We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Aldo's Cucina

Aldo's Cucina
Ranked #11 of 191 Restaurants in Wayne
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Aldo's Cucina is a neighborhood restaurant and we've been "saving" it for a special occasion. We were seated by a very friendly lady and that's where it stopped. Food was very bland and every dish (with the exception of the creamy mushroom soup, which was very tasty) was just loaded with oil and butter. I know - it's Italian; we love Italian. But oily, oily, oily..

No one in our four-person party voted to stay for desert after the meal, because all of us had this oil taste in our mouths. In all fairness, the restaurant was very busy on a Saturday night and so we didn't really mind that everything took just a tad longer than we expected. Service was ok, but just so: we had to wave the staff over for everything from water to check. If the food was good - we'd totally write the rest of the stuff off to a busy night. Sorry, but can't say this was a good experience.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheGrymza .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

It’s was mediocre compared to other Italian restaurants nearby. Service just ok too. Sorry but I am being honest.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 778carolineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

We lost one local Italian establishment but kept Aldo's. Starts with plenty of parking followed by a nice greeting. The menu is full of most anything you might want. Owner almost always on premise to oversee the operation. Service is great. Most important to most people is the taste of each item. All that we ate was superbly seasoned. Most enjoyable.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kahnman1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We ordered takeout for our son's bday this past Friday. They were very accommodating on the phone, explaining the specials, etc. The fried calamari was nicely crunchy, but no seasoning, so therefore tasteless. They forgot our side salads :((( The bread! was stale!!! We liked the fried zucchini, but was a bit too oily. The Caesar salad was drenched in dressing, so we couldn't eat it. The eggplant appetizer was good, but a very small serving. My husband enjoyed the polenta and chicken parm. My chicken rollatini was a major disappointment. It was burned at the bottom, chicken was dry, had no sauce, and the risotto was lackluster to say the least.
Everyone has a bad night, so maybe this was the case here.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pennypies2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

I had a business lunch here yesterday and have to say I found both the food and service to be very very good. I had the blackened chicken special for lunch. The chicken was moist and seasoned very well. Not too spicy but just enough heat. He service was also very attentive but that may be because they weren’t that busy either. I highly recommend and suggest you try it if you are nearby and looking for good food.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 728russellf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo's Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing