We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Village Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 159 Restaurants in Wayne
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Established in 2004, the quaint, country atmosphere of The Village Inn belies the sophistication of the kitchen, where Chef/Owner John A. Martino C.E.C. exhibits his considerable talents. Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of traffic, The Village Inn embraces the rustic call of warm greetings.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been here for dinner and parties. Excellent food and service. had the duck last time and loved it. Lots of parting in the back. High end cooking with a family home atmosphere. Clean, quiet and un-rushed dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I had some credit for Restaurants.com and I was meeting my husband in Wayne and I found this place quite at random. I wasn't expecting much until I drove up. It is at the end of a road as if to say, "You have arrived!" the inside was cute and had a decent bar area. Immediately, the hostess was charming. She kept poking her head over and making suggestions (as she heard us trying to choose from the interesting specials menu). There were so many interesting options. I chose an octopus appetizer and a dish of pasta, mushroom and sherry cream sauce, and seared scallops. It was awesome. My husband had a chicken dish with broccoli rabe and sausage, which he loved. For dessert we had homemade mini jelly donuts. They were kind of amazing.

If your considering this place, you should certainly go! I've already sent pictures of my dinner to my mom to entice her to return for Mother's Day. It's wonderful, feels like home and the food is delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Wayne.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is absolutely my husband's and my favorite restaurant. The food is consistently delicious and the service is awesome. Don't be fooled by the regular menu (in terms of size, it's smaller than average compared to other local menus), John Martino puts together one heck of a "specials" menu. Additionally, what the menu lacks in size, it makes up for in quality. I've had everything from chicken to seafood to steak here and have never been disappointed. Some of our favorites: asparagus and lump crab meat, thin crust pizza, torpedo shrimp, hangar steak, any and all of the salmon dishes, & hub's favorite, the Sisti Parm.

The Village is most definitely a great place for both a special night out or a weeknight dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Waitress”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

First the food served is very good. My family has eaten there a few times. It is a nice cozy place to eat, but the service is very poor. I blame the management, because they only had one waitress taking care of the entire dining room and although she worked hard to take care of all the customers, she was overwhelmed. The 2 food servicer were useless and not properly trained. This lead to an intolerable wait for our dinner. Our daughter fell asleep at the table before our meal was served. The Village Inn is a nice little place, with very good food, but the service needs to improve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ALWAYS an great meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently had dinner here with family (four of us) and the food and the service was OUTSTANDING. We eat here fairly often and had never had a bad experience. Heidi was our waitress and she is the BEST!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing