We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place with great food and music”

16 Prospect Wine Bar and Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
16 Prospect Wine Bar and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 88 Restaurants in Westfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice local place with great food and music”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I've been here a few times and found the bar great, service great and food just as great. The place is small but the use the space so you don't feel so cramped.

Music on the weekends is lively and caters to the older crowd which is nice. Try this place, it's pretty good!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food not very good”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Although the venue is nice, the food was definitely not worth its price. The first thing that was not good was the bread; it was tasteless. Then the expensive lobster gumbo had very little lobster, and it tasted like a stew that had been boiled for a long time. It was certainly not what I had expected.

The service was quite good and attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realestate044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The food here is fabulous. Any visit to New Jersey would not be complete without eating here. The staff are brilliant and you could not get a bigger welcome. All round excellent. The owners Tim and Chris continue to run this establishment keeping standards at the highest level.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petergriffithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“This Place Is Beyond Good”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't have a negative to write about this place. I will start with:

Food: I had clams, oysters, linguini and shared some of my friends chicken dish. All of it was superb. I believe my meal was the best restaurant meal I have ever had and I am forced to eat out a lot.

Wine: I like that there are a TON OF WINES BY THE GLASS, more than that, they are about 8 bucks a glass. In other words, this is not snobbery in the middle of middle class, this is a fun, artistic and funky place where a guy on middle class to upper middle class income can get gourmet food and drink at a reasonable price.

Atmosphere: You can eat outside, just inside or in the back. There is live music in the front for those who want it, and the back is nice and quiet with a more laid back or even romantic feel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreagP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to meet up with friends”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

16 Prospect is a wonderful place to meet up with family and friends. We hosted a casual family event and the staff went above and beyond to make it a perfect afternoon. Food was excellent! Service was excellent! Atmosphere was excellent! I look forward to going back soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeandmarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 16 Prospect Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 16 Prospect Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing