We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hibachi is always delicious & fun.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Umi Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #60 of 157 Restaurants in Wayne
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Hibachi is always delicious & fun.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is our son's favorite restaurant. He'd go once a week if we could afford it. Always fresh, and tasty. one of our favorites. Very clean & new decor, much cleaner than Izumi on Rt 23 which is old & dirty looking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcoophoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi and hibachi around!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have been to Umi numerous times with the family and with friends. Each time the food has been outstanding!! The umi roll, monkey roll, fire in the hall roll and paradise roll are all amazing!! The hibachi is also fantastic!! I have been to other hibachi places, but this by far is the best tasting!! The food is very fresh.
The service is good, the waitresses can be hard to understand, but have always been courteous. I would definetly recommend Umi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYNE, NJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best in town”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very good Japanese food. Rolls are delicious and habachi is done well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FTEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't do delivery”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Don't order delivery! They forgot to send salad dressing. I called and was told it would be delivered. I called back 1.5 hours and was told that they were too busy to deliver my dressing. I was told to eat it plain and they would send me extra dressing the next time. Huh?? I then asked them to take the salads off my bill but was told they would need to come get the salads Huh??? Then I waited over 15 min to speak to the manager. Unbelievable!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have driven past this restaurant countless times, I thought it was an open pit Beni Hana place that makes your whole body smell like grease. Stopped in for lunch with a friend and was pleasantly surprised. Warm clean pleasing decor. The lunch menu is a value. For $9 we ordered the bento box. I had steak, she had shrimp. Lovely skirt steak not over cooked in a lift sauce, the shrimp were large and clean. Came with soup or salad, California roll, 2 delicious dumplings, a bowl of sticky rice and sliced oranges in a lacquer box. All was delicious and ther service attentive with free drink refills! Well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBQueene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umi Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing