We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Reviewed June 2, 2010

A spur of the moment trip brought us to Atlantic City and required that we stay overnight. Of course, during Memorial Day weekend, all hotels were booked or were over $400, for a SMOKING room.

The closest hotel around $100 was the Holiday Inn Vineland. Not only was well over an hour away from Atlantic City on country roads, but the hotel was just gross.

We were promised a suite and got a room with two queen beds, which wasn't awful. The bathroom sink kept clogging, the toilet needed to be flushed very firmly, the shower barely worked, so a friend who showered told me to not even bother!

The icing on the cake was when we received a late-checkout, yet housekeeping attempted to break into our room at 11:30am (checkout was at 11 and we were granted a 1pm checkout). Not even a knock, totally disregarding most hotels' policy regarding entering a room and ignoring the do not disturb. The only reason they didn't get into the room was because we had the latch on - whew!

While the room was clean, except for stained chairs, it wasn't worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

I will say that the staff were friendly and nice. The rooms, however, have paper thin walls, the beds sound like they have plastic sheeting under them, the TV is small and old, the sofa bed had stained pillows and unsleepable springs, the AC did not seem to work well, and the floor was dirty and stained. We will not stay here again. Oh and yes, it was conveniently close to a burned down bowling alley.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We normally stay at this Holiday Inn Express when traveling in to visit family. I was really disappointed when I saw the condition of the hotel. The cleanliness of our room was questionable. When I took a shower the next morning, I noticed mold on the ceiling above the shower. We left around 1:00pm to spend the day with family. The room across the hall was partially stripped from a check out - and the door was propped open. When we returned to our room around 9:00pm, our room still wasn't cleaned. I gathered up the towels and went to the front desk to ask for replacements. The person on duty asked if we had left our "privacy" sign on the door, and I told her we hadn't - and had been gone all day. I knew the staff would have been right across the hall from our room to finish the other room. No apology - just gave us some fresh towels. We were there for two nights, and both mornings, an hour before close of breakfast, the cinnamon rolls were gone. (Isn't that a trademark of theirs?) The only saving grace of the trip was that we had used "points" to stay there. Maybe their Priority members aren't really a priority after all?

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I have stayed here many times for work. I thought it was good at first, but over the last several months it has gone downhill. The rooms are not clean and have that musty feel to them.
The hotel needs to be updated.
The staff, however, is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolitanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was our first time at this Holiday Inn Express location. We didn't want to stay in Wildwood. I usually go by the reviews but this one was the only one that didn't totally gross me out. Well, I must say my family experience was great! The front desk staff was wonderful. The lobby and our room were clean, the bathroom was roomy and clean, yes the carpets need to be replaced, but the overall stay was fine. The location is good also, plenty of places to eat and shop, movie theater and bowling alley next door and drive-in movie theater 10 mins. down the road and the mall 1 block over. With all of this you would think the traffic would be horrible, loud and crazy but not at all the movie theater next door is further back from the hotel so you don't hear the car noise. GOOD location! Yes, my family and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsdbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I stayed there off and on for two years and they are the worst hotel ever. What people dont know is that the hotel is very nasty bed bugs in most room. 5 of my stays i had to move because of bed bugs. Front desk staff was very rude. General manager was not dressed approprite. Some of the walls on the first floor are very milded and wall paper falling down.
this is not a safe hotel it looks nice on the outside but on the insideit is bad. also the pool they do not clean it. someone went to the bathroom in the pool and they still let people stay swimming in there and said it was nothing.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

I am originally from Vineland & was here for 2 nights to visit family for the holidays. We requested a nonsmoking suite. The room was not a true suite, just one big room with a king bed and a queen sleeper sofa, one television with the channels improperly identified. Tiny dorm size fridge, microwave with a dial & no keypad. Plastic cups & plates. We were very close to the smoking half of the floor, and dense smoke filtered into our room during the night, filling the bathroom, enough to be a concern to anyone with respiratory issues. The next day we requested and received a new room on the 3rd floor, which is a nonsmoking floor. Same room type, but the fan wasn't working properly.
Overall, staff very accomodating, rooms clean enough. I have a hard time believing the building is new; it looks at least 10 years old and in need of a makeover. Carpet often has wrinkles, wallpapaer is peeling, linens clean but cheap.
The big hit for the kids was the indoor pool and hot tub. The water & grounds were again very clean, but the pool looked old, peeling paint.
The breakfast is your standard cereals, coffee, and a "hot entree." The first day it wasn't bad, bacon & scrambled eggs. Plates & utensils are all plastic or styrofoam. The second day breakfast was awful, greasy sausage patties & "omelets" that were filled with cheese whiz. Cream cheese, jelly, equal sweeteners not refilled on the breakfast bar.
The Vineland area has very few good hotel choices, so if you have to stay in the area, there are worse choices. Location is practically on top of the Cumberland Mall, with no traffic light to help with access to Delsea Drive (Rt 47), so it's a tricky entrance.
It is clean enough & has nice staff. I was expecting more. Next time we will stay closer to Deptford/Philly in a Marriott or Hilton property.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippiRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineland
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vineland
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Vineland
1.8 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Millville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Millville Vineland
3.6 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#5 of 7 in Vineland
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Millville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 398 Smith St, Vineland, NJ 08360-7402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vineland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Price Range: $91 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vineland/Millville, located in the heart of Vineland's business district and adjacent to the Cumberland Mall. The hotel has recently been renovated inside and out including; all new carpeting, wall & window coverings, top of the line bedding, upgraded furniture and 42" HDTV's. The Holiday Inn Express is off of exit 27, Rte 55,and is the "Official Hotel" of New Jersey Motorsports Park. It is minutes away from South Jersey Regional Medical Center, Wheaton Village, General Mills, ARC International, Siemen's, Amcor/Nipro, Cumberland County College, T-Fal, Hanover Foods, Leone Industries, Rich Products and the city of Millville's Art District. We are also south of the Philadelphia and Camden area, and just a half an hour from most Jersey shore points, Atlantic City, Wildwood, and Ocean City. The hotel features include: complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, business center, free local phone calls, fitness center, meeting room, indoor pool and spa. Our oversized parking lot offers state-of-the-art security cameras for your safety. Visit Vineland/Millville, NJ and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vineland
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Vineland
Vineland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vineland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing