We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hanover Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanover Marriott
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel, which used to be on the drab side, had a great renovation done over the last couple years, and they did a great job. The lobby is lovely-- and the pink lights behind glass at checkout if really nice. Elegant displays of books and seating areas. Nice pool, nice workout room. I understand that this particular Marriott was bought by a Resorts company. Everything is still new, so there's none of that grungy feeling-- hope that lasts. Particularly liked the color combinations in the rooms with the green chairs and decorated pillows, and the small reading lights. Nice bed. Nothing special as far as views. It's on the highway-- so as far as "location"-- you'll need a car and the will have to drive to get to anything besides car dealerships and highway intersections. There are a few glitches with housekeeping, and a few things you hope to see in a room that weren't provided, or were hard to find-- but that's the case often everywhere, but to their credit they work it out right away. Technician for TV came to room within minutes. A dirty coffee maker was replaced within five minutes-- and even though this one didn't work-- they made up for it by taking me up on the suggestion of gratis coffee in the morning-- which came as requested, on time, and with kindness. This reminds me that of the often seen problem on TripAdvisor-- travellers have problems at hotels, tell the staff and/or management, don't get any results, beyond an "i'm sorry" and then the manager responds here on TripAdvisor with a long response of "I'm sorry we didn't meet your needs, please reach out to me at blah blah blah and let's work it out." The point is to work it out there and then, and then customers won't have to go off complaining here. In this regard, I give this hotel points-- the issues were presented, and they offered a solution-- fast-- and ones that pleased. Fridge in room, safe in room, nice photos on wall. Only other thing I'd like to mention is that fans suddenly come full blast on a 4 in the morning-- and wake you up out of a sound sleep-- otherwise it was very quiet, and a good place to sleep. Very Nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 433 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here for both business and a conference. The staff was very attentive and helpful. I had 2 different reservations (due to business and conference) and they tied them together so there was no need to change rooms, etc. The conference rooms were great, even kept the temperature in a good range. The food was very good. Concierge lounge was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

we we looking for something a little closer to nyc ,but the hotel was ok the room were clean and confortable ,the service was good but the only thing about the hotel was the food when we came to eat breakfast there was nothing felt but yogurt
i would recommend this hotel for someone who doesnt want to pay to much ,compared to the hotel in nyc

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtravel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The place is clean, friendly. I swam in the indoor/outdoor pool, used the computers in the lobby (wi-fi is extra).

Parking is easy and there was a Ford Model A show the weekend I stayed.

Bed and large screen TV were excellent as well.

Room Tip: All seem like they'd be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I continue to return to this property due to the extremely friendly people at the front desk, concierge lounge, pub and restaurant. Rooms are very clean and comfortable - a great home away from home for business travelers during the week and over a weekend, too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have stayed here a few times and it’s been perfect every time. The rooms are updated, spacious, and very clean. They even have a great Irish pub off the lobby that serves decent food and has lots of great beers. You could easily hang out there all night. All the staff, from the front desk, to the bar tenders, are all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank farfromnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were looking for somewhere to get away for one night because we had no electricity and were supposed to be on vacation, but plans were scrapped because of Hurricane Irene.
We were quoted a "Storm Price" on the phone and when we arrived were told a higher price. However, after speaking to customer service they said that they did see the quoted price in their notes and they did honor it!
The hotel is great and we enjoyed the outdoor pool!
I would love to take a "vacation" there again!

Room Tip: We had room 304 and liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle07960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
Sheraton Parsippany Hotel
#6 of 16 in Parsippany
625 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany-East
HYATT house Parsippany-East
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
426 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
729 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Marriott

Address: 1401 Rt 10 E, Whippany, NJ 07981
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range: $131 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover Marriott is a hotel in Whippany, New Jersey offering comfortable accommodations, wedding planning, meeting facilities, and vacation packages. Located near Morristown, our Hanover hotel is a perfect choice for a visit to the historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanover Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Marriott Hotel Whippany
Marriott Hotel Hanover
Marriott Whippany
Whippany Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing