We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE FOOD” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusty Rudder Restaurant

Rusty Rudder Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 157 Restaurants in Wildwood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I was really disappointed with my visit. Several years ago i visited this place and it was not bad but now it is under new management. The food looked so disgusting that i only tasted the shrimp. The mac and cheese looked like clumpy crap and according to my friend who actually tasted it; crap probably taste better. I tried a ravioli thinking they couldn't mess that up but i was wrong. The ravioli was never drained properly so the sauce on it was watery. We actually randomly told people on the street not to eat there. We felt so cheated and disgusted so we needed to vent.

Helpful?
3 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    20
    25
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty bad food, not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went here for dinner, cost about $13 I believe for all you can eat. None of the food was very good, I was starving and didn't want Boardwalk food but I would definitely never go back. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the worst place I ever tried to eat at”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

PLEASE do NOT EAT HERE. The food was the WORST I EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. The selection was TERRIBLE. You may spend the night THROWING UP and the nest day on the toilet like I had too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank n o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This place should not be open - shame on the hotel it is located in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place is obviously trying to compete with their next-door neighbor "The Red Oak Restaurant" (which is also a breakfast buffet); so they're offering an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet for $6.99. As it is located within the "Beach Terrace Motor Inn", we expected the quality to be good. WRONG! Although the selection of items was okay, the food was, at best, mediocre but not piping hot as one would expect. Both the mushrooms and tomatoes at the omelet station were canned, not fresh (and I suspect the egg mixture was also processed.)
There was no decor (the place reminded me more of a high school lunch room - and an old one at that!) This is unacceptable for a hotel's restaurant. As a lover of buffets, both my wife and I were sorely disappointed. My recommendation would be to eat somewhere else!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband loves a buffet so since they advertised alcoholic beverages available we decided to try this place. After depositing more quarters than I can count in a meter seven blocks away (25cents for 7 minutes in Wilwood) we got to the "buffet." They explained there was no alcohol and that was a shame because that may have saved the food!!! They said they were getting alcohol but the ads in thr local papers advertise now--misleading? false?

The food was awful and ruined the last night of our vacation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Rudder Restaurant also viewed

North Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Rusty Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing