We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to Atlantic City hotels.”
Review of Come Wright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Come Wright Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Ventnor City B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I had to go to Atlantic City (which I don't recommend) for my sister's bachelorette party, and this b&b worked out just fine for me. I was the only one there, but was well taken care of by Steve Wright, owner (with his wife, Dianne, whom I didn't meet). Steve is a pastor and yoga instructor and had some wonderful fatherly advice for me while I was there, a nice perk; he also makes a pretty wonderful breakfast.

If you are looking for sophisticated, trendy or antique-y this probably isn't the place for you. It's more like a night at grandma's. Charming, really.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2007

I stayed two nights at the Come Wright Inn in July. The entire house has an old world charm but with modern conveniences - it is really beautiful. And relaxing and peaceful. I stayed by myself and when I got there, the house was quiet and I wound up in one of the sitting rooms in the front of the house, enjoying a Monet art book under the coolness of the ceiling fan. Just outside of that room was the peaceful sound of a fountain trickling its water downward. I stayed like that for about an hour to my surprise and then got settled in my room. The bed was so comfortable that even my bad back fared well on it, and everything is just very plush and comfortable. My room, The Netherfield, has an adjoining room they call "The Fairy Room", as its decor is a dreamy, uplifting garden decor with flower fairies everywhere you look. It overlooks the back garden and the other housetops - and of course, the sky. I sat in there for a long time on the chaise lounger and yes, actually did read the book just to my left about Flower Fairies (the creator of them was an artist back in the 1800's I think).

Breakfast the next day was incredible! I'm talking delish. And the ingredients were fresh from their own garden!! You could tell the difference. Steve & Dianne come in and out at just the right intervals and they have the perfect mix of friendliness and laughter while giving five-star service. Everything on the table was beautiful. They are great to interact with and they make themselves available but are in no way intrusive.

I could probably go on an on, but suffice to say that I came to the CWI to get away for some peace & quiet on my own, and I hadn't felt that relaxed in a long time. One more thing.... each floor has one small refrigerator that you can use to put some things in to keep cold - a definitely plus for me because I'm into late-night snacks, but there's a convenience store less than 2 blocks away so you're still okay. :)

Worth the trip.... worth the money (you get what you pay for!)...... and worth a return visit. If you stay here, you will truly feel like a royal guest in a first-class, relaxed and inspiring B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wishiwereinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at Come Wright Inn in Ventnor. Actually, this was our 2nd time and we enjoyed it just as much this time around!
First of all the hosts, Dianne and Steve cannot be beat! They are warm and welcoming, but not intrusive. Also they are available for your needs, which is very important. This past trip we stayed in the Rosings Suite which is on the 3rd floor. The steps were no problem and it was nice to have our own little apartment with the 2 seperate rooms and a sitting room in between. The bed was King and VERY comfortable, on of my favorite things was the old claw footed bathtub in our private bathroom!! I slept great after a nice long bath. Breakfast is either at 8 or 9 ( you choose) and was wonderful each day! Start with fresh fruit, juice, Starbucks coffee. Then we had some incredible cinnibun type French Toast one day and an amazingly light frittata with fresh garden vegetables the next.

The location is very convenient, both days we walked to the beach and strolled along the boardwalk. We didn't go to Atlantic City this time, but it is very close. Also you have off-street parking and beach tags included.

The house is fairly old and has alot of charm. Be aware that one or 2 of the rooms have a shared bath, but I did stay in one of those last time and the bathroom was clean and well stocked, even has make-up remover for your use!!

All in all we had a great time, restfull sleep, sumptuous homemade breakfast and quite a few laughs with our hosts.

We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wkdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princessofJesus, owner at Come Wright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2007

I was so happy to see such a wonderful review placed on Tripadvisor on our behalf.
My only comment is that we do have private bathrooms for each of our rooms.
However, if one of our suites is rented and shared by more than two guests(i.e., friends or family members booking the suite together), then the sitting room is converted into another bedroom, either single or kingsize bed and thus the bathroom within the suite is shared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pemberley Suite - две комнаты и собственный балкон с видом на кусочек Океана
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ksenija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Come Wright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Come Wright Inn

Address: 5003 Ventnor Ave, Ventnor, NJ, Ventnor City, NJ 08406-2428
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor City
Price Range: $70 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Come Wright Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4.6 star Seashore Inn is located just blocks from the famous playground of Atlantic City. Our 5 bedroom (each with private baths) Bed and Breakfast features a four course gourmet breakfast individually served each morning, off street free parking and beach tags(for we are only 1 1/2 blocks from the beach). Ventnor's boardwalk connects to AC's boardwalk and so one can leisurely stroll with the ocean at your side from one city to the next. We are located in a residential community and are therefore away from the hustle, bustle of city life. A Jitney, taxi or bus can take you anywhere on our island. You are free to come and go as you please with our keyless entry code on the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Come Wright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing