We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerals Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Looking for a quick get away decided to give this resort a try. Had stayed at the Grand Cascades before but since it was summer thought we would try Minerals with its outdoor pools. Had a lovely time. Yes, the décor can look dated but it seemed that they were fixing things up and was very clean. Our room was modern, comfortable and we enjoyed the balcony with views overlooking the mountains. The pools were nice, our 11 yr old enjoyed "jumping off the cliff". Also liked to play racketball and basketball. Food at Kites for dinner was tasty but on the high side. Overall, enjoyed our time and would go again.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the pools ask for a mezzanine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8lifgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear 8lifgr8.

Thank you so much for reaching out to us about your experiences! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves immensely. Now that summer has come to an end however, the fun doesn't stop there! With the change in season we welcome apple picking and farm fun packages. Skiing is also just right around the corner. Here at the Minerals Resort & Spa there is always something to do, from romantic spa getaways to fun on the slopes.

We hope to see you here with us again soon!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you like shabby then this is the place to go !! At 240.00 a night we expected a little more.toilet didn't work, could barely see the flame in the fireplace ,screen door to patio was broken ,shower tile was all cracked, bathroom fan didn'work , lights bulbs needed to be replaced in two lamps, and the furniture was cheap and beat up....could probably have overlooked all of this but the front desk personal were so uncaring and disinterested almost to the point of being rude. This is one place I will never return to nor will I use any of their other properties fearing the same disappointment.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Denise K,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with all of us here regarding your stay. Here at Minerals Resort & Spa we strive to excel in excellent service and quality, it is obvious however, that we have failed that primary objective during your stay here with us. Rest assured that your comments have indeed enlightened us and have given us further reason to ensure the ongoing and continuous year round training of all our staff. While Minerals Resort & Spa has indeed gained character throughout the years, the status that the room was presented to you is indeed unacceptable; all department heads affected have been made aware of the situation and have already made the necessary arrangements to institute preventive measures.

We hope that you would reconsider a visit with us again, so we may prove that this is indeed a rarity, and that we can meet, and perhaps exceed your every expectation.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had two spa treatments at Elements day spa. I was greeted by friendly staff and started my treatment with a facial. It was wonderful, I felt relaxed, cleansed and and my skin was glowing. I was lead another treatment room for my massage. Just when I thought it couldnt get bette, the massage was great and adjusted to my needs. I finished with a foot soak in a warm clean water and a cold glass of water that was handed to me. Great service, very clean and attractive, relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: i did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Lisa R,

We are gladdened to hear that you had a marvelous time at your spa visit! Our certified technicians do everything they can to make sure our guests are well cared for, that every need and accommodation is met, and to ultimately surpass your expectations. I will of course pass on your experience to our spa staff, who I am sure will be happy to hear that you have enjoyed yourself.

We hope to see you again, and welcome you as a valued guest and friend.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Requested early check-in in advance. Checked in at 2:30 PM. We were told the room would not be ready until 4 PM and we would be called when it was ready - no call came and we ended up having to come back at 4:15 and go back through everything with new staff.

Much like air travel, the place is a volume game. Much like air travel, volume games can be fine or fairly ridiculous based on the amount of people they're working with. There were three weddings that weekend, and that's why I think the front desk staff treated us so poorly at 2:30 - both in attitude and service. But: it's a hotel, people!

Got to the room - lights didn't work. We didn't have the faith to call anyone about it so we left it alone at that point and got out the next morning ASAP.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninjamunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Ninjamunchkin,

First I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, as a property we cannot grow without the valuable feedback such as yours. Secondly, we do understand the frustration of not being able to check-in early especially when trying to attend an earlier wedding. While check-in is at 4 PM, we do our best to accommodate any and all guests, however, it is clear that we failed that primary goal of service quality and satisfaction. Your particular case has given us pause to think, and perhaps a new line of policy should be drawn in terms of early-check-in.

It is abysmal to hear that you felt the Front Office staff was unattentive, this will be looked into aggressively, and our weekly trainings will re-emphasize these points.

Again thank you for reaching out to us.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a nice break in the beautiful scenic hills of northern NJ. The hotel is in good condition with decent rooms (no wow factor but nothing to complain about either). We had a view of the rear lawn, parking lot and the hills behind. But spent most of our time in the resort complex.

The pools are aplenty with indoor and outdoor access: 2 hot tubs (indoors), 1 fairly large indoor pool (80F water temps) with a water fall into another smaller pool between the hot tubs, another much warmer (90-93F) pool that starts indoors but is mostly outdoors, and a large outdoor unheated pool with a jumping cliff (no slide) and waterfall. Kids had a blast jumping off this 10-12ft platform with a waterfall, into 15ft deep water.

The pool is adjacent to the gym (besides the room access from the 3rd floor, this is the only way to the pool - via the gym where they hand you a wristband). Towels are provided but are very small - large people, bring your own :) The gym is pretty good - a lot of equipment and many many complimentary classes if you so choose. The Elements Spa is within the gym but cannot comment since it was closed when I tried to access it early morning.

Had lunch at the hotel - very good pool side service. But avoid the alcoholic drinks - the bartender needs some serious lessons to make a good mojito, margarita or whatever. Blender was broken (you mean there's no spares?) so no frozen drinks. Food quality is decent - as one would expect pool side.

Didn't try anything other restaurants at the property, so cannot comment on dinner or breakfast. Breakfast was at the local DD. Dinner was a recommendation from the hotel to a Mex. place in Florida, NY (about 16mi away).

Overall - a good stay and would definitely do this again. Golf courses aplenty in the area - just one at the Minerals but many to try out within 10 min - all a part of the Crystal Springs Resort complex.

Room Tip: We chose a close-to-pool room since we had younger kids 9-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear HappyKing,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experiences here with all of us! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Here at Minerals Resort & Spa we have much to offer; although our large out door pool will be closing as the seasons change, the indoor and heated outdoor pool remains open all year round.

It is surprising that the bartender was unable to meet your needs, and very unacceptable that we could not replace that blender. This is being looked into, and the Food & Beverage management team has been notified so they may address and resolve this immediately.

However, we thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we sincerely hope to welcome you here again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Minerals Resort & Spa from 8/12 to 8/14 for a quick family trip. Overall I thought that everything was great (did not give a 5 because there is always room for improvement). We requested the deluxe room with kitchenette, we needed the fridge becasue of the baby. The room was spacious (with plenty of room for a pack & play), clean and comfy.
The kids absolutely loved the pool (especially the rock jump), and the sprinkler section was perfect for the little ones. Yes, finding a chair was hard at times, but I do not think it is any different anywhere else.
The restaurant was a bit pricey for dinner, and we did not care for the dinner choices, but it was good for breakfast.
I think that we would go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear JM726,

Thank you for reaching out to us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. We are always looking for more ways to further improve our customer service and quality of service, as you are absolutely correct; there is always room for improvement.

I have passed on your findings in regards to the restaurant to our Director of Food and Beverage, so rest assured that your voice has been heard.

We look forward to having you back with us soon, as summer comes to an end the fun doesn't stop there, Mountain Creek Ski resort is prepping for launch along with the Red Tail Lodge. Our heated pool areas will also remain open, and we hope to see you on the slopes.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at this property in July for a girls weekend in honor of a friends bachelorette party. We booked the "girls getaway spa package" which included the cost of the room and one spa treatment. It was a good value.The layout of the property was lovely, sprawling and reminiscent of a Vermont ski resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and somewhat modern yet still had a ski lodge charm. There are lots of activities in the area that are advertised at the check in area such as wine tasting, archery, zip lining, and obviously skiing/snow activities in the winter.

The spa was lovely and I was impressed with the service and the treatments. Very relaxing, modern and what you would see in a high end spa resort. I could have stayed there all day.

I would go back and actually plan to in the Fall-WITH MY FAMILY. The property is PERFECT for families. Great indoor/outdoor pool, Lots of other children to play with and family friendly restaurants a stone's through from the hotel entrance. I highly recommend this resort for families and groups. It's not necessarily a quiet getaway spot for a couple seeking to getaway from their kids for a weekend or a bunch of mom's seeking the solace of a quiet spa resort. We definitely had a great time but as a travel professional I would recommend Minerals to families.

Side note...they have the BEST linens and pillows I've ever experienced in a hotel. I commented how great the pillows were at check out and they allowed me and some of the ladies in my party to purchase them at cost!

Room Tip: Ground floor was great which gives quick access to most amenities like the pool. Good area to stay w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittny817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Brittny817,

We are so happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves immensely! With all our amenities and facilities, we do tend to be more appealing to families. We have a plethora of activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, archery, and art classes just to name a few. Our staff will be delighted to hear that we were able to meet your needs, and we look forward to having you as our valued guest again in the fall.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.3 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
19.5 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
17 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: $247 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerals Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing