We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant dinner”

Vila Verde Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellant dinner”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Food, service and ambiance were just terrific. Portions are large, so you will have dinner the next day as well. Everything was good down to the crispy potato chips...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here on Saturday. We made a reservation but got there a little early and had a drink at the bar. I had the red sangria which was exactly how I like it; not overly sweet with a little strength to the alcohol.
We had the crab cake special for an appetizer. Crab cakes were delicious, all crab and not a lot of filler/breading.
My husband had the seafood paella and I had the mariscada in salsa verde. We literally could have licked our plates. The muscles were amazingly tender as well as the scallops and shrimp.
We skipped desert in favor of another round of drinks.
The wait staff was very attentive but didn't hover. The meal was served at a great pace.
I have been to Portuguese/Spanish restaurants all over NJ, including the Iron Bound section of Newark. Vila Verde stands right along with all of them.

Helpful?
2 Thank CPlewa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went on a rainy Friday night, and had a great experience. The food and service were very good. The dining room was a bit noisy, it seems there are a lot of "regulars" who go and feel it is appropriate to talk to their friends who are across the room with no consideration of the other diners. However, the food and service were good and we will go back, and ask for a table not in the middle of the room!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is not a bad place, its just not a great place.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Based on reviews we decided to give this place a try. We were not disappointed per se, but we sure wouldn't call this an outstanding place.

The decor is "old school" fancy restaurant. Uninspiring, clean, a little architectural detail, no artwork. It is also possibly a little too cramped dining room.

The service was decent. Initial impression was of truly professional wait staff. However as the dining room filled, attention dwindled, no body asked how our food was, I had to flag down our waiter twice for drink refills.

The food was very traditional Portuguese. The menu looked like it hadn't been updated since the 70s. It was all prepared well, flavors were good. But lacked presentation and imagination. If this what you're after, go enjoy the average $26+ entrées. But if your a 'foody' this is not your place.

In short, it seems this place is thriving on a reputation, and older longtime upper-middle class devotees.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SmulchY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
300 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Better than the Newark Portuguese restaurants”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have eaten here probably two dozen times if not more and we always rave about the consistency. The service is perfect and the fish is the very freshest. I love the Tilapia with Shrimp. When we get that seafood urge, we head here right away. We make reservations, but I don't think they're needed. There's a pleasant upscale atmosphere but no need to be dressed up. The bartender is very good and on Friday nights there's live music. The lobsters are very reasonably priced and the ubiquitous fried potatoes are not greasy like so many of them can be. Poached pears are a great dessert. We even ate here on New Years once with a large group and we still had a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Verde Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vila Verde Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing