We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay View Terrace - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bay View Terrace
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Beachwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
369 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We came here with a group of 17 people. Amazingly, we had one waiter who also had other tables. What is even more amazing is his service lacked for nothing. Most of the dishes are in the $20-$25 range. On a scale of 10, I'd say the food is about 7. If you want great views of Barnegat Bay, good food, and great service, it is a pleasant place to spend an evening. At least on Sunday nights there is a pianist/singer to entertain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cflum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great view, nice atmosphere. Food was good but a little too pricey for that place. Kid friendly, sort of. Too expensive to bring kids. Leave them home

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow slow ....service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and two children went for the first time since Sandy. Took about 20 minutes just to get drinks for the kids and what felt like FOREVER to get our appetizers . Forget about our meal, we were ready to ask for a to go container when it finally did arrive, as our children were ready to go to sleep. I was going to say something to the waitress but did not as I was hoping service would get better but sadly no improvement . As for the food , totally over priced for what you get. My husband ordered broiled fishermans platter, which looked as though it was previously frozen and enough possibly for a bird. I ordered cedar plank salmon which was good but drenched in butter. I have been to many fantastic restaurants with amazing food , this establishment needs culinary Assistance. Great atmosphere and nice people if that's just what your looking for . As far as cuisine ., don't waste your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalieoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wasted View”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have visited Bay View Terrace many times over the years and the food was consistently good and carefully prepared and served. It seems like this restaurant is under new ownership since the chef and waitstaff were so poor and dramatically changed from the good food and service of the past. When we visited in March 2013 the quality of the food was terrible and waitstaff uncaring. The marinated skirt steak (which I have had many times in the past) was like "shoe leather" and tasteless. My husband's fish was OK--not fresh tasting as usual. We complained to the waitress to no avail. My meal was not eaten, but there was no offer to change or comp. What a shame--the view of Barnegat Bay and lighthouse is fabulous from this restaurant, but we won't be back again due to the poor quality of food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJGirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great BYOB tucked back in the marina. We would have never found it without the signs. The view is beautiful and has a great casual dining experience that accommodates families very nicely

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moskie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay View Terrace also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing