We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded, not for the faint of heart”
Review of Colorado Cafe - CLOSED

Colorado Cafe
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, not for the faint of heart”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

$10 cover just to get in, $5 per person to ride the mechanical bull. Apparently you have to get there at 7 to learn the dances. If you come after that you're [--]. The drinks are good once you get them, but the wait time for one beverage on a Saturday night can be up to 30 minutes. They have more staff "acting" as security than they do bartenders. I say "acting" because a fight broke out next to me and one of the "security guards" just stood there - his arms crossed, blank expression on his face. Overcrowded and annoying.... Not planning on returning. I'd rather spend my $10 cover on something I'll actually enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank akacicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“reasonable food but a great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food is ok, but they are so so nice there that I love going. Everyone that works there tries so hard. Fun place to spend some time. Go with friends or family. Enjoy yourself but don't expect gormet food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobMiles10003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,331 reviews
1,150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“This is a place to go to dance and party - not eat”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Food is basic bar food - barely. Greasy gilled and fried foods. Veg burger was mushy. Fries were not bad. People come here to hit the dance floor. That is the only reason to stop in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing special about it...”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's a place that offers country line dancing classes and becomes a club afterwards. There's nothing special about it. Their dance floor is spacious, so you don't bump into anybody when trying to pull your cowboy/cowgirl moves and the instructors are funny. It's not a bad experience, but its definitely not a great one.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Had a good time dancing with friends”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Colorado Cafe a couple times over the last few months, once just on the spur of the moment to check it out and last night to celebrate a birthday. We had about 10 friends who met there when the club opened and got tables convenient to the dance floor.

They have a really big dance floor that is very well maintained for country dancing. Knowing that all clubs do different dances to a lot of songs, we had sent some requests in advance, most of them pulled from the club's own website, as we were looking to dance all night! It was a little disappointing that there were a lot of songs/dances played that we didn't know, when there were so many in common. It is great that the line dancers and couples dancers fill the floor all the time, but it doesn't bode well for those who want to venture out and try to follow along if they don't know the dance since there isn't much free space. We did carve out space a few times to do a dance we knew which was different from the one everyone else was doing.

We did order dinner and the food and service were good.

All in all, we had a very good time and would go back again. Next time, we might ask the DJ for his line up of songs/dances and try to learn a few new ones before we go out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArcheryFamily-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing