We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy camper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was booked into 9 nights here and discovered that the room I had booked was not what was available for Night #1. The manager and his assistant got me into the correct room on Night #2-even offered to move my belongings for me. All of this was down with smiles. Pool is a nice thng to have in 90 degree weather. AC in room kept the hallway noise to a minimum. Front desk staff helpful and pleasant no matter when you see them. Breakfast adequate, but well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 428 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Mechanicsville, VA
1
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were originally booked at another nearby hotel, but had a last minute change of plan and needed to bring our dog along with us. This is the reason we ended up at the La Quinta. We did definitely like their pet policy, as we dislike paying huge pet fees for our dog who doesn't cause any damage. Not really sure it was worth the switch, though.

This was our first stay at a La Quinta, so I'm not sure how similar this one is to others of the brand. Arrival was fairly easy, just had to sign lots of paperwork. Got up to our room which was okay. We were in an Executive King. We had my husband and myself, our 11 year old son, and baby. We booked that room because there was a bit of separation between the bedroom and sitting area, and also because there were two televisions. That was definitely a plus, as we don't always want to watch the Disney channel! The room also seemed clean. When we folded out the sofa bed, it was missing quite a few of the springs that attached the netting part to the frame. My son did fine on it, but my husband went right through when he leaned over to hug him goodnight. Not really impressed with that.

There was a good little space in the bedroom area with room for our pack and play. Our bed was also quite comfortable, although there was only a nightstand on one side of the bed. The clock wasn't even on the nightstand, but over on the desk. Not a big deal and easily moved, but just kind of strange. Not a lot of lighting in the room so it was always kind of dim. Again, not a huge problem. Just little things that were adding up.

The strangest part of the room was the bathroom. When you walked in, there was this space between the bath/shower and the wall. Like the back of the tub had the wall there, and then there was about a 15" space before the wall of the bathroom. It was a couple feet deep. Nothing there. It was just this awkward open space. Maybe if there were some shelves built in there to hold towels or something it would make sense, but otherwise it was just wasted space. Another weird thing about the bathroom was that the door opened towards the vanity. So if the bathroom door was open, you couldn't be standing at the sink doing make up or whatever. This was an issue one morning while we were there. We had a wedding to attend, and it was an early morning event. I showered first, and then was going to do my makeup and hair while my husband showered. The kids were still asleep so I couldn't turn the lights on and do it in the room area. While he showered, I had to have the door closed to be able to see into the mirror. Unfortunately, there's not a fan for the bathroom, or at least not one that works well, so the mirror was completely foggy. I would have opened the door to clear some of it, but again, then I couldn't see or stand there. I just thought that was not well thought out and it really did lower my impression of the room. We can't be the first couple trying to get ready at the same time who have had that problem!

The pool area was nice. Small pool, but the decor was pretty. Looked like a faux stone finish, and went around the jacuzzi as well. The hot tub was wonderful. Definitely enjoyed that! There was also a nice patio outside the pool that looked nice. Breakfast was a disappointment. Bagels and muffins, donuts, cereal, eggs, and make your own waffles. It worked and got us fed, but we weren't impressed. There was, though, a guy working in the breakfast area who did impress us. He was constantly sweeping and refilling things and did a really great job. He was very friendly.

There were just a lot of little things about this hotel that were off. Had the price been less than the other place I was going to stay at, it wouldn't have been such a big deal. But when they have the same price as a nicer place in the same area, you expect a similar standard. I get that it's a beach area and during the summer you can have higher prices, but it didn't seem worth to me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iowakrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
1
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visit the jersey shore at least twice a year. My stays are usually two nights at the La Quinta in West Long Branch NJ. Every time I walk into the room it feels like it's brand new ! It is always updated and impeccably clean. I insist on a quiet room, with a comfortable bed and a big compfy clean bath tub. With La Quinta i get all that and more. The Staff goes above and beyond to be helpful and make me feel like a welcomed guest. I look forward to my twice yearly getaways, feels like a luxury retreat to me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have stayed at quite a few La Quinta properties and generally find hem a good value and acceptable accommodations. Checked in last evening about 11:00. Front desk staff was friendly and courteous. Went to our assigned room and found it not ready for new quests. Bed was unmade, lights on, etc. Returned to front desk and they were very apologetic and accommodating. Changed us to an "Executive King" room that seems like a regular room but more crowded with a partial wall and sofa. Room just a big bowl of OK.

The standard LQ breakfast is not a lot to praise and the one at this property seems a bit below even that standard. The juice is overly diluted and the coffee just plain bad. The single serving coffee machine in the room was better, only there is no place into which to plug it anywhere near where it is located.

My chief complaint is that this just does not seem to be a $150/night room, even in the area in which it is located. Just not a good value for what we are getting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

How often can you say that checking into a hotel at 1AM, or that a trip to the front desk, can be fun?! Arriving late Saturday night after a long day of travel, and then again the next day after busy day, the front desk staff was wonderful. No matter the hour of the day or how long their shift they were engaged, cheerful, and incredibly helpful. When I described what kind of food I was wanted for dinner, the woman at the front desk not only knew of a great local restaurant that fit the bill perfectly, she printed me a menu, gave me her personal favorites, and helped me place the order. The hotel is very convenient to all of the local attractions, and is very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at laQuinata for the weekend because of a baseball tournament. We were a little further away from the baseball field then we wanted to be but were very happy with our hotel. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful!!! Everyone was so helpful. We were there with 2 other families and 8 children. They kept the pool open late for us and let us use the breakfast room when we brought in pizza for our families. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Thank you to all of them. My only negative comment is that the floors were very slippery when wet. Both in the guestroom (bathroom and hall) and in the pool area. Other then that our weekend was very comfortable and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tish64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Long Branch
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
342 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
#3 of 4 in Eatontown
409 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tinton Falls - Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn West Long Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn West Long Branch

Address: 109 State Route 36, West Long Branch, NJ 07764-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > West Long Branch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Long Branch
Price Range: $92 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn West Long Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the ocean and numerous local point of interest, our Hotel is a great place to base your vacation or business trip. Our hotel is seated in an ideal area that provides quick access to the most prominent local colleges (Monmouth, Brookdale and Farleigh Dickinson) and hospitals. Gorgeous Ocean view are only a mile away at Long Branch Beach and pulse-quickening action of Monmouth Racetrack is just two blocks away. With great location, premier customer service and our free Bright Side Breakfast, La Quinta Inn is a great place to base your vacation and business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn West Long Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch Hotel West Long Branch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing