We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
nowhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I stayed at this hotel following a friend's wedding. When I got there they told me they had no rooms left with a king size bed, even though I had made the reservation over a month ago. When I asked if they would give me a discount because I was not getting the room I asked for they told me they don't do that.

The Tap Room turns the houselights on at 1am. The band that was playing was so mediocre I thought it was Karaoke night instead of an actual live band.

The rooms are decorated in horrible wallpaper, and there was mold in the bathroom.

While I was quoted a price of $129 for the room, the next morning I received a bill for $150.00 which included taxes that I had not been told about when making the reservation. When I asked to speak to a manager they told me there was none on duty - no manager on duty on a weekend at such a high priced hotel? Hard to believe.

In short, this place is definitely NOT WORTH THE PRICE.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank millay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    36
    40
    53
See reviews for
56
34
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for business training. I arrived very late and the front desk had everything ready for me. The room and bathroom were very large. The bar was a busy, fun place with excellent food. The breakfast had many choices with an alert staff. The pool was a nice size. The shuttle ran all morning long but always seemed willing to accomidate each traveler. The biggest complaint I have is the fee for internet service.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank largefamilymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingmans Ferry, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We recently stayed at the Somerset Hills Hotel for a wedding. Not only was the weather awful but the roads were ice covered and messy. Somerset still ran a hotel to reception shuttle. The hotel itself was beautiful. The staff very helpful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great touch. Both check in and check out were quick and painless. The rooms were very clean. The bathroom spotless. The beds pretty comfortable. All in all a great hotel experience. I would definatley stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — really busy wallpaper ( if that's the worst -- who can complain!!)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bailsmom698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

I've stayed here several times and the room quality varies. The heat/AC units in the rooms vary drastically (from noisy unpredictable to properly working). Overall, the room is nice and clean (if a bit worn). You get the basics - free wireless Internet, free hot breakfast, clean sheets, clean room, etc. But for the price they charge (I pay upwards of $140 for a weeknight stay), one would hope to get more. I stay here because it's convenient.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank bayarea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Excellent little restaurant w/ professional waitstaff, very pleasant and accomodating hotel staff. Old time look to the place, nice and quiet and very well kept up.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
249 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
515 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bridgewater
7.0 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hills Hotel

Property: Somerset Hills Hotel
Address: 200 Liberty Corner Rd, Warren, NJ 07059-6793
Location: United States > New Jersey > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hills Hotel, Central New Jersey's hidden gem offers boutique style accommodations and full service features including 111 spacious guest rooms, The Tap Room bar & Lounge, Full service restaurant with in-room dining, outdoor pool, fitness room and over 5,000 square feet of function space. Centrally positioned between NYC and Easton PA in the hills of Warren, NJ. Come experience the new style of the Somerset Hills Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hills Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing