We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay (especially for seeing Manhattan)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weehawken
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sheraton Lincoln Harbor
We spent a few days in New York City after a week in Cooperstown. The family always wanted to see what New York City was like. Although New York is not somewhere we would want to live, it was good to experience. I did a lot of research of what hotel to stay at somewhere in Manhattan. What I found were that all hotels were very expensive, the rooms were very small, and none would accommodate 5 people without getting a very, very expensive suite or two rooms. Hotel rooms in Manhattan ranged from $400-$1100 a night. Also, parking was a minimum of $50 per night at hotels in Manhattan.

So thanks to TripAdvisor, we found the Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel in Weehawken, New Jersey, which is located across the Hudson river from Manhattan. It is located right on the ferry pier, which provides direct boat rides to Manhattan. What a fantastic choice to stay while “in New York”.

Location: Excellent. Although in New Jersey, you can take a ferry, which runs every 15 minutes to Manhattan. Plus, once you get to the New York terminal, your ferry price includes a bus ride to various points in Manhattan. We took a bus directly to the 9/11 Memorial. The town of Weehawken is relatively small and adjacent to Hoboken. Don’t let the old tales of Hoboken distract you. Hoboken is on the comeback, with many new condos and restaurants and we did not experience any issues with feeling safe. We even visited Carlo’s Bake Shop (from the reality show). There are many restaurants,, stores, etc.nearby. Downtown Hoboken is quaint, with blocks of shopping and restaurants.

Room: Extremely nice. Very modern. Exceptionally clean. Large room, very large compared to Manhattan hotels. Every room is a suite with a bedroom area and a living room area. Fantastic view of the Manhattan skyline if you get a room facing New York. The only thing I wish the room had that it did not, was a fridge and microwave (but we bought a $2 styrofoam cooler at Target to keep our drinks cold)

Pool: Adequate. Water was cool and no hot tub. But there is a large workout facility available to all guests.

Staff: Extremely courteous and helpful. Every staff person we passed in the halls acknowledged us with a greeting. The front desk staff was very helpful with questions and tourists suggestions.

Housekeeping: Outstanding. Always kept our room clean and well equipped.

Other: Parking was $25/night, but cheap compared to Manhattan. Also, there was security in the parking lot 24/7, checking on vehicles, but more importantly, making sure non-hotel guests would not try to park there. There was free wi-fi in the lobby, but they charged $9.95 per day per device for in-room internet. However, we found there were many other available free wi-fi’s available to us in our room from surrounding buildings. They have a boardwalk that borders the river with benches and was great for sitting out at night to view the beautiful New York Skyline. We couldn’t get enough of that wonderful skyline, especially at night. The rooms were very quiet. No noise whatsoever.

Other NY Note: Be prepared that New York is expensive. Everything is expensive. Just getting into Manhattan will cost you. Driving thru the Lincoln or Holland Tunnel will cost you $9-14. The ferry’s cost you $9. The bridges into Manhattan have tolls up to $15. Most other expressways have tolls. It’s just very expensive. If you plan to drive around New York, Manhattan traffic is a challenge. Surrounding expressways are numerous, so use Rand McNally or maps to plan your trip ahead of time.

I am so glad that I came across this hotel from fellow TripAdvisor reviewers. It was the perfect choice to experience New York, without the expense of staying in Manhattan. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families travelling with children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagolandRoz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelia h, Manager at Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, for all of the information you provided. Just a friendly reminder, we do have refrigerators in our standard rooms for a rate of $25 for your entire stay. We do hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Staying here for one night with wife and four young kids. Asked when i reserved the Ackerman's job the room. Additionally, front desk staff misinformed me about the room, initially saying they weren't connecting when they are. I'm not gold or platinum status anymore, but I'd expect a hotel to honor requests go certain room types when reserved well in advance, to have a rollaway if needed, and to have staff that can follow up if a request is not possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wroxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelia h, Manager at Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We would like to extend our apologies for your inconvenience at our hotel. We would like to apologize for the connecting rooms incident. Unfortunately, for rollaway beds, we can only grant this request for a room that has 1 king bed. We can only have 2 beds per room, due to the fact that it is a fire hazard to have more than 2 beds in 1 room. We do hope you give us another try, and we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the sheraton Lincoln Harbor for 6 nights for a sight seeing and Bon Jovi fan club trip. The staff at reception were brilliant from the start, welcoming us after a trans-Atlantic flight, finding us a room with a view and full of lots of helpful hints and tips and ideas of where to go and what to see.

The room was lovely, nice comfy twin double beds with little lounge area. Only thing missing from room was a fridge.

The wifi worked well and was quick and stable.

Plus the French toast in the restaurant was gorgeous for breakfast :-) where the staff again were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel is a perfect location for those who want to see New York but not stay in the city. Ferry goes from literally just outside the hotel and a free bus takes you to Time Square. Hoboken is a lovely walk from the hotel along the Hudson if you fancy a change for dinner.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Louiseelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelia h, Manager at Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know on your experience. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us. We do hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really enjoy my time at this hotel but sadly 2 nights wasnt enought will come back at this place soon nothing bad to say about that place NOTHING! everything was perfect .... got a lots of place spacious the king bed was very comfy wow when im going back to Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel

Room Tip: skyline view city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_bastien_L2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is right on the river. You can walk along the water to Hoboken. The rooms are nice but do not have refrigerators or microwaves. The bed is very comfortable! Our a/c was broken and we had to wait an hour for someone to come and fix it, but they were able to repair it. The fitness center was very nice with up to date equipment. They do have a big parking lot and we got an AARP special that included free parking, otherwise it's $50 a day. We would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherR353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelia h, Manager at Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know on your experience. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would like to extend our apologies for the fact that you had to wait to repair your AC. On your next visit, give us the opportunity to show you how great our costumer service is. We do have special rates which include parking, otherwise, parking is $25 a night. We welcome you back and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights during a whirlwind trip,to New York. The view from our room (824) was amazing. The skyline of lower Manhattten almost within touching distance! The ferry over to Pier 79 stops yards from the front door of the hotel and runs every 20 mins. Tickets for the ferry/bus can be bought from the hotel reception.
We found the staff very helpful and the room extremely well equipped, comfortable and spacious. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gracedior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just got back from our trip, which included two nights at the Sheraton. We found this hotel relatively easy to get to, there was ample parking (the fee wasn't terrible considering how expensive the area around NYC is), and we were able to check in early. We were warmly greeted by Addie Patterson at the desk--one of the friendliest faces in this area, I'm convinced! She was so helpful in making sure we knew how to navigate the city, public transportation, restaurants, and attractions in NYC. She greeted us each morning at the concierge desk and was so gracious in answering the questions of two fish out of water--Kentuckians in the Big Apple!

We were in a rush to get to our Broadway show on time, so we rushed up to our room, threw our stuff down, changed, and headed into the city. Our room had a strong bad odor in it and the carpet was wet underneath the air conditioner, but we didn't have time to deal with it before we left for Broadway. The odor and wet carpet were still an issue when we returned later that night, but the hotel staff promptly handled the situation, apologized, upgraded our room to one of the best views the hotel offers, and even sent a bellman up to take our stuff to our new room. We were very pleased with their response and how quickly they addressed the issue!

Our room was quiet, convenient to the water taxi (which was expensive, but a welcomed quick, pretty, and easy mode of transportation to and from the city). The value was great, in terms of the proximity to the city, and the views of the skyline (especially at night) were stunning. We would recommend this to others and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noelia h, Manager at Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great pleasure to hear your experience was a very good one. We are pleased to hear your situation was taken care of immediately. We are very fortunate to have such a great staff. Thank you for pointing out the great qualities of our staff. We welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weehawken
1.4 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#2 of 14 in Jersey City
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel

Address: 500 Harbor Boulevard, Weehawken, NJ 07086
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Weehawken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weehawken
Price Range: $144 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the stunning New York City skyline right from the windows of The Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel. Indulge in the spectacular attractions in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing