We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Filth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Canadian Motel
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed March 8, 2005

Booked this hotel for August 2004 for 3 nights and had to secure a deposit of $300.00. Arrived, checked in, and paid the balance and the key deposit. We were given a room (me, my wife, and two young children) and we opened the door and this is what we saw: the refrigerator was moved to a different location in the room and the old location had exposed wiring, the tub had a dirty ring around it, the carpeting was filthy, and the room had a strong odor of bacon to it. We went back to the office and told them of our findings. They looked at each other and booked us a different room. This room was at the top floor. As my FAMILY walked to the room past the others, we noticed a group of people standing outside their rooms drinking beer. This is fine. Everyone has their own vacation and what they want to do. But as we passed, two of the men made lewd remarks to my wife as she passed. We got to the "new" room and the ash tray was filled with cigarettes, there was a present left for us in the toilet, and stains which looked like "DNA evidence" on the chair. We went back to the office, this time my wife and kids separated from the men by me, and explained the room to the desk. They said they hadn't gotten to that room to clean it yet. We told them we weren't interested in the hotel and asked for our money back. They gave us our balance and nothing else. They told us our deposit is non-refundable. We didn't get our key deposit back either. We ended up staying in Wildwood Crest where things were MUCH nicer. If you are going to Wildwood to party and are not worried about the cleanliness of the rooms, this is your hotel. If you are even one bit concerned about cleanliness, DO NOT stay here. Oh yeah, the pool sucked. PS. I have been trying for months to get my deposit back and have received no return e-mails or letters from the owners. Check the BBB on this place.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank skydyver89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2004

I went a few days ago. The hotel was the nicest in North Wildwood. That is not so much a compliment. The hotel I would say is about a three star. WHile the rest of the hotels are about a 1 star. They have nice staff working there, and a very nice and clean pool. I give it such a high rating for the town, not overall of everything I've gone to. This is not a place for people that like to remain busy. There is not really alot to do except relax. The hotel is really close to the boardwalk, which is where all the main action is, but the beach is still a large walk because of all the sand to get to the beach. The rating before me I believe are people that stayed nextdoor to me. ANyways overall only go to North WIldwood if you plan a relaxing trip. If you go there you must stay in this hotel, as this looks like a castle compared to the rest

6  Thank Daf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2004

This is a nice hotel by the boardwalk, but make sure that you get one of the newer rooms. Two members of our group rented two different rooms. One was nice, with two beds, a couch, table, and carpeting and keycard entry. The other had only one kingsize bed (no other bed), ugly cold tile floor, terrible air conditioning, an old bathroom, a rickety keyed lock (didn't feel safe) and no couch or table. There was a huge disparity in the rooms and they were the same price!!!! They refused to give us a new room because they said they were booked up. Be careful and ASK about this before you book your room. I don't want the same thing to happen to you! Also, the continental breakfast is just donuts, in case you don't eat them. If you have a good room, this is a nice hotel, if not, you will be very disappointed and not get your money's worth.

8  Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dunfermline, Scotland
15
Reviewed December 28, 2003

Very friendly atmosphere where the staff were willing to help with any problem no matter how small or tivial. Hotel rooms are very well kept and the public areas are spotless.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
warminster, p.a.
14
Reviewed September 4, 2003

I have stayed at the canadian for the last 10 years,the staff and the owners are great always ready to help and make your vacation enjoyable.The pool is always clean,and the miniature golf course keeps the kids busy while just relaxing at the pool. The location however is the best it is in the middle of the boardwalk just 1 1/2 blocks from the boardwalk.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Bolero Resort
Bolero Resort
#53 of 75 in Wildwood
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#49 of 75 in Wildwood
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#30 of 75 in Wildwood
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#16 of 75 in Wildwood
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lu Fran Motel
Lu Fran Motel
#18 of 75 in Wildwood
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Canadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Canadian Motel

Address: 3300 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4884
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $112 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Canadian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Canadian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Canadian Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing