We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good restaurant but always fails to impress me”

Dakota Prime Steak House and Sushi Bar
Ranked #49 of 139 Restaurants in Vineland
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
2,012 reviews
723 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,285 helpful votes
“It is a good restaurant but always fails to impress me”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Maybe it is the dark and somewhat plain interior, maybe my prior first impression but this nice place always fails to live up to expectations. Technically nothing wrong and the service is good. The food was OK. Onion soup was very salty, hard to eat but that may be a cooks one time mistake. Prime rib was spiced in an unusual way and with actually too many spices covering up the flavor of the meat. Filet Mignon was done in a tasty way so was one of the specials of the day day - aged beef. Sushi rolls were good and tasted fresh as they ought to. Most tables other than the middle of the room are in a "boring " and dim setting. Maybe interior designer touch is needed? Overall is was OK, just too expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philomont, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best values for sushi I've run across”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Only one word for the sushi menu here ... AWESOME !!! Varied and high quality ... AND reasonably priced. They actually use REAL crab in most of their sushi (and clearly note when it is that other fake gross stuff) and the crab they use is the best lump!! Wish I had been in town longer because I would have been back every night! Great atmosphere. Steak and entrees run a bit expensive, but it's pretty easy to economize here as you can order a la carte off the sushi menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRWLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Try it again.....”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I went to dinner here from a suggestion from friends. I would go again. A few that need to be addressed; my wife saw "dust " all over. When the specials are given out, it would be nice to know the cost before ordering. Was surprised with the cost of my meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
1 review
“something for everyone”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We took the family to Dakota Prime to celebrate a graduation. My husband's steak was perfectly prepared. Our sushi was so delicious and fresh that my husband even tried -and enjoyed a piece. The waitress was very attentive and even took our family's photo before we left. Our martinis were perfect! The only bad thing was that we were too full to order dessert. You must try this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place you can't miss.”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you want to have a good steak and a very good place to be with your family and friends, this is the place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandyVic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakota Prime Steak House and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dakota Prime Steak House and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing