We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet and Wild”

Mountain Creek Water Park
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Vernon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Where will you spend your summer days? …In the natural surroundings of the mountains?...On the beach?...Poolside? Well how about all three! Mountain Creek's Waterpark awaits, with over 2 dozen unique rides, slides and pools set in the mountains of Vernon, New Jersey, just 47 miles from NY City. Experience the thrills of 1,600 feet of pure whitewater adrenaline on the infamous Colorado River Ride, the largest water ride in the region. Leap from the Canyon Cliff into endless blue water, or rocket down Thunder Run or The Gualey, the most supercharged whitewater tube rides you've seen! Drop 40 feet on our Vertigo and Vortex tube speed coasters...in the dark! Plummet 99 feet in just seconds on the H2Oh-No! speed slide. Swing into action on the Tarzan Swings, or race through the dark and shoot out 10 feet above the water on the daring Cannonball. High Anxiety begins with a 5 story drop before accelerating riders into the immense funnel that propels you to panic-inducing heights and a momentary Zero-G experience. It's the shore without the jelly fish! The Hightide Wavepool is one of the largest pools of it's kind, sculpting over 450,000 gallons of water into perfect sets of waves every 10 minutes! Kids World offers more than enough fun to keep the kids happy all summer long. Have a blast in The Spraygrounds, relax in the Lost Island River, zoom down The Hook, or play on our multilevel interactive water play fort, complete with water slides, spray cannons, water hoses, and a 'fishy' shower!
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wet and Wild”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great for a day in the country with just adults or take the little ones for an exciting day in the country. Everybody will sleep real good after the water rides all day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    39
    14
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad for a hot summer day with young kids 7 & 9”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice place to visit, most of the rides are for younger children( 14 and under). lines wasnt to bad. Have lockers and restrooms. Food was a descent price. Good for younger kids because the rides are not too scary.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Art800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Updated Review for 2012”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I reviewed Mountain Creek Water Park from the 2011 season and gave it 2 stars and titled my review "Buyer Beware". That review received 14 helpful votes so I thought it would be appropriate to update my review based on visits in 2012. I did not plan to visit this park in 2012 based on past experiences from recent years. However I received two complimentary passes from Crystal Springs Golf Resort of which I am a member. This was a cross promotion. That is when I found out the park in 2012 is now managed and operated by Crystal Springs Resort, the same company that owns and manages the Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Minerals Resort and Grand Cascades Lodge. With that in mind I wanted to see if there were any changes. The answer is yes and the changes are for the better. The park has added several new attractions and a whole new section called the sports arena. New attractions include a roller coaster type ride that goes up and then down the mountain at fairly quick speeds. There is a zip line type ride included in the admission price. They reopened surf hill after several years of having it not operating. The ski gondola is available for scenic rides up and down the mountain. They have opened the area used for snow tubing as a tube slide in the summer. The sports arena has batting cages, golf chipping, street hockey, basketball, tennis and a football challenge all included in the admission for 2012. Although 2 of the rides were closed on one visit and 3 were closed on another, the vast majority of rides were open all day. The park has clearly made numerous improvements in the last year and they need to be commended for it. Yes there are still steep hills to navigate and yes they are now charging $5.00 to park (but probably no charge in the late afternoon if you are a season pass holder) and yes you still cannot bring food into the park but the experience for 2012 is much better than it was for 2011. Hopefully 2013 will be similar to 2012.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went for the first time and was a litte skeptical based on all the bad reviews. It turned out to be a great day of fun. My 6 and 8 year old girls had a blast. My six year old who is a great swimmer went on almost every ride yes even the 18 foot drop slide into the deep mountain water. You do need to be a strong swimmer for many of the rides. They have been to water parks all across the country and this was one of their favorites . The water is very cold but it is refreshing and crystal clear. The food is expensive but no different that any other amusement park. As for the layout, it is very hilly so you need to be in good shape to enjoy this park. We actually enjoyed the exercise. This park is unique in that it does have extreme rides not found in most other water parks. Cliff diving, tarzan swings, ten foot drops all in water at least 12+ feet deep.
I highly recommend this park for people that are in decent shape, good swimmers, and that like adventure. I also bought a seasons pass for next year. Great deal at only $59 per person.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Poconop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took our six-year-old a nine-year-old boys to this water park. We were concerned that they would not be a lot of activities for them. Whereas much of the park is meant for older children, there was plenty for us to do and the kids really had a great time. We all enjoyed it very much. I do recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Schareco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Creek Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Creek Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing