We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerals Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed March 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed the weekend with our children. We had a wonderful time! The staff was very helpful and polite. The pools were great! We had breakfast at Kites. I thought it was fairly priced. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had the pleasure of trading off our Daytona Beach timeshare through Interval International to go to Mineral Springs Hotel & Spa in Vernon, NJ. We stayed in a lovely 3 bedroom condo right off the ski slope. We had full access to the beautiful spa where we sat in the outdoor pool and enjoyed the view. Terri from Interval International was wonderful to work with during the exchange. She was very helpful and professional and tended to our every need. Brad from Mineral Springs also was very helpful and professional in tending to any questions we had. Everyone at the resort were polite and courtesy. They have a very good crew there. The spa had plenty activities and had a really nice restaurant and juice bar. The spa building has a beautiful pool area for those who don't care to ski. The resort has a shuttle that takes you to the main area of the ski slope which is known as Mountain Creek. We had a blast at the family fun tubing night on Friday. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2330cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I went with friends for the weekend. The spa was fabulous. We had dinner and breakfast at Kite's restaurant. We found the staff very accomodating. Would definately consider going again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCLManager, Public Relations Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Dear jjmca,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed Minerels Hotel & Spa for a girls weekend!

We have shared your experience with our team as well!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Thank you again,

Minerals Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Awful, awful hotel!! The lobby was filthy! Every wall in our room was scuffed and dirty. There were stains of who knows what on the window shades. The kitchenette faucet spewed water from handle and flooded the countertop and the furniture looked liked someone moved it in from a frat house. It was scratched & dirty, plus the lamps were broken. We had a luxery room but it was anything but. The bed was awful and the linens where cheap not luxury. They headboard wasn't even hung straight. When we mentioned our dissatisfaction in our room to the front desk they were unapologetic or helpful. They said they will send someone up to give us new light bulbs. Did I mention the only way to the rooms is through the smelly, hot pool area.
We booked a romance package for Valentine's Day but kids were EVERYWHERE, running in the halls at 11pm. The walls were so thin we could here the entire conversation from the room above us at 1am! Not quite the relaxing weekend as described in the brochure. Then at 7am the smoke alarm was beeping because the batteries were dead. We were supposed to have a late check out but we were gone by 8:30 because we hated it so much! This was not worth $280 a night. I wouldn't have paid $140 a night for this room! We will never be back to Mineral Resort and Spa and you probaly would be better off going somewhere else too! Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rd845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

Dear Valentine guests,

Unfortunately Valentine's Day did fall during President's day when schools were out.
It was a busy and very exciting time for all guests, adult and young.
It's more unfortunate that even though your requests were accommodated, your review does not mention what was done for you, nor mentions your thank you at checkout.

As always we strive for 100% satisfaction, we are so sorry for your disappointment.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The best part of this hotel is the recreation amenities - gym with b'ball hoops, ping-pong table, and large pool area. The hotel rooms are very small, older and kind of run down. They reminded me of a Days Inn (lower quality and ours felt like a dungeon), so you don't want to spend much time there. I assume that's why they have so many on-site amenities.
The website pictures of the rooms are deceiving.
The hotel restaurant, Kites, serves average/high priced but the food was below average. Of the 4 entrees we ordered none of the adults thought theirs was good; all were over-cooked. There is supposed to be another juice bar where you can get breakfast in the morning (bagels, muffins) but wasn't actually open at breakfast time. We were told room service BF would take more than an hour. So be prepared to spend a LOT to eat in the only hotel restaurant, where the food is not very good.
It is IMPOSSIBLE to park in the hotel parking lot. Not sure where they expect you to park. You have to drive around for 15-20 minutes (literally) during ski season to find a spot .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suburbanmom7813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay and review.
We are lucky in this economy to have so many loyal return guests during ski season which is why parking may seem impossible, but in reality it's not., there's always plenty of parking.
Our hotel room linens will be revamped by the Summer, and the hotel room size/decor is above the standard of our star rating and the hotels in the area. The pictures on the website do reflect what the rooms look like with the lights on in the room, I'm assuming you must have stayed in either the deluxe or luxury room. Our amenities are part of your room price package, our resort is the only one in this area that has what we offer. The Restaurant Management consistently checks all Trip Advisor postings, and I'm sure your comments will be reviewed with all staff involved. We thank you and hope to see you again.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My family (husband and young baby) stayed at Minerals in February of 2010 as we were attending a wedding on the property. Had we not been attending a wedding we probably would have overlooked this Hotel. As it was, we found the event to be satisfactory and the stay to be above-average. I preface this review by saying that if we didn't have a baby my husband and I would probably have never looked twice at Minerals. However, if you have young children then Minerals is definitely worth a short stay.

Our room was larger than expected (we stayed in a deluxe King). The bed was certainly NOT a King (we own a King at home and this bed was at least a half foot smaller) but there was a sleeper sofa at one end of the room. The linens and furnishings were passable but not luxury by any stretch. What was lovely were the large windows and balcony that looked out onto the beautiful mountains (we had a few of the highway as well but this didn't bother us). It was wonderful waking up each morning to the stunning view of snow-capped mountains. There was also a gas fireplace that provided some extra warmth in the evenings. A small non-flat-screen TV was available as well.

The bathroom only had a stand-up shower but it was large in size. The size of the bathroom was again passable. The shower was certainly inconvenient with having a baby but there was a big seat that was helpful. There was also a small kitchenette with refrigerator, sink and dining table (could seat 2 comfortably) that we rarely used.

The first evening we were there we tried to order room service but was told that this option was not available on that particular night. We tried again the second night (because really - what other options are there when you have a 10 month old?) and found the food to be edible at best (my chicken was so dry I could barely cut into it). We did try the restaurant for lunch and the food was pretty good.

The biggest PRO was the huge pool complex, both indoor and outdoor. Our family went to the pool three times a day. The pool area is kept relatively clean and extremely warm which was nice for the little one. The outdoor pool was quite popular and even our baby thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi tub as well which we didn't get the opportunity to use. The only cons about the pool area are the insanely tiny towels you're given (make sure to get at least two per person!) and the whistle-happy lifeguards.

CONS - Expect to be kept up pretty much all night by the sound of children's feet stomping down the halls or jumping on the beds above you. We accepted this early on into the weekend but I still have to say I was shocked at how thin the walls and ceilings were. We heard everything. There is no internet hookup in the rooms and to access internet via their TV system cost an exorbitant amount of money. I wouldn't bother bringing a laptop.

All in all, a pleasant stay but I would say 2 - 3 nights is more than enough. Minerals is definitely worth checking out - a guaranteed big hit for your children!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hst601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review.

We appreciate all insights, and yours has been most helpful. We would love to have you return, please know that we do have internet wireless in the lobby, and we have internet connection in all rooms (catwire), if you bring a lap top. We will have completed our bedding/towels revamp by early Summer, so all beds will have a comfy topper and down comforters. Our beds are King size in our Luxury rooms, and Queen in our Deluxe rooms. The review will be reviewed by all staff involved.

Thank you and hope to see you this Summer,

Best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The greatest thing about Minerals is that, besides being very close to the ski slopes, it offers a variety of indoor facilities for other activities - basketball, tennis (high fee to use), racket-ball and squash courts, a large fitness center, a spa and an indoor/outdoor pool. The front-desk staff is usually very friendly and accommodating.
On the negative side, the hotel lacks a lounge where people can meet and hang out. The only lounge available is the one by the entrance, which is uncomfortably very cold in the winter time (people go in and out all the time). The rooms (deluxe) are a little small, the beds are not the greatest quality, the heating/air-conditioning unit is loud and the noise from neighboring rooms is very easily heard. The breakfast buffet ($15) is nothing to write home about.
Overall, the hotel is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreekCypriotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments and promise to review this posting in our staff meetings, as well as follow up with what we can correct immediately.

Best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.3 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,848 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
44 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $195 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerals Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing