey Shore). First and foremost are the owners - Sandra and Ernie are even more fantastic in person than the glowing reviews here indicate. Their presence and energy create a wonderfully relaxed family atmosphere.

The second feature is the cleanliness. This is a Wildwood Motel, so the furnishings are extremely dated and if you are looking for luxury this is not for you... and frankly Wildwood may not be for you. That being said, I have stayed in many luxury hotels that do not even come close to the cleanliness of The Sunflower. The daily made service is excellent and something to keep in mind when considering whether to stay here or rent a condo. Beyond the daily maid service Sandra and Ernie keep up on the common areas almost around the clock.

During two nights of our trip we had a wonderful singer/guitar player who was a guest at the hotel give a fantastic concert poolside. It really added to the very friendly atmosphere here. It's nice to drink a can or two of beer on your porch at night (glass is not allowed on the porches, but Good Night Irene's 2 blocks away has a great selection of craft beers in cans). This is by no means are party motel, if I were in my 20's going with some buddies, I would stay elsewhere.

My only note here would be that they should add wifi. When I booked I thought it would be relaxing to "unplug"... unfortunately in this day and age my children have become too accustomed to their devices that run on wifi. The Sunflower is a small cozy motel, and adding wifi would not be that much of a challenge for them.

The location is great, and this was one of the most enjoyable family vacations we have ever had. I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, but will try and book on the first to cut down on the stairs for my yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyelbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I haven't been to Wildwood since we were young and decided to return with our kids and stay at the Sunflower Motel where he used to go with his parents and family. Hoping it would still be a memorable place, we were pleasantly surprised to find such a homelike motel. The owners welcomed us with a friendly smile and the deluxe efficiency room was extremely clean with a kitchenette, mini fridge & microwave. The bathroom was also spotless! No smoking is allowed in the rooms, which I think is a plus, especially if you're bringing kids. The daily room service was also great. The environment was very family oriented and the pool was heated and clean. We even enjoyed a singer perform next to the pool one night for all the guests to enjoy.
The boardwalk is a short block away, right in between two piers. We will definitely be returning to this motel and recommend it to family and friends! Thank you Sandra and Ernie for making our stay pleasurable!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 310_marg_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As always, we had a fantastic time for our vacation! We hate to leave this wonderful place, its like leaving family behind for another year. Sondra and Ernie are the nicest people you will ever meet and their motel and the comfort and fun of their guests is the most important thing to them. It's like visiting family that goes out of their way to make you enjoy your vacation, but these folks do it for all their guests and for many weeks and months out of the year. obviously this is a great place to come to, because every year we see the same people come here, it's our meeting place lol. NICE AND CLEAN. I hate to post this because I'm afraid this will become so popular that I won't get my room next year. Thank you again Sondra and Ernie, we will see you next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.5 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#8 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#1 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#5 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#7 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#3 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Motel

Property: Sunflower Motel
Address: 313 E Glenwood Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunflower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing