We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses”
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerals Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I don't know that I'd say this hotel is average, but that there were good and bad experiences that averaged out.

The hotel property is beautiful and the pool area looked really fun. I was there for a wedding in the spring and we didn't think to bring swim suits and regretted that. That whole area looked like a fun feature and would be even better in the summer when the big outdoor pool is open. I suspect it would also be pretty nice in the winter with the ski area so close by.

On the downside, the walls of the hotel room must be paper thin. Sound travels very easily through the rooms. There is a note by the elevator that acknowledges this by asking the guests to be quiet. Our rooms were near one of the conference areas and we could hear the party going on there late into the night.

It seemed like almost every time we tried to use the elevator there was a service person waiting to get on or coming off the elevator. They were generally respectful and stepped aside but it was a little inconvenient that we were constantly dodging them in the hallways and elevators. At one point the service cart and some laundry were blocking most of the hallway so that it was difficult to get my suitcase through.

We ate at the restaurant on the second floor on several occasions. The breakfast buffet was good and the service was fine for that. When we ordered off the menu we had a number of unusual incidents. The wait staff did not seem very familiar with the menu. We would have to point out on the menu that certain entrees came with a specific side as the wait staff was trying to tell us it was a separate charge for the side. We ordered grilled chicken strips for our son and my wife asked for sweet potato fries as a side and we got fried chicken strips and regular fries instead. On another occasion we ordered the spinach artichoke dip as an appetizer only to be told it wasn't available any longer. I'm not sure what was going on, but there was some significant confusion between the menu, the waitstaff and the kitchen.

All in all it was a decent experience and though I wouldn't seek out a vacation here, I would stay there again if we had another wedding or event in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Wake Phil,

We apologize and thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and use them as a training tool to further better ourselves and our property as a whole. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. I have passed on your concerns about the Kites service to our Food and Beverage Director and Restaurant Managers so they are aware and will correct these issues immediately as well as the housekeeping staff. We apologize again and hope that you do consider visiting with us again soon. We have opened our main pool, our famous Tiki bar and our Adventure Center launched for the summer! There is so much to do and enjoy at our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    354
    275
    166
    144
See reviews for
656
359
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We needed a base in North Jersey for a 3-4 day hiking trip on the Appalachian trail. Minerals was a good choice. It was more expensive than the average chain hotels we stay in, but in the May off-season, it was not unreasonable. The pools and sauna were great after a long day on the trail. Only two of the many resteraunts at Minerals and its related hotels were open. They were OK, but a bit pricey and the menu was not extensive. Our server at Kites was very good and friendly. We never did breakfast because it did not open until 7 and we were onthe road to the trailhead.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back wing are a hike to the lobby and parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jim M,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us! We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your needs during your long trek. Unfortunately during our off season only a couple of our amenities and restaurants are open. With the warmer weather however, all of our facilities and restaurants will be in full swing. With our Tiki fields and main pool opening, and the water park and seasonal restaurants soon to follow.

We hope that your journey will take you through here again soon, so you can experience Minerals Resort & Spa at its prime!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage,nj
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we had a reservation for 6 for today, Mother's Day. when we arrived, the girl at the desk walked us to our table, and then said,, You do know this is communal seating? I then looked at her quizzically, and said, "what do you mean?" she then said, "you will be sharing your table with another family". I could not believe it. I immediately told her we were not informed of this when we made the reservation. I asked to talk to the manager, and said we were uncomfortable with these seating arrangements and wanted to eat at our own table. The manager did get us a separate table, but it was a very embarrassing situation to be put in...I have been to brunches my whole life, and I have never been asked to sit with another family...highly unprofessional to even think of doing this

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patti f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Minerals Resort and Spa for a work conference last week and I had to write a review about the outstanding service I received from a staff member. I am pregant and have a delicate stomach recently due to the pregnancy. We were having breakfast our first morning there and I asked our server (Alice) if there was any peanut butter, since that is my preference for breakfast. She checked but informed me that there was no peanut butter available. However, the next morning she found me in the breakfast room and let me know that she went over to another area of the resort to get some peanut butter for me to have that morning for breakfast! I thought this was so sweet and she absolutely did not have to go out of her way for me...but I really appreciated it! She deserves recognition for her outstanding customer service!! Thank you, Alice!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Lisa T,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with all of us here! We at Minerals Resort & Spa share one goal and are dedicated to this goal, to provide excellent customer satisfaction and guest experience. I am happy to hear that we were able to go above and beyond for you. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to Alice so she knows her dedication has not gone unnoticed.

We hope to see again soon with the new addition to your family!

Kind wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the weekend here as part of a church retreat and it was a great stay. The floorplan is a bit confusing and it took a day or two to get used to it but once we did, it was fine. There is a great indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court (for a small fee), large basketball court, gym and a whole array of amenities for use. The spa looked beautiful but we didn't get to use. The grounds are also beautiful - a huge golf course, tons of mountains and greenery.

The beds are a bit springy and the rooms are on the smaller side but overall, it was a nice, pleasant stay and we plan on going back here annually, unless anything majorly goes wrong. The food was delicious, the staff, very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayoonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sayoonara,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us! Here at Minerals Resort & Spa there is always something for everyone, we have many onsite amenities such as our pools, the relaxing Elements Spa, and of course our Sports Club. We are happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We have a few different room types, perhaps you want to stay in a suite during your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Minerals Resort and Spa has an amzing scenery. There is a huge pool where you can jump off a cliff. The spa is beutiful and you can relaxe and have a good time while your kids are safe and having a good time in the day care. Im sure you will have a good time when you go there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gabriella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gabriella F,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. Here at Minerals Resort & Spa we have much to offer, from our onsite amenities such as racquetball, basketball, tennis courts to our heated pools and Tiki Fields. We are also less than 1/2 mile away from the Mountain Creek Water Park and within a 3 mile radius of our 7 premier golf courses.

There is always something to do for everyone here at Minerals Resort & Spa! We hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We hosted our family reunion at Minerals and couldn't be happier. The set-up was a perfect venue. Family games outside, followed by a marvelous dinner and brunch the following morning. There was also plenty to do for those who wanted to escape from the family. The service was exceptional and all staff members very accommodating! Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms with a mountain view are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaneen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jeaneen D,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us! It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff's hard work has not gone unnoticed. Our onsite event coordinators do their very best to ensure that groups and functions go smoothly and will make it a stress free as possible. Here at Minerals Resort & Spa there is always something for everyone, we have many onsite amenities such as our pools, the relaxing Elements Spa, and of course our Sports Club. We are happy that you took advantage of everything we had to offer here, and with warmer weather comes more fun! Our Main outdoor pool will soon open along with our spray grounds, and right down the street we have the Mountain Creek Water Park soon to follow.

We hope to have you with us again, whether it be for a birthday, a reunion, or just a simple getaway.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
2.3 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,823 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
646 reviews
10.2 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
41 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Property: Minerals Hotel
Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerals Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing