We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of japan in NJ”

Nikko Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Whippany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A taste of japan in NJ”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nikko has great creative rolls served in a delightful atmosphere with wait staff dressed in traditional Japanese costumes. Ideal for a business lunch. The sushi is so so but the rolls are really great

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank georgia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific sushi and recommendations from weekly visitors”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We come here every week because the sushi is so good. Some of our favorite appetizers are jalapeno yellowtail, bronzini tiradito, tuna tartar, naruto, and for those who like peanut sauce, honey island. The sushi is fresh and delicious, especially the yellowtail and blue fin toro (when they have it). We're not as crazy about the plain spicy rolls here, like spicy tuna and spicy yellowtail, but spicy fish combination rolls are amazing -- I think they may use a different kind of spicy sauce in these -- like the mango roll (spicy salmon with mango), volcano roll, and momichi (spicy tuna with lotus root on top). We never order the cooked dishes so I can't comment on them.

Noise level ranges from quiet to noisy, depending on the day. The space is not large so one loud group can set the tone. Service goes along with how crowded it is, ranging from quick to slow. There can be a wait for a table on weekend evenings. The decor is casual but attractive (I'm not sure which restaurant is in the trip advisor picture, but not this one).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nikko Sushi”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent sushi and other food. I always order the sushi lunch and it is consistently excellent. Very quick service too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventurebosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food but portions are small”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sushi was fresh and delicious. Had the sukiyaki and it was fantastic. Staff was super friendly. Potions were on the small side and for the price I expected more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Don't get it...”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had the chicken and shrimp teriyaki dinner. Very mediocre. Salad was ok - small, but fresh. Miso soup was not good. The chicken was bland and the shrimp were TINY. If you're going to charge $19 for a dinner entree, don't serve me tiny shrimp. Splurge for 21-30 count shrimp, please. I mean - they served six small shrimp that may have cost $.30 total. I suspect its following is due to its sushi - I should have ordered sushi.... Not planning on returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfinchler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikko Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Cedar Knolls, Morris County
Cedar Knolls, Morris County
 
Whippany, Morris County
 

Been to Nikko Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing