We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June third week, 2013”
Review of Lu Fran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lu Fran Motel
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Miss Donna and Greg...however, new owner Ralph very friendly but seemed a little disorganized at check in time...price was still the same for that time of season and he actually reduced the rate for me if I paid cash, which he gave me a day to run over to the nearest B of A and I paid him the rest of the stay later in the day.

Big Big con....room was not that clean...floor of bathroom not clean, light bulb in ceiling of bathroom out, and even though I notified Ralph, still was not replace by stay's end. No maid came in to do beds/vacuum or change out towels at all during our short two night stay, though I saw the maid in the back of building occasionally grabbing a smoke. Oh and, low and behold, a burned out old butt of marijuana found in microwave by my daughter. That is one area where the former owners had it way over the new. They need to keep the price reasonable, and keep on it, update wise and clean wise or it will go down hill...its the LuFran, granted a good location but its not the Reges in the Crest!.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 269 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Ralph the owner was very accommodating. My reservation was wrong, wrong type of room. He fixed problem right away and followed up with me twice. Very clean. Seems a lot of people return every year. Very noisy even late at night. I mean even well after midnight. Room is tight with two beds in it. No space between bed and AC unit. Vertical blinds old. Did not completely close the outside lights that stay on all night shone into the room. Quite bright when trying to sleep. Clean pool, flexible check out time. Half the number of parking spots than rooms. No parking passes to use lot directly across the street. Would go back again only if could not find more reasonable choice price wise. Not the worst experience but there has to be more organized elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoPhillytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I visit this motel every year. This year the visit was a bit different as it has new owners. First, The Hotel: The hotel is a nice hotel in a great location! Still my favorite area with a nice view.
The Staff: The only one I got to know is Ralph (one of the owners) He is very friendly, generous, and accommodating. Spoke to another young man on check out, and he was kind. The housekeeper, very busy! The only one I saw. They need more. When I called to make reservation, a woman answers but does not answer by hotel name and is a little pushy.
The Visit: check in at office.....the office is in shambles. No organization at all. Flyers thrown around, mail on piles. No car pass was given. The room, I was saddened. It appeared clean, but food wrappers under and behind things. Bathroom smelled bleachy/sour (like puke) at the same time. Bedding appeared clean and beds were neat. Kitchen was clean. Only 1 trash can in kitchen, used to be 1 trash and 1 recycle can.
Did not see the same standards of clean this year as previous years. Linen thrown on piles outside on sidewalk. Did not see pool being cleaned, not that it looked real dirty. But Ralph was very friendly. Hotel was not as busy as others. I hope to give a better review next year, after they have had time to settle in and get organized. This was and I hope it will continue to be my favorite motel of WW.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goin_south78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A few friends and I went down 2 weeks ago and stayed overnight. Clean rooms, no hassles, pleasant neighbors, and great owners. I have stayed at several hotels, and the Lu Fran definitely blows the rest of them out of the water.

The owners are great! They are extremely accommodating and friendly. There was an issue in which I forgot a very important necklace at the room we stayed at. They held onto the necklace until I came back to pick it up. They were extremely helpful.

5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Every year I go to wildwood and this hotel has been the best and most comfortable with the stay. It is a family oriented hotel. The rooms are always clean. The pool is clean as well and it's nice and heated. The owners are very friendly and they make sure that you will have the best experience there. The grill is always clean and they have wifi! The location is perfect! It's across from the beach and right at the beginning of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monmon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent hotel. Rooms were always clean and are also a decent size. The location of the hotel is right on the boardwalk and right in front of the peach, so it's perfect. The owners are all very friendly and reasonable and make sure your stay is nothing but perfect. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oliviameg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in April 2013..it was nice decent size room great view of ocean and cool sun deck that's very relaxing my girlfriend loved it yes there are things that could change the bathroom isn't updated and neither is the TVs but do u really go to the beach to watch tv and shower ...no you don't you go for the beach and the atmosphere and the water n the views is why you come that's why we came and the lu Fran has all of it will be going back again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenny34177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
AA Heart of Wildwood Motels
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGull Motel
SeaGull Motel
#4 of 75 in Wildwood
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ala Moana Resort Motel
Ala Moana Resort Motel
#17 of 75 in Wildwood
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lu Fran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lu Fran Motel

Address: 5106 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4429
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $623 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lu Fran Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lu Fran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lu Fran Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing