We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Horseback Ride”
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerals Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My new wife and I recently honeymooned at Crystal Springs Resort. Food and ambiance were quite good. Our suite was also above average. The highlight of our stay however, was our horseback ride. The cost was modest. Shuttle service provided free door to door transportation. The horses we rode, Montana and Murph were so beautiful and well behaved, it's hard to do them justice with a few sentences. To be sure, these are not the "hacks" you so often get on a trail ride. I think Montana is about seven years old and full of spirit. As we rode, the director's dog, a fire cracker of a Jack Russell named Cody, scouted the trail before us and was a pleasure to have around. The director of the ride was very capable and a true pleasure to spend time with. Her horse, Blue, is named for his beautiful blue eyes.
I've never felt compelled to write a review before but our experience with the horses at this resort needed to be shared. Don't miss this opportunity!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Lorenza R,

Thank you so much for sharing your outdoor excursion with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope you return so you may take part of our other Adventure Center activities such as kayaking, archery, fishing and hiking just to name a few.

At Minerals Resort & Spa there is always something for everyone.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We took the short & comfortable shuttle ride over to minerals, where we visited the adventure center to check-in for our horseback riding session. While we waited for the other shuttle to take us to the stable, we ate breakfast at Kites restaurant. The food was delicious, which masked the slower service. The affordable price was a nice surprise and we left with a nice full feeling.

The shuttle ride to the horses was bumpy but fun and the driver was friendly. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Mary and her adorable jack russell, Cody. The pup was very friendly with both the riders and the horses; she even stood atop the horse for a bit while we saddled up. Mary told us about the great trail that we were going to take. It brought us through the woods, up the side of the mountain, and let us out to overlook a spectacular view! My fiancé and I were very excited for the ride.

We started out on our adventure and Mary engaged in friendly conversation as we headed through the trail. It was great hearing about her love for the outdoors and the horses - you could tell she treated them right. They were well trained too, with little need for guidance. Mary correctly gauged the skill level of the audience and asked if we wanted to trot for bit, to which we responded YES! The short trot in the sun was a blast, and it brought us right to the top where we had plenty of photo opportunities!

The fall leaves changing colors were just beautiful. Mary, having dabbled in photography as well, offered to take a bunch of pictures for us. She even gave us pointers on where to guide the horses for the best shots. We definitely took home some incredible memories - thanks again, Mary!

The ride back down was calm - we soaked in some more of that hot sun and I watched Cody continue to run in and out of the woods and along side the horses the whole time. What a lovable ball of energy that little dog was. We continued conversation even after we tied the horses back up and spritzed them down with a cool mist to keep the flies away.

Mary was a pleasure to be around. She has great people skills, which made us both very comfortable. Her love for her healthy horses is very visible and appreciated. We would definitely recommend horseback riding with Mary and have intentions of going again ourselves!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Adriana G,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful story with us! It was a pleasure to read and more-so a pleasure for Mary. She is one of our most valued members of our staff and as you can see why. She is very knowledgeable of the trade and cares deeply for her animals, and of course, the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have you with us here again soon, and look forward to seeing you on the trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked the GOLFTOBERFEST package in late September and had an awesome time at the GREAT GORGE golf courses and a very comfortable stay at Minerals Resort. The package price was incredible, the golf was spectacular and the restaurant at the resort while pricey was excellent. We usually head to Vermont or the Poconos for a 2 day golf trip but it will be hard to beat the value and golfing options at this facility. I highly recommend this golf package.

Room Tip: We booked individual rooms so it cost about 50% more but it was well worth the extra money. The exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Muir A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here. It is our greatest pleasure to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that our golf package met your every expectation. We hope you bring the family with you next time so you can truly appreciate this family resort!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the suites which had a beautiful view and was so comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and provided great suggestions of things to do. We ate at Kites restaurant twice and had great food and great service. The pool area is awesome and we had so much fun. We can't wait to go back. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slantz1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Slantz1129,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! All of us here at Minerals are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves greatly. We have much to offer from our full fitness facilities, our many pools and hot tubs, WaterPark/Ski Park, and 7 premier golf courses. There is always something to do here no matter the season.

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I purchased the "Fall in Love" package to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. Only complaints I have are that the hotel doesn't enforce anytime of "noise rule". Our first night we were awake till 3:30 a.m due to the huge ruckus by the visitors below us. Housekeeping, in my opinion, needs to be increased. By 3:00 pm, our room still wasn't made up. Also, I know this is a resort, but I can not imagine that we were the only ones astounded by the prices for food. The insane prices are the sole reason that we have chosen another resort for our visit to the area during the winter. Only other complaint....CHECK YOUR BILL BEFORE YOU CHECK OUT. All the "extras" included in our package were billed to our room, but I must say, the manager on duty IMMEDIATELY fixed our bill. The views are AMAZING, rooms are clean and there is a TON of activities to join. We had a FABULOUS time!

Room Tip: If you get a room with a fireplace, don't leave that sucker on....it REALLY heats the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Heather_M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us here! I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay with us. I am sorry to see however that you were woken by noise from another guest. Our quiet hours start at 10:00 PM and are enforced by security; unfortunately while our staff do their very best to roam the halls and be proactive, we must rely on guests to help us with these occurences so we may reslove it immediately.

We hope to have you with us again soon. As ski season is slowly approaching, Mountain Creek will bring much more fun and adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I wrote a review on Minerals spa and resort a few years ago that was less than how they viewed their establishment and services. Shortly after I wrote the review I was contacted by the manager of Minerals asking to give them another chance to prove the quality of the resort and services.(Power of Trip advisor) I didn't want to get a room just to get one but I said I would write another review and give him a fair shot. So I gave it another shot doing exactly what i did the first time except for switching the restaurants. I have to say they totally redeemed themselves. We stayed in the begining of the summer and all construction had been completed getting a suite. The wine, cheese and fruit platter were exceptional along with all the amenitites hot tub, pools and bar. We had a wonderful time and told others to stay there based on our experience. We took the shuttle to the main resort ate dinner at the pub which had the best burger and departed the next day. Hats off to Dave the manager for ensuring our stay was exceptional.

Room Tip: I would suggest a first floor room near the water park pools if you have children. This allows you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim U, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Lloyd F,

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing it with the Trip Advisor Community.
We are so happy to have turned your experience around. We strive to excel guest expectations and we are proud to have been awarded this review.
Thank you and we look forward to your return to your new home.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was a great weekend... We were about 90 mins early for our checkin and decided to ask the front desk if we were able to check in early, but didn't mind if we weren't able to. INdeed!!! we had a room. Yeah! Great way to start the mini vacation Sat-Monday! We got our bags and proceeded to our room by walking through the warm pool area and overlooking the pools below. Our room was on the pool floor and far in a corner: Just perfect!!! the room was very clean, well lit and spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was nice, a very deep tub. After we settled in we took the "courtesy" shuttles to the Octoberfest and had a blast. When we returned we decided to go to Kites and have a few appetizers. The bartender was very friendly and attentive. We decided to use the pool and spa facility and the pool inside was very warm, along with the jacuzzis. The best was the Steam room and the "ice bath" tub outside of it. My back was killing me and that "ice" bath was the perfect thing for me. I don't understand how people were complaining about this place. I found nothing wrong with it. It was just perfect. I noticed that there are people constantly cleaning the hotel area too. The front staff was very pleasant and friendly. The outdoor pool was chilly, but we just enjoyed the sun that sunday morning and used the pool inside. I can't wait to go back again in the winter to do some skiing there! We will bring the wee one this time too. she would have so much fun in the pool, especially the cool caves and fish tank in it. !!! Happy we booked here !

Room Tip: Room #346 is nice because it's in the corner, no one bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip_Guru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Trip_Guru76,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here with all of us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us immensely, and are proud of our staff and practicies here on all levels. We hope to have you again with us and look forward to your return visit.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.3 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
682 reviews
10.2 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $269 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerals Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing