We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a historic place to experience!”

Delsea Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Vineland
Attraction details
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a historic place to experience!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the few Drive-Ins still in existence in America! Get out and support this great landmark!

There are new features that have been installed and the snack bar has a lot to offer!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shalom_Jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    5
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I loved this experience!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Delsea drive-in theater is the best. Not only do you get to watch two current movies for less than the price of one, but you also get a retro experience! I loved every minute of it. Listening to the movie through my car radio speakers, no interference from people talking and texting next to me, and the food. Everything about this experience was A+. I highly recommend it if you're in the NJ/PA/DE area. It's worth it...and, considering that there aren't too many of them left, I would definitely try to check it out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank divaheart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Terrific Value, Priceless Memories”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Delsea Drive-In is one of my family's very favorite places. We love this place so much that we make the trip from central NJ several times a year, and actually will stay in a nearby hotel rather than drive home sleepy in the middle of the night!

I'm old enough to remember going to drive-ins with my parents, pjs on, with the speaker perched on the window ledge. I'm so thrilled that my kids can have the same memories (except for the speakers), thanks to this last remaining drive-in in NJ.

The price of about $10 per person is a terrific value, when you consider that there is always a double-feature (and sometimes three movies during the summer) and the movies are first-run. The snack bar is unlike that in any other movie theater, phenomenal quality and selection. You can get your usual movie snacks (popcorn, candy), but also salads, low-carb selections, etc. The Delsea is owned by a physician who obviously wants to offer healthy alternatives. My son claims the Delsea has the best hot dogs anywhere!

Come early to pick a prime spot, ensure that the movie selections of your choice aren't sold out (there are two screens) and hit the snack bar before the lines get crazy. We bring our laptops, football, and/or frisbee to pass the time before the movies start.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May,NJ
Level Contributor
273 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Last of a dying breed”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Although the road is tatered and it looks like your driving down a dead end street. This is a treat from yesteryear. Absolutely cheaper than a multiplex and the kids get a kick out of seeing a double feature and hanging in the car or sitting outside. Great for the family !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bigkahuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two movie screens are great but you can't watch one from one screen and one from another. They make their money on the food that they sell, so they charge you to bring your own food in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delsea Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Delsea Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing