We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This extended stay was comfortable enough, but needs attention. The room was very clean and updated, no complaint there, but there didn't seem to be enough staff to keep up with the mess people make in hallways and on the grounds. Staff were pretty nice. There were very small waste bins outside as you enter, (part ashtray/part garbage) that were always brimming with refuse, and stayed that way for days. The hallways were often littered with debri and the "trash room" was gross. There were 2 forks, 2 spoons, etc and no dishsoap or drain stopper to wash dishes with. I requested a stopper and in the 10 days there, did not get one. They did give me dish soap upon request though. No dishwasher which I kind of expected from other extended stays. Overlooking the untidy hallways and grounds.......the room was fine and the location perfect for my purposes so overall an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is built like an L and there is no central stair case to exit. I would request a room clo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz53012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I found this hotel to be comfortable, albeit a little lackluster. It's pretty 'no frills'.

The continental breakfast consisted of a muffin; a breakfast bar; instant oatmeal; or an apple or orange (and coffee or tea). But, hey that's why you have a kitchenette. You can cook a great breakfast in your room if you want to.

The room was very clean and we received extra linen when we checked in. The front desk clerk was attentive. The location was about a half hour from NYC. This hotel worked for us. We would return, now that we know what to expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myswanstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Julie colonial was the best EVER!!!!!!, I recommend my friends and other co-workers to use this stay wen they are out here, she is the best hostess EVER!!!! I recommend it to all. she was very nice and treated all guest very well!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoncoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Comfort, facilities etc is quite commendable,

but if you are paying ~$100 a night, you would expect to atleast have a dishwasher in your room. Plus a gym and a pool and a barbeque spot. These are things I had when I stayed at an Extended Stay in Piscataway 2 years back and I payed $57.50 a night (including tax)

I kind of felt cheated. But then again I am just a visitior to US from India. I didnt know rates and rules change from city to city within a same state

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jaikishen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The smell of smoke leaks wafts through from smoking rooms into non-smoking rooms. Other than that complaint, the hotel is totally fine. The kitchenette was well-stocked, room was clean, and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank papayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very good place, clean and nice supportive staff to cater to your needs. Best deal for staying long(Extended Stay) and the name of the hotel live upto the expectations. Best part was having a complimentary shuttle to pick and drop to Office locations. I loved my 4.5months of stay there. Hotel manager and staffs are very humble and always there to answer your queries. Hotel rooms are pretty spacious and the high speed free wifi is a plus.
I am looking forward to stay in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singhuttam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I accepted a position for a nearby company who offered temporary housing until I found a more permanent place. I chose the Extended Stay and have been very pleased. The room is clean with a kitchenette, the location is perfect for my situation (about 10 minutes from my new job), and the staff is very helpful. The other guests seemed very quite and respectful of others, and it was kind of nice to walk in after work and smell everyone cooking dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcerut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whippany
0.9 mi away
FairBridge Hotel & Conference Center East Hanover
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Whippany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parsippany - Morris Plains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany

Address: 125 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-2102 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Hanover Parsippany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Whippany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range: $98 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Hanover - Parsippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Hanover Parsippany Hotel Whippany
Extended Stay America Whippany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing