We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Surf Comber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surf Comber Motel
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Wildwood
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We travel to Wildwood every year for a family vacation and we decided to try a new hotel this year due to the cost of our other place and they offered amazing package prices. I was nervous because of the reviews on here but we had five rooms and they were alittle small but you have to remember this is an older motel. Our rooms were clean, they had fridges and microwaves in them. We had no problems with the Management they were very nice to us & very helpful. The parking is very limited but they do have a free overflow lot about a half a block away and it was perfect. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

Beware of hostile; belligerent; and unstable management. My husband and I visited Wildwood for our 21st wedding anniversary and stayed several days at a very nice, pet friendly motel who did not have a room for Saturday night. We called the Wildwood Hotel and Motel Association for a list of pet friendly accomodations and were referred to the Surf Comber Motel. We paid for the room on Friday night the rate included 2 Adults and a dog. We arrived at the motel Saturday afternoon and waited for our room to be cleaned. We waited outside of the motel room with our American bulldog and spoke with the young woman cleaning our room as we held our dog on its leash. We entered the room and discovered the bathroom screen was bent; the bathroom jalousie window did not shut; the bathtub leaked scolding hot water; the microwave and refrigerator did not work; and the bedside lights did not work because the cord was cut. The kitchen sink and stove had blue painter's tape on it marked in an "X" advising not to open the cabinets or use the appliance. Soon after we checked-in we realized most of the rooms were rented to kids under 21 drinking and partying (until 4:00AM). We stayed because the room allowed pets and we paid $240 (including a $30 fee for the dog) and were advised no refunds were allowed. My husband and I sat outside our room with our dog enjoying the sea air and talking with our room neighbors throughout Saturday afternoon and evening. The motel staff walked past us several times. The next morning at 9:20AM, check-out is 10:00AM, a women approached my husband outside our motel room and asked very loudly "what are you doing here with that dog - who let you in - we do not allow pets here", my husband advised we checked in and paid for the dog, the woman responded "we only allow small pets - somebody made a big mistake - be quiet people are still sleeping". We did not understand this statement because at least 30 people were outside their rooms packing cars to check out (as we were). I turned in the key at 9:55AM and asked the woman in the lobby, who checked us in the night before and confronted us about the dog earlier, to inspect our room since she had an issue with the dog. Also, I advised her of the issues with the maintenance of the room in which she began to call me a liar, called me several curse words and referred to me in derogatory names, spoke about my physical attributes and told me to get the [--] out of her office. I asked her not to speak to me in this manner as a customer and she picked up the telephone and stated she was calling the police. When I asked why she was calling the police she said "it is 9:59 and you are suppose to be out of here at 10:00, you are now trespassing". I travel frequently in my career, at least 2-3 times a month, and often for pleasure with my husband and my dog and have never been treated so poorly by management. If I had a choice between staying at the Surf Comber or sleeping in my car for the night....I would sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meanderer0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmanagement, Manager at Surf Comber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2009

We usually do not except pets. On occasion we will accept a small dog. This was one of those occasions. The gentleman informed us that he had a small bull dog puppy which weighed 15lbs. The next morning we were receiving complaints about a big dog sitting outside alone barking and scaring guest. When we went to investigate we noticed the couple coming out of their room to retrieve their 95lb husky mix. When approached about their dog they were very hostile. We informed them that our other guest were too scared to pack their cars because of their dog barking at them. It was already 10 min past check out time and our maids needed to get into the rooms. The couple immediately started yelling and using obscene language. We are sorry for our reaction but we did not like being lied to and treated that way when trying to protect our guest.

As for the room, upon inspection everything was in working order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This motel did not have functional showers, the fridge did not work, when we complained to the manager, she told us that we can leave if we don't like it but there was not refunds. They did nothing to accomedate us and they did not care about the issuses in the motel. The rooms were unclean and we found a spider on my daughter's bed. Do not stay here because you are going to regret it like we did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amartinezhinkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfmanagement, management at Surf Comber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2009

Upon arrival I had to go and plug in their fridge for them. It was not broken. We turn them off in between guest so they can defrost. I also gave them a new shower head because theirs had a little leak.

Early the next morning a couple of neighboring hotels called me. Each explained how our guest informed them that they had drove down on a whim and stopped at the 1st vacancy sign they saw. Now they were "shopping around". They went on to say that our guest asked them what kind of story is best to get a refund.

A few hrs later they were in my office demanding a refund. They stated they found a spider in their bed. We have routine pest control and I have never heard any other complaints about spiders. I offered to move their room and they refused. I told them about the phone calls I had received and that they were not getting a refund. They were obviously embarrased and went back to their room. We never heard anything else from them. Honestly, I am shocked by this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

It was a Sat. night a few weeks ago when we stayed at this "MOTEL HELL"
After paying $275.00 for a 1 night stay "We were told we got the last room", After we entered the room the stench of human waste was overpowering, not 1 light worked, the A/C was not working and the TV was broken.
I asked for a refund and this manager Mike said no you should be gratefull you found a room and you would be checking out within 12 hours and who needs a TV in Wildwood on a Sat . night.
I then said the A/C did not work and the room was hot.
His reply ...open a window. then the next door party started and lasted till 4 AM at least 12 young people Under 21 were drunk and throwing beer bottles at each other.
The cops came and took them away.
The next morning a dent as large as a football was found on my right side door....2008 Vette.
Avoid this place like the plauge

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank steakking007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Splash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Manon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MTMDGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#2 of 75 in Wildwood
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Resort & Suites
Riviera Resort & Suites
#7 of 75 in Wildwood
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#6 of 75 in Wildwood
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nantucket Inn & Suites
Nantucket Inn & Suites
#15 of 75 in Wildwood
390 reviews
0 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#22 of 75 in Wildwood
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Comber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Comber Motel

Address: 4800 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4511
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range: $67 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Comber Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf Comber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Comber Hotel Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing