We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Hanover Whippany
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
NJ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for a wedding. Hotel lobby looks like it was recently renovated, very nice. Like that the hotel provided transportation to and from wedding. It was great for bar area to stay open until 2am for an 'after party'. Rooms was nice but small. The rooms with 2 beds are definitely larger. Liked that we had a balcony. Elevator was slow however the door closed quickly and would slam into you. Liked that we were able to have a continental breakfast in a private room the next morning. Last but not least, I enjoyed receiving an email from the hotel's GM the next morning and acknowledging that I stayed for a wedding, thanking me for my stay. Well done...good customer service.

Room Tip: Get a too with 2 beds...it's a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJReveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverCyGM, General Manager at Courtyard Hanover Whippany, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us NJReveler, and I am glad that everyone from the wedding had a great time! The entire team had a blast being able to help make the whole weekend fun and memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, Hanover Courtyard GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
44
25
18
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and friends recently did a warrior dash near this hotel and after a strenuous day opted to stay here so that we could indulge in the whirlpool tub. Our reservations were made well in advance and we actually researched our hotel of choice because we were looking for certain amenities. Well after our race we returned to the hotel to check in and our first question was "where is the hot tub?" The front desk response "first floor at the end". Great- we change head down and it is covered with a tarp and cones. Apparently all courtyards are closing their hot tubs was the response we got. That is all well and good and they are entitled but don't advertise it on your website nor steer your guests in that direction when asked. Add that to the private airport so nearby that the plane numbers can be read off the side and I can say i will never be staying here again! I don't mind a little air traffic but prefer not to be awoken by it first thing in the morning- i'm not talking 9 a.m. either. Next year our race will be run and our stay at the HIlton!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, VA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting family in the area. The rate was very reasonable. The hotel was clean. The indoor pool is small but adequate. There must have been a problem with towels our second night. The bath towels weren't nearly up to Marriott's standards and there weren't any towels at the pool. After a 30 minute wait someone bought 4 bath towels; not nearly enough for everyone at the pool. We didn't wait for more towels. Very nice lobby and courtyard. Bistro is silly. If I have to pay for breakfast there are so many better choices on Rt 10. I guess it works if you don't have a car. I'd return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here some years ago before the lobby was renovated: about 70% of the lobby was closed all day and open only at breakfast where you got the usual eggs, bacon, pancakes etc. sort of fare. Now, the lobby is wide-open with a work area and the new Courtyard lobby. We much prefer being able to get yoghurt or oatmeal, and enjoy picking up a quick wine later on in the day. The reception was very good and we were immediatley recognized as Marriott Elite members (which for some reason rarely happens at Courtyards). The room was large and well-appointed...and was an upgraded Suite of two rooms. The bathroom was not large but was adequate. As with check-in, the check-out was efficient, well-done and we were thanked for being guests. We would use this as a base of operations for the area again.

Room Tip: The ground floor Suites give out directly onto the patio through French doors which not everyone may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for a basketball tournament at Kean University. Stayed two nights and it is a very nicely kept hotel. The rooms held/reserved ended up being a one king bed with a convertible couch - not good for us - no problem changing to a double bed room. Clean; friendly and helpful staff; equipment in the room was all in proper working condition; had all the amenities expected. We had a 1st floor courtyard room and had a nice patio to sit on that led to the courtyard - you could walk to the reception/bistro area from your patio. The hottub is under repair/construction - my daughter would definitely have used that! The pool was small but seemed clean and kept up - I like they had pool towels for guests. We ate breakfast at the bistro and well, we weren't impressed; too expensive for what you got, and the lady got our order wrong - after she read it back to us. The order was $22 and change and my husband gave her $103.00 to get 4-$20's and change back - he got $77 and change back - didn't realize it till he got back to the table. We didn't get a receipt and both my husband and daughter ordered 2 eggs - we only got one plate of 2 eggs. I ordered a raisin bagel and got a plain one. This is all brought to our table by someone else so - for lack of time we just accepted it. The hotel is on road divided by a concrete median so you may have to do a U-turn if going the wrong way. All in all - a little expensive but I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside first floor have direct access to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a typical Courtyard. All the employees are excellent and customer focused. I have been here now for three weeks. They are very accommodating with special requests. I personally do not like the new "bistro" concept but it is not too bad. The old breakfast Buffett was better. It does seem a little expensive as well as the small bar offering. It is a good place to stay. They do not have speaker phones and you can't print from your laptop or room. This is the only real negative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfsonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverCyGM, General Manager at Courtyard Hanover Whippany, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review wolfsonla and look forward to your next visit. I just wanted to give you a quick update, that we are currently exploring wireless printing options for our guest rooms. Kindest Regards, Hanover Courtyard GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As others have noted, this is a fairly typical Marriott Courtyard. We liked the overall appearance of the hotel. The lobby area is bring, cheery, and spacious. There is a place where meals can be purchased, but we didn't try that. There is an area with two computers and an attached printer. There was no charge for using the computers or printing. There is a third computer devoted exclusively to printing boarding passes.

The room itself was bright, clean, and attractively decorated. The queen bed was too soft for my taste. The room also had a desk, sleeper sofa (we didn't try it), wardrobe, TV, and a small refrigerator. The walls must not be insulated, because we could hear conversations from the next room.

The bathroom had a tub/shower that worked well, but the towels are quite thin.

WiFi worked well in our room and in the lobby area.

This hotel was fine for our purposes, but I would probably check out alternatives if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverCyGM, Manager at Courtyard Hanover Whippany, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us OhioRon, and I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. During your next visit please feel free to reach out anyone of our team members on how we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Kindest Regards, Hanover Courtyard GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
2.9 mi away
Hanover Marriott
Hanover Marriott
#2 of 6 in Whippany
418 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
2.7 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
3.4 mi away
Hilton Parsippany
Hilton Parsippany
#7 of 16 in Parsippany
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hanover Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hanover Whippany

Property: Courtyard Hanover Whippany
Address: 157 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hanover Whippany 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hanover Whippany hotel boasts a convenient location to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) and is just a short drive from Manhattan. As one of the premier Morristown, NJ hotels, our multifunctional common areas and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access allow guests to seamlessly move from work to relaxation while staying at our Morristown hotel. Unique among Whippany, NJ hotels, our signature GoBoard(R) shows the latest in entertainment, news, weather, and airport conditions in an interactive, touchscreen format. Our on-site restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each of our spacious Whippany hotel guest rooms feature luxury bedding and spacious work areas. The staff at our hotel in Whippany, NJ works to ensure that guests enjoy a productive yet relaxing stay from arrival to departure. The Courtyard Hanover Whippany offers a new perspective on travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Hanover Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hanover Whippany Hotel Whippany
Courtyard Hotel Hanover
Courtyard Whippany
Courtyard Hotel Whippany
Whippany Courtyard
Whippany Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing