We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drive past to any other Diner on this road” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Diner

Monarch Diner
Ranked #95 of 154 Restaurants in Wayne
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Drive past to any other Diner on this road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Worst service in a decade!

Sunday the 8th, waitress took our order then did not even bring coffee for 10 minutes.

Food wasn't brought for 30 minutes. and she didn't even stop by to refill the drinks. When the food finally arrived it was wrong (wheat toast not white and Cheddar cheese not swiss) on mismatched plates, which must mean they weren't washing the dishes in the dishwasher (health?)

Finally when deciding on a tip, the waitress delivered the leftovers, which flipped out of her hand and somersaulted in mid-air and landed on the table with a crash. No tip, and I usually tip 20% or more, especially at the holidays.

This is not an exaggeration.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ditpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy! Monarch diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The diner, the food, the people, all of it was great! My food was mouth watering! Never go any where else!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyface111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been coming here for breakfast every weekend when I have off and I am never disappointed. The food is very tasty,fresh and always served with a smile. This is a place that can not be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Beginning, NOW just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

When the diner first opened, it was phenomenal. Enjoyed all of my meals and the great service! Now unfortunately just having dined here Saturday night, it was apparent standards have taken a turn downhill. Waiters and Waitresses eating their meals along side the guests they are serving, wearing flip flops and showing their tummys! Is this a hang out for the employees more so than the customer? Really disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpertTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would NEVER Eat Anyplace Else in Wayne, NJ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Looking like wet noodles, after surviving a long trip north, & horrendous storm, we stopped at Monarch because of past experience with terrific 'Juersey' diners, & because it was 11pm! As per usual, the ethnic staff was unpretentious, but super efficient! Also, as usual, instead of quick simplicity, this diner couldnt make up her mind, over the massive amount of offerings, all completely described in their well-laid-out massive menu! All items seemed to have a little surprise, like capers, roasted peppers, citrus dressings, etc! Feeling I might be more tired than hungry, I was elated when informed even elaborate dinners could be 'packed-to-go!" Suddenly realizing my hunger quotient, I started ordering elements from fancy dinners, & comibining with side items ala carte! Our server stood firm without sighing or rolling his eyes, thruout my request for substittutions, irregular additions and condiments! Fearing we'd wind up with a bag-full of goo, we returned to the room to find everything in tact, with no spillage or oozing! Again, considering the hour, I wouldnt have complained of wilted greens on my honey's huge salad, but it couldnt have been more crisp & fresh! My cup of sweet potatoes tasted like dessert, with their hint of nutmeg, and my 'dinner' mahi mahi came exactly as ordered, on a roll, with generous tomato & blended dijon & mayo making it perfect for easy-eating in bed! Unfortunately, we had a commitment for breakfast, but returned the next day, for a huge take-home order of out-of-this-world Rice Pudding; its worth a trip to Wayne!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarch Diner also viewed

 

Been to Monarch Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing