We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Vernon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in September in Coral Bells #2. It is on the bottom floor. The room was very tiny with barely any room for 2 people to move as the bed took up almost the entire space. It was a queen bed, and probably THE most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in - actually, I shouldn't say slept, because I was not able to sleep one minute the entire night. The mattress was so bouncy and soft with absolutely no support, and when you layed towards the side, you practically rolled over and fell out of the bed. There is no air conditioning in the room from what we could figure out, even thought it was about 70 degrees outside it was VERY hot in the room, which made it even harder to sleep. Being on the first floor, I didn't feel comfortable opening the window and shade because everybody driving past would literally be able to see me laying in the bed. Yeah, no thank you. There is also A LOT of noise from the traffic driving by.

There were a few rogue black hairs on the bathroom floor - gross.

Breakfast - well, let's just say I almost had to spit my "peaches and cream french toast" out when I took my first bite. It must've been made in one big pan and I got the center, uncooked piece. The egg was basically raw and the entire thing was mushy like slop. I ate the peaches from the top of it. The bacon was good, and the coffee was awful - it smelled weird. I think it may have been the milk was bad? not sure, but it was NOT good. (this was certainly not worth the $$ that we paid for it, I've stayed at a nicer hotel for less than what this place costs).

The only good thing about this place was the convenient location to Mountain Creek if you are going there (we did not). Otherwise, I'd suggest looking for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy9178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, Owner at Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are responding to your comments as we have always taken the approach that “A Complaint Is A Gift” and rely on direct guest feedback. We are very sorry you did not have a positive experience and wish you had mentioned these issues directly to us at the time. We could have remedied some of them.
We are surprised you did not like the mattress as we frequently have guests say they love our Kingsdown mattresses. We will sleep in that bed to make sure there is not an issue and if there is we will take care of it.
Regarding the temperature in the room, there is central air conditioning which was on and we could have easily adjusted it.
The low windows in the room face the side yard well away from the road and therefore it is impossible to see into the room when driving by.
The French toast is a new recipe we just started using and will make sure it is cooked evenly throughout. Once again, we wish you had mentioned it so we could have made sure you had a satisfactory breakfast. We take our guest’s satisfaction very seriously and apologize for your less than desired experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    24
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
111
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed one night at the "Alpine Haus" and we have felt ourselves very well. We had the room "Lilly of the valley", it was very nicely furnished, the bed was very comfortable, the room was on the first floor and bordered on the beautiful porch the next morning we got an unusual but delicious breakfast: Fruits with a little cereal, muffin, strawberry cake and round-shaped sausages. The owners Allison and Jack were very friendly. We would like to have more in the "Alpine Haus" remained, but we had to continue our New-England-Trip and so we went early on to. Onward journey we can all the "Alpine Haus" recommend unconditionally; basicly good it is to have no fear of bears in Vernon .... ;).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Bed & Breakfast for 2 days in the middle of August and it was an amazing experience. Upon our arrival, we were greeted right away by both Jack & Allison and was given a tour of the house. They were attentive to us, as we were given maps and directions for where we wanted to go during our time there. We stayed in Guest room #8 (Alpine Jasmine) and the room was fantastic. It was very clean and cozy and it felt like home. I must say one of the best things about this B & B are the breakfasts that Allison prepares for us in the mornings. From the upside down French Toast, to the baked croissant with egg... the food was the perfect way to start the day.
This B & B is a nice escape from the city and we'll definitely look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B & B, and we all loved it. The nice peaceful setting, decoration, location, BREAKFAST - everything was perfect!! My husband and 2 boys (tweens) were very impressed. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anju N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room we stayed in (Forget-me-not #5) was very nice. Jack and Allison were great. Breakfast both mornings was delicious. We were walking distance from Mountain Creek Water Park and they had a great package deal which was another reason we stayed there. Would definately recommend this B&B. Oh yeah, and the cookies were a-mazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachJGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were warmly greeted when we arrived, Allison was very attentive to our needs and was so helpful in telling us about the local attractions and how to find them. The service was excellent. The Room (Violet 2nd Floor) was great. The jacuzzi and fireplace were both great touches. The cheese platter is well worth getting and the breakfast was delicious. Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice property, nicely furnished rooms, real good breakfast. Great shaded deck in back for reading or talking. If you don't mind traffic noise would be a "5" rating, but I do. Located right on a busy secondary highway with lots of traffic including trucks and motorcycles. Staying on a Friday night and traffic didn't quiet down until after 11PM. Third floor rooms have window AC units so was able to mask much of the noise, except for motorcycles. Also across the street from a bicycle and moped rental place. Tried to read on the deck in the late afternoon but the sound of mopeds being run up and down the hills across the street took away from the peaceful atmosphere - probably not a problem in wintertime.

Conclusion - if you aren't bothered by road noise good place; if you like quiet look elsewher

Room Tip: all rooms are exposed to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgregfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
3.4 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,809 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
22.6 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 217 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing