We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill - what a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Vineland
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Going downhill - what a shame”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let me start by saying we stay at this property at least twice a year, and have been doing so for about 5 years. We always call the hotel directly to make our reservation because in the past, everyone you ever spoke to was really nice! The hotel is typical of this brand and we always enjoyed staying here. The breakfast used to have good variety. The refridgerator and microwave in the room are nice to have over a 2 night stay. The rooms are starting to show some wear and tear, especially in the bathrooms which are in serious need of removing the old grout and caulk around the bathtubs because the mildew stains are gross and smelly (probably water getting behind the walls & molding). A couple years ago it was hit or miss if you got a bad bathroom, now they all seem to be that way except for the handicap room we were assigned to on the 4th of August. Guess it doesn't get used as much. We did not ask for that room. The shower is perfect for someone who needs to sit on the shower bench they provide for the bathtub. But as you would expect, the shower head is located at your midriff & can't be moved/adjusted for a standing position, so you have to hold the shower head to stand under the shower. What has recently changed at this hotel is the military discount. The hotel no longer gives a discount to military personnel on leave who show an active duty ID card. You must have a "work order" (their words, not ours) to receive a federal gov't discount. We've never heard "work order" used in federal gov't / military travel so asked the front desk person we talked to when making the reservation what it was or looked like. She said she didn't know. We explained to her that leave orders are available, is that what the hotel is referring to as a work order? Again, she didn't know. So, we asked her how she would know if she was looking at the correct documentation at check in to verify charging the government rate. She said "if you don't have a work order, then you will not get the government rate & I will be here the day you check in & I'll be sure you don't get a discount". Wow! We finally called the 800 number for corporate and they were able to find out that a "work order" at that Wingate means official government travel orders. While we appreciate the discount being available to government workers on official government travel which saves taxpayers dollars, usually the military discount provides service members a better rate for hotel stays while they are home visiting family, attending funerals, etc. because that's money directly out of their pocket, not reimbursed by the federal government as is official travel. Fortunately, someone from the Hampton Inn next door called in sick on the 4th, so ms. rude had to go work there. Yes, the Hampton Inn is managed by the same person, so if you have a problem with a rude employee, you may encounter them at either hotel. We will note that the front desk clerk on duty at the Wingate on the afternoon of Aug 4 has always been really nice, we were happy to see her even though she was really swamped! On another reservation fiasco, when the derecho storm hit the northeast the night of June 29, we had reservations to arrive at this hotel on Saturday June 30th. We woke up that morning to no power, as did most everyone in the Mid-Atlantic including south jersey where this hotel is located. We couldn't even get a phone call to go through to the hotel or to the 800 number by cell or land lines, and internet was down as well. When we finally got through by phone on Sunday, the desk clerk had the nerve to cop an attitude about "not canceling before 6pm on date of arrival so you can't get your money back"! They had no electricity or phones and still expected us to check in!! How would that have even been possible with electronic key cards? We've had many occasions to laugh when a hotel loses power, and guests leave the room, close the door behind them, then are frustrated to find they can't get into the room until the power comes back on! I can believe Phil692 and the smoke detector review because ms. rude was probably on duty that night. So, for $120 a night (AAA discount), this property is not the value it used to be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hallway may be a little quieter. Room 215 was a handicap room, not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoVa25thTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments. Each and everytime a guest takes the time to provide us with feedback it allows us to improve the overall guest experience. Please know everything you mentioned will be looked at and improved upon.


The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    286
    170
    84
    68
See reviews for
437
150
71
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I am very surprised with the poor experience some guest had with staff, for they were very professional and helpful throughout my stay. From making the reservation over the telephone to the time my wife and I checked out, every single aspect of our stay was exceptional. The facilities were very well kept and, although not superb, breakfast had plenty of variety. Will definetely stay again!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much! We appreciate your observation of recent Trip Advisor comments. We also love the fact that you recognized our team for the hard work and outstanding guest service all our team members put forth to each guest. We really look forward to seeing you again soon.


The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed one night on business travel. Hot day so outdoor pool felt nice. Clean water, could have been more towels. Weight room is good too and not crowded. Bed was a little firm for my taste, but comfortable and clean. I liked the way the hallsway smelled fresh - not like your usual wierd, musty smell some hotels have. Check in was easy and hotel staff was very pleasant. I was invited by them to attend a special managers celebration that evening - appetizers and beverages, but couldn't make it, but it sounded like fun. I like the fact that Bennigan's is a brief walk from the hotel. Food is good and resonably priced. Internet connection was easy to access from the room.

Room Tip: 4th floor (top) was quiet. Wait for elevator was very short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trnsplnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's so nice to hear from a guest that has truly experienced our outstanding hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you very soon.


The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

At midnight on 7/14/2012 - the alarm started. The only staff available suggested that we remove the battery of the smoke detector.. I removed the cover and saw there was no battery. I reported it to the front desk and they were no help including getting me another room nor would they contact anyone.. The next day we were given a bag of potato chips for our troubles and a new room, but no mention of a credit for the tortuous night. Our plans for the day had to be cancelled due to lack of sleep.

Repeated attempts to speak to the manager were to no avail. Management without concern for guests comfort and where management would go so far to ignore a smoke alarm should be terminated immediately.

Where are you Mark Ludas GM!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel where you might not suffer a fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateVineland, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Good morning,

I want to apologize for the disconnect between yourself and my management team. A manager did attempt to contact you monday morning to inform you that we are resolving the situation to your satisfaction. I also know you had an extensive conversation with our manager on duty Sunday morning. Please accept my deepest apologies for the uncomfortable evening you both had with us. I also expressed this when we spoke Tuesday morning. Please know we take every comment to heart with the goal of improving our total guest experience. My hope is that you afford us a chance to make up for the recent stay with us.


The Best!


Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Me and my family decide to take a two night relaxation break and decided on the Wingate in Vineland,NJ the exterior looked nice so we gave it a try. Upon checking in we were given a room on the 4th floor going into the room we noticed the smell of cigarettes and the bathroom was filthy with pubic hairs all over the tub we requested another room which was a slight bit better. My son looked forward to the pool didn't use it because it was full of debris and was very upset.The internet connection was very slow and to top it off we could not get into the room day two because the key system was down for 50 minutes. Terrible experience will not stay again or recommend it to any one. P.S was not offered anything by management to remedy this sitituation.

Room Tip: Check reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateVineland, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I'm very sorry to hear that you had a less than outstanding experience at our hotel. What you and your family experienced is highly unussual and we deeply apologize. We pride ourselves on having great Trip Advisor feedback and an outstanding hotel. Please, I assure you that given another chance we will exceed your expectations. We will take your comments and use them to our advantage to improve.

The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Working in southern Jersey for 3 wks and stayed in 3 hotels... this was by far the best. New, nice amenities, clean with the latest comforts and designs. Would recommend this for anyone.
Especially traveling with kids, the pool was nice and it's in a good location, just down the street from a new Walmart and 30 mi from the beach, just off the highway which also runs into Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for you recent stay and feedback. We really do love hearing from our guests after they had a chance to experience our hotel. Every comment allows us to learn and get even that much better for the guest.

The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice for several days at a time in period from Christmas Eve- MLK Holiday 2012 while taking care of family matters. Very clean, helpful staff, nice breakfast selection. Would recommend!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Vineland, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello!

Thank you again for your comment. We appreciate you choosing us when you are in the Vineland area. Come again!


The Best!

Mark Ludes
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineland
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vineland
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ramada Vineland Millville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality inn
Quality inn
#5 of 7 in Vineland
99 reviews
5.9 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Millville
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Millville Vineland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Vineland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Vineland

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Vineland
Address: 2196 W Landis Ave, Routes 55 and 56, Vineland, NJ 08360-3431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vineland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Vineland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Vineland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Vineland Hotel Vineland
Wingate Hotel Vineland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing