We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Vernon! It's a great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Oakhurst, nj
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Vernon! It's a great getaway!”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed in a 1 Bedroom unit overlooking the pool area and mountain. Sat on the balcony and watched a mountain bike race going on. The units are very nice and well maintained. We brought in a few snacks from the supermarket that is right down the street. The pool and hot tubs were relaxing. We have also stayed in a two bedroom unit in the past with our family. Each time we go to Vernon, we discover something new. There are six golf courses and 2 spas within minutes!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy1218purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    72
    36
    37
    26
See reviews for
148
66
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mountain Creek Resort . Upon arrival we were met with a desk attendant that we apparently inconveinenced with our arrival. The gentleman was boderline rude. We were tired after a four hour drive and just wanted to get to our room but the attendant could not find our reservation which was amazingly found under the reservations begining with the first letter of our last name. After escaping the front desk we went to our room which was very nice but none of the lights worked. Calling the front desk I was informed(again with attitude) that there was a master power switch that needed to be turned on to power the lights. We turned on the sitch and we had lights. Upon check out we found that we had been billed a higher rate than we had received our confirmation for. The room had been confirmed at $159.00 a night and they charged us 179.00 a night and with the fees and taxes we were being charges 209.00 a night.
I spoke to the front desk attendant about the discrepancy and was told my card had already been charged and that no manager was available to straighten it out. Rather that cause a scene we left in frustration and anger. It is a shame because it is a beautiful hotel in a great location but my wife and I have received better service at a gas station.
We left in frustration

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbgamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at the Appalachian for one night during the height of ski season. There were six of us and we stayed in the very spacious two bedroom suite that overlooked the mountain. It included two bathrooms, two bedrooms with king sized beds, a living room with pullout couch and fireplace, a kitchen and a dining room. The hotel staff was attentive to our needs and the service was wonderful. They give you complimentary use of the lockers in their locker room for your equipment and serve a complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning. They also provided us with parking passes for our vehicles. It was wonderful to ski-in and ski-out throughout the course of the weekend and the staff always had a hot pot of coffee awaiting your return. The only thing missing from this resort was a nice restaurant on the grounds. We ventured about 10 mins down the road and ate at the Georges Inn. The food there was wonderful and worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellechiavelli9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2009

10 of us with kids ranging from 9-13 stayed Presidents weekend and we had a fabulous time! We opted for the ski and stay package which was a great deal and also included a full breakfast. The hotel was booked but we never felt crowded and the slopes were right outside our door....a huge plus when skiing with kids! The mountain itself was great too. I think that there are 47 trails which kept us all busy all weekend. ...must be twice the size of any Pocono resort...never once did we have a lift line. Everything about the hotel was great. Very nice front desk staff and bell service, great underground parking, rentals right there, fitness center, sauna, outdoor heated pools and jacuzzi (we could actually watch our kids swim right from our room) room was clean, hotel was new and comfortable. I have been telling everyone about it since we returned and we plan to do this as an annual trip from now on.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneCentralNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We spent 1 night at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. They provide underground parking, an outdoor heated pool and hot tub, gas fireplace in the room with a small kitchen, and a close distance to the slopes.
An upscale restaurant would be a nice addition to this hotel and maybe a flat screen TV in the room.
They do offer a few places to grab a beer and a burger. There is a liquor store in town that is a close drive to the hotel.
A little pricey but worth it for the nice location.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed at the Appalachian this past weekend and I have to say the location is absolutely awesome. I went away with my two teenage children and some friends. We stayed in a two bedroom condo and it was very spacious. There were two bathrooms and a full kitchen. Both bedrooms had a king size bed and there was a pullout full sofa. We had a great balcony view of the mountain. We literally walked out the back door and skiied. It was awesome. The unit was great - never heard anyone else why we were in our unit. We were on the fourth floor. They give you complimentary ski lockers for your skis and snowboards. Easily fit three in a locker. The complimentary continental breakfast and buffet breakfast was a nice added extra that we did not know about. Complimentary wireless internet in the lobby - make sure you ask for a password. The pool was heated and very nice to swim in probably about 91 degrees and the hot tubs were awesome. We are used to staying at Black Creek Sanctaury but decided to try Appalachian and boy are we glad we did! Definitely will be returning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank db16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

.My boyfriend and I recently spent the weekend at Black Creek Sanctuary at Mountain Creek, and we loved it.

We reserved a 1-bedroom townhouse on the hotel website. The rate with taxes and fees came to $241 per night, but I showed my AAA card at check-in and received $40 off the total (there is nowhere online to enter AAA information, so make sure you bring your card if you have one).

I was really nervous about the reservation because the website is *not at all* informative--very little area information or what to expect at the hotel. So for others' sakes, I'll try to make this review as informative as possible.

CHECK-IN: You check in at the Appalachian Hotel, which is a two-minute drive away from the townhomes. Signage is terrible--the only reason we found the hotel is because I recognized it from the photos online. The building and the lobby were beautiful. There was literally no one there--I waited at the counter five minutes before an employee even came out. The place was dead. Hardly any cars in the lot and I saw no other hotel guests. Check-in was smooth and the desk clerk was nice and informative.

BLACK CREEK: There were 6 other cars parked at Black Creek the entire weekend. Again, dead. Which was great, since we like privacy and were there for a romantic weekend. Each building has a few units in it but no one else was in our entire building. We pulled right up in front of our door and carrying our stuff in and out was a breeze. (You need your room key to drive through the gate at Black Creek.)

Side note to show you how dead it was: The surrounding townhomes on upper floors had staircases flanking our front door. There were cobwebs growing across the staircases. No one had been in and out of there in a while!

There's a beautiful walking path, and a pool/jacuzzi area, but we didn't use the pool since it rained most of the weekend.

Also, for those of you who ski and snowboard, each unit has its own lockable closet right outside your front door to store equipment (the key is in your unit).

TOWNHOUSE: Wow!!! We rented a one-bedroom unit, which was spacious, beautiful and clean. High ceilings and nicely decorated. A front hallway with a closet, with doors off of it to the laundry room, bathroom, and bedroom, leading to a large living/dining/kitchen combination.

The bedroom was small but adequate, with a queen bed. The TV in the bedroom did not work, but we didn't care. Desk in the bedroom with a jack for high-speed internet (another high-speed jack was next to the dining room table).

The bathroom was huge, with a large tub and separate stall shower. Clean clean clean, with tons of towels.

The living area consisted of a loveseat (sofa bed), coffee table and chair facing a large TV (which worked fine). Also a fireplace that turned on with the flip of a switch. Plenty of lighting and controllable heat / A.C. for the entire unit. The dining area had a chair with four tables, and a counter with barstools dividing it from the kitchen.

The kitchen was great. Full-sized fridge, oven, dishwasher, sink. We ate breakfast out both days but cooked the rest of our meals in the kitchen and had everything we needed to do so: utensils, baking sheets, serving dishes, plates, pots and pans, etc. Also, plenty of cabinet space to store groceries.

The laundry room had a full-sized washer and dryer, and lots of shelving for supplies/ stacked laundry.

The deck in the back was great! It was large, with an amazing view of the water and the trees, and a table and four chairs. Very, very private considering no one was around -- my bf spent a fair amount of time out there in his boxers because no one could see him! :) The townhomes are non-smoking, but you can smoke on your deck. The upper floors had decks as well, which were just as big.

AMENITIES: Not much. BRING YOUR OWN STUFF! There were tiny bottles of shampoo and dish soap, 2 bars of soap, a small box of laundry detergent, one tab of dishwashing detergent, 1 roll of paper towels, 2 rolls of toilet paper, and 2 boxes of tissues, as well as plenty of towels and bedding. I had anticipated this so it was no big deal to us, and once we took stock we ran out to the A&P to buy everything else we needed.

HOUSEKEEPING: None, unless you stay for 3+ nights, and I think even then it's only "refresh" service. This was fine--we made our own bed, washed our own dishes, did our own towels--no problem for us, but some people might not like or expect that. There was an upright vacuum in the front closet which was nice to have.

AREA: Plenty of information and brochures in our room about the surrounding area, places to go and eat and see. We went to a couple of farmer's markets and a winery, and we passed a bunch of restaurants. Everything you need is a short drive away--fast food, supermarkets, restaurants, drugstores.

OVERALL: The main reason I didn't give an excellent rating is because of the price. $241 per night is STEEP, especially in the off-season when it’s obvious that no one is knocking down the door trying to get a reservation. The place is gorgeous, but with no housekeeping / room service and having to provide nearly all of your own amenities, that's a LOT of money. Is it worth it, compared to other resorts? Not really. However, I’d still recommend Black Creek because our stay was comfortable and the place was truly gorgeous. But be aware that you’re spending $500 to stay in a home-away-from-home for a weekend, without any of the amenities that most resorts provide.

  • Liked — Beautiful location and room
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenAnn378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
3.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,823 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
41 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.0 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Property: Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Address: 200 State Rt 94, Vernon, NJ 07462-3323
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Creek offers luxury hotel and vacation condo rental lodging for your Appalachian Mountain vacation in Northern New Jersey. The surrounding Vernon Valley area offers fantastic dining, 12 golf courses, antiquing, wineries, horseback riding, apple orchards, quaint shops, stunning state parks, the Space Farms zoo, hiking and of course, world-class snowboarding, skiing and snow tubing in the winter. Your perfect family getaway or romantic weekend to remember awaits you. We'll exceed all your expectations at Mountain Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary Hotel Vernon
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian And Black Creek Sanctuary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing