We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favorite for 25 years in Warren.”
Review of Hunan Tea Garden - CLOSED

Hunan Tea Garden
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Warren, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An old favorite for 25 years in Warren.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

An old favorite for 25 years in Warren. Classic Chinese food great for dining in or take out. Great service and good food. Great for families with kids too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pbsjr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not as good as previously, and bar is gone”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The waitress, while pleasant, could not answer simple questions about the menu. The menu in some cases provided descriptions of the dish and in other cases did not. When we asked how a particular pork dish was prepared, she had to go ask someone else, but when she came back she still didn't tell us anything other than that it had two vegetables in it. It appeared to be partially language barrier and partly inexperience. Four of us were dining together, and two dinners came out several minutes before the others. My daughter ordered shrimp and cashews, and they brought her chicken with cashews. When we pointed out the error they asked if she wanted the chicken dish and tried to put it on the table. After we repeated that she didn't want it, they took it away and brought back a shrimp dish only a few minutes later. This dish had a flavorless, gelatinous sauce, no vegetables, and some cashews sprinkled on the top. The other dishes were of average quality and there was enough to go around so she wasn't hungry, but it was disappointing. They no longer have a liquor license; this was not a problem for us last night but if you are expecting to be able to order a glass of wine or a beer you will be surprised. On a positive note, the fried dumplings were better than some places.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren nj
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“tasteless, bland, lacking variety--and at higher prices!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

probably the worst chinese take-out i've had in a very long time. my shredded beef in garlic sauce was julianned, not shredded, in a dull and bland brown sauce (not a hint of garlic or any other interesting spice), with some canned water chestnuts and some slivers of a slimy black vegetable--possibly eggplant. very tasteless. the general tso's we ordered was a puny serving of six chunks of fried chicken, some cabbage and peppers; i've never seen this combination for general tso's, my best guess is they are trying to pad the dish out with cabbage so that it appears more generous than it is. the fried rice was equally tasteless, and the soup was served in 8 ounce coffee cups, instead of the usual plastic containers. the wontons were the only good thing in the order, but that is not enough to redeem this place. there are several reliable chinese takeout shops in the area, including china city and jade garden; i see no reason to steer anyone toward hunan for takeout--and at higher prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank elevenses11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Food, and Nice Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is one of those unusual chinese restaurants: a sit down chinese restaurant with a bar( small). The food is quite good, with some unusual dishes that you do not see very often. They are creative, and the menu is fairly extensive. From 4-7 on Monday to Friday, it is happy hour, and all Schmirnoff drinks are $ 2. They are generous with their pours, and it was a great value. My girl and I had 4 drinks for $ 8. You can't beat that if you are a vodka drinker. All in all, good food and good value for the money. One thing to remember though. This is sitdown chinese, so they do not offer pint portions like most takeout chinese restaurants. They only offer quart sized portions, so sharing is probably preferred. But between the food and the bar drinks, the bill was extremely low, which is a nice find these days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing