We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Quite a Drive But...”
Review of Walpack Inn

Walpack Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's Quite a Drive But...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We always tell visitors to the area to visit the Walpack Inn. Form the Piano Bar to the Game, and Special Menu it's a great experience. While you are waiting you can look at historical maps and such.
The food is prepared fresh, and sometimes takes a little while so patience is required.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank smorris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Califon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The decor is dated and tired. The food was boring as was the selection. The deer gathered around th salt has a certain attraction, but was not enough to bring me back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Another great meal.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visit family in NJ every year, and each time we always go back to the Walpack Inn.
I think the key to this is the consistency of the place. The food is great and if you stick with the main menu items you won’t be disappointed, or failing that ask if the chef has any specials that aren’t on the menu and you could end up with an amazing treat.
It is very casual, caters superbly for the kids who love the salad bar and watching the deer. We’ll certainly be back next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_MGWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood RIdge, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rustic Ambiance”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This rustic restaurant is tucked away in the rural northwest corner of New Jersey. The dress code is VERY casual. The artifacts make the place ineteresting and the view of the rolling mountains made it worth the trip. In fact, the trip itself is breathtaking. You can see the flora and fauna from anywhere in the restaurant. Make reservvations, because it gets busy. Excellent bread, good salad bar (which I usually snub my nose at). The menu was a bit limited but if you like basic steaks or fish, you'll do fine. I had the T-bone, which was cooked as I requested. A little pricey for what it is, but worth it for the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MenschinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere a mega-oasis”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great bar
Big salad bar
Awesome bread
Fine dining experience
&
"eat with the deer" indeed it's wonderful with exterior lights and deer food putting deer right outside your wall of picture windows in this vintage albeit highly expanded roadhouse
Many specials ie Friday lobster, Saturday prime rib, etc
Abundant food, tasty, but even though it's in the middle of a national park come early as its popular and can get very crowded !!!
Summer has out of door concerts !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walpack Inn also viewed

Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Walpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing