We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is delicious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kites Restaurant

Kites Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kites Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Vernon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 94
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breakfast is delicious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

loved the breakfast menu, a lot of food. The waiter that am was not friendly at all, but the waiter at night was perfect. had a great personality and loved the food. I thought everything was delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Guru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    34
    38
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had dinner here on a Thursday night because I was staying at the hotel. Tried the pasta with mushrooms and gorgonzola. Found it to be a bit bland. Had the barbecued ribs as an appetizer. Ribs were tender, but again, not much flavor permeated the meat. For dessert, my son and I split the Kites special sundae, we enjoyed it a great deal. In total we ordered one entree, one kid's meal, one appetizer and one dessert. No alcohol, just iced tea. It cost us $73.00 with tax and tip. It seemed like a lot of money for what it was. Overall, meh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lunch was good. I was pleasantly surprised. Overpriced? Yes. But what do you expect from a resort? Service was very slow, but the staff was very friendly. Not many options in this town, so I'd recommend kites for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The food at this restaurant is EXCEPTIONAL! Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Dessert - all awesome!! Service was a little slow, but pretty good overall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 13NatalieM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, Over Priced, Lousy Food, But Nice People”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I live close to this restaurant so over the last 20 years I've eaten here probably 50 times. This is because I’m a member of the health club which is located on the lower levels of the building in which Kites is located. Typically I'm disappointed with the food. All too frequently the burgers and steaks that are ordered medium rare are served medium well. The pork that was requested medium has come out raw. The fries that are asked for very crispy are served soft and soggy. I've ordered the Lobster Bisque which occasionally seems to have been watered down. I've ordered French Onion Soup that was served with a hamburger roll floating on top covered in grated cheese. I've had pizza that was cool in the middle because it was frozen and not cooked in their microwave long enough. That was a few years ago and was disappointing because prior to that they made a very good pizza in a wood burning oven. Too bad they stopped making pizza that way. They always seem to be changing the menu so you always have renewed hope things will be better but this just has not been the case. I've learned the best thing to eat is the Caesar Salad as they seldom destroy this choice. Basically Kites is a tourist trap that very few locals go to for the food. The servers are friendly but in many cases very inexperienced. The bartenders are excellent and do a very good job so this is a decent place to go for a drink during the week. Too bad the prices are higher than the other bars in town. I think there is tremendous room for improvement at Kites and they should really try to improve as they are located within the Minerals Hotel and Spa of the Crystal Springs Resort, which has a nice reputation. The restaurants at their other hotel property, the Grand Cascades Lodge, all are much nicer than Kites. Considering the majority of the meals I’ve ordered here have been unacceptable, I do not recommend Kites for their food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kites Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kites Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing