We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Hotel, but still great getaway”
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerals Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel, but still great getaway”
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed at the Minerals Resort and Spa for a girl’s weekend away in May. Hotel itself seems like it could use a renovation. Our room smelled moldy and mildewy. Shower curtain was growing black stuff on the inside-disgusting.

Planned hiking activities were super. Really enjoyed the Appalachian Trail hike and a guided hike on resort property. Great exercise. Best to go with guide as there are bears at that time of year

Yoga was held in what looked like an old conference room, again smelling heavily of mold and mildew. My allergies got so bad that I could not complete the class. Instructor was good though.

The new Crystal Springs Spa called Reflections at the sister property was awesome. Just opened Feb. Services were great and amenities like the free champagne foot soak with truffles were perfect. The staff was a bit uptight though and there is almost no seating in the relaxation lounge-I sat on a side table in fact.

Ate at the at Crystal Tavern. Good food but HORRIBLY pricey for a "pub like” atmosphere so don't recommend. Better to go off property as there are several great "mom and Pop" restaurants with good Italian food or breakfast.

Overall, was a great weekend but the resort just could use some fixing up!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letstravelwithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Thank you for your review on the resort and your stay.
We have taken note on everything and all depts. /areas involved are reviewing it.
We strive to improve and learn from our guests through all the reviews.
We hope to see you soon again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    349
    266
    160
    135
See reviews for
634
350
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We have been to Minerals a few times over the last year, generally with small kids. The hotel is OK. The pool area is nice, but is starting to show it's age and could be cleaner.
The service throught the hotel is very poor. Many young kids working who are generally oblivious to what the customer wants. The management is no where to be seen when there are problems (broken gym equipment, running out of towels for the pool, no hot water at all one day, an hour wait for a burger, etc). I agree with the earlier comment on the rude lifeguards. It is almost comical, almost. It seems like the customers are a bother to most employees there.
The spa services are nice and fairly priced. The restaurant (Kites) has been very slow sometimes, but was fine the last time we are there for dinner and lunch. The summer weekends can be over crowded. Some days they run out of lounge chairs and towels. The crowd can be a little loud and obnoxious near the bar, have seen a few interesting altercations, very entertaining.
Minerals is fine for a quick break vacation (a hotel room and a pool). Don't expect luxury or good service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njsnowboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the resort and your stay. We have taken note on everything and all depts. /areas involved are reviewing it.
We strive to improve and learn from our guests through all the reviews.

If you would like to further speak about your stay, please feel free to contact us.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my kids for long weekend. Room smelled like you stepped into a chemical factory and staff was generally unfriendly. however, worst part is there is a thief on the staff and hotel won't even investigate or call me back. They stole nearly $600 when my wife left her wallet in the safe and the hotel staff retrieved it after we checked out. So what do they do? They ask the person who retrieved the wallet whether he took the money and when he said "no" they didn't even investigate or give me any information as to who retrieved the wallet and where it was for 2 days before they sent it back to us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brooklynheights11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Dear Guest,

We have responded in writing and via phone to your allegations. The hotel staff followed proper procedures and returned all the items you mentioned to have lost when you called upon checkout.
Even though no hotel is liable for anything left behind by a guest, we are diligent about returning anything, but we cannot
return items that were not left behind.

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Minerals Resort and Spa was a great place to celebrate our 4th Anniversary.The staff at the hotel was wonderful.Very clean an the rooms are awsome!!I paid $450.00 for the room and spa money well spent.Element Spa made me feel at home.Great job Dana!!!!!We will be back!!!Oh yeah food was great at Kites!!!

Thanks
Mr.G .Wilson

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously.

We truly appreciate your decision to stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

The Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I went with our 9,7,5 year olds. We went with a good attitude therefore enjoyed the getaway, however, the service was poor at best. The staff is all young kids who are unable to help with anything. Not even the front desk could offer us info on hiking and biking trails. The restaurant service was slow, however the food was good. If you stay in a deluxe room ask for a balcony, otherwise, they will try to stick you in a small box. Also all the rooms smell. The bottled water is $2.50 a pop so take a case of bottled water with a cooler. Most disappointing the resort allows in locals, who spend the day getting drunk. One jerk actually wanted to fight me. Go with a good attitude, and the kids will enjoy themselves. Don't expect anything by way of service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously.

We truly appreciate your decision to stay with us.
In terms of hiking, we have scheduled hiking activities all weekends and have directions to the parks/suggestions to hike right at the front desk. We are truly sorry that you were not able to retrieve this.

Your comments were forwarded to the depts. involved, we thank you for bringing this forward, if you'd like to further discuss give us a call.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

The Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed for one week in a condo on the Minerals resort and found the staff in the hotel to be very unhelpful. I wish we had met Brian on reception! The pool looked unhealthily unclean with moss and slime all around. The floors did not seem to be cleaned very often and there was a lot of hair and fluff floating around on the side of the pool - so much so, we did not go into, nor take our children (aged 2 and 3) into the pool throughout the whole holiday. We met the same 'friendly' lifeguard who yelled at us thinking we had accidently hit the ping pong ball into the fishtank. Very friendly indeed - not. The staff all had long faces and we dined alone most mornings in Kites restaurant - again greying and aging as we waited for our food to arrive. They market it as a family resort with not a swing or slide in sight. The whole place looks very run down indeed and not at all what we expected. Thankfully we had a car and made a great holiday of the 1 hour trip into NYC and wined and dined ourselves there. Would we go back - not on your nelly!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously.

We truly appreciate your decision to stay with us.
Our facilities undergo on-going State inspections, and we monitor everything according to the standards.

Your comments are being addressed by the depts./areas involved.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

The Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My trip to the Minerals was great. It is a beautiful get away spot! just to relax and have a good time with your family. I am definitely going back ! The customer service was great. I met a reservationist who was really outspoken and kind (Brian with the Southern accent)very dedicated employee. Overall my mini vacation was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionathakurdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralsResort, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously.

We truly appreciate your decision to stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and the pool.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

The Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.3 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
10.2 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Property: Minerals Hotel
Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerals Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing