We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granita Grill Inc.

Granita Grill Inc.
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Westwood
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 4 was seated quickly (reservation was made) and food was hot and delicious. The filet of sole oreganata as well as the eggplant lasagna were the favorites. BYOB is always a great idea, too. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW WINDSOR
Level Contributor
477 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Italian Food doesn't get much better in Westwood, NJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I joined my son and his family last evening for what turned out to be a fantastic dinner. We've been to the Granita before and always found the food good, the service excellent and what is most difficult for a restaurant of this caliber: consistent levels of food preparation. Their special last night was a Filet of Grouper, baked simply with olive oil and seasoned breadcrumbs surrounded by small little cherry stone clams. OMG is was one on the finest fish dishes I have ever enjoyed. Served over a bed of Broccillirab the Grouper was done to PERFECTION. We enjoyed appetizers of Clams Oregano, A stuffed Artichoke and a FANTASTIC, and generous plate of breaded and fried Calamari. The dish was garnished with a ginger sauce. Simply one of the best I have ever enjoyed evidenced by the half a loaf of bread I used to sop up the remaining sauce. If you find yourself in Westwood, NJ with a taste for Italian food, please stop at Granita. I am positive you will have an excellent meal, Oh yes, this is BYOB so stop and bring a fine bottle of red wine along with you...The price was reasonable with a bill of just over $120 for the four of us. Well worth what we consumed, I even licked the plate of the Stuffed Artichoke, dreamy Garlic sauce. LOL..Bon Appetite

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Granita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

seven women went out to dinner tonight, July 11th. We had ther special dinner menu for Wed/Thurs. A lot of entrees to choose from. We started with a very delicious sout, followed with a salad ant then the main course, then coffee/tes and dessert. Everything was great. She service was very good. We mai a reservation ahead of time and the table was ready for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian BYOB in Westwood NJ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Family and I usually go to NYC for dinner, but when we dine local for Italian food we go to the Granita Grill on Broadway in Westwood NJ. Food is consistently prepared and high quality at a fair price. Service is also consistent, expeditious and friendly. On Friday and Saturday nights they have Musical Entertainment and he is terrific!!! Reservations are required for weekend dining. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njnetsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't believe your it's Soooo Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

When I go to a restaurant, I always hope the food to be good. My family recently went to The Granita Grill in Westwood, NJ and were very satisfied with everything. All the employees make the experience even better because they take a personal interest in making our dining as perfect as possible. When we arrived, without a reservation, we had a short wait. We were seated and they gave out table delicious focaccia toasted breads, before giving our menus (we were starving). We ordered from the specials menu and the appetizer we ordered was Fried Calamari. The fried calamari was so delicious, not chewy or rubbery. We were tempted to place an order to go, but ended not because our dinners came out. No one talked while we ate because it was Soooo good. We absolutely loved the meal! Then we decided to try a desert, though we were stuffed. I ordered a Creme Brulee, they made it half chocolate and half vanilla. Once again, amazing.
I recommend that if you want a great meal at a not break your wallet price, visit the Granita Grill. You will make it you restaurant of choice. Remember that it is a BYOB, so you don't have a bar bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granita Grill Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Granita Grill Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing