We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, close to the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Ventnor City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful three night stay at the Carisbrooke and we had a GREAT time. I honestly didn't realize just how close to the beach the Inn is, but it literally took us about 10 seconds to reach the Boardwalk from our front door. From there it is about a 1-2 mile walk to reach the "Boardwalk proper," but what a beautiful walk it is! We stayed in the Oceanside Cottage, Room #9 (also known as "Falling Dunes"). The bed was SUPER comfortable (and it is HUGE), and the window AC unit did its job and then some. Probably some of the best sleep I've gotten in months. To be honest, the bathroom could have been a little bit bigger, but it served its purpose. The innkeepers did a great job of accommodating our late-night check in, which I am truly thankful for. It was nice having complimentary use of beach towels, chairs, and blankets, as this meant we didn't have to pack all of this and lug it up and down into our room. We only ate breakfast there on the day we checked out (as we slept in the other two days), but it was delicious - french toast with a lot of fruit and some amazing crispy bacon!

As an FYI - try Lisa's for breakfast/brunch/lunch - it is right around the corner from the Inn. Also check out the liquor store on the corner (handy for places that are BYOB). Domenico's down the street was always packed and impossible to score a reservation at, so you know it must be good. Also, our saving grace was a Wawa located 2 blocks from the Inn. We will definitely be going back to the Carisbrooke in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruffybean718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were at the Inn for 3 days/2 nights. If you like a Bed and Breakfast atmosphere, you would love this. Charming, clean, great food and all the amenities. Toiletries were very good quality. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. (We had the hot breakfasts. They also offer a continental breakfast.) Great coffee. The homemade chocolate chip cookies could almost always be found in the parlor! (Not good for the waist line.) They have beach tags, towels, chairs and umbrellas available so it was very nice to not worry about packing them. Not located ON the beach but less than 1/2 block away. The boardwalk goes both ways for a couple of miles. John, the owner, is very friendly and accomodating. Staff is all very friendly, as well. Love this place. I'd like to go back for the wine tasting sometime soon. Great B&B in a quiet town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days during the fourth of July holiday. A very nice Inn with all the amenities, Beach chairs, towels, beach tags and bottled water are provided for your day at the beach. Breakfast was wonderful, You can have both the continental and hot breakfast if you choose. The blueberry pancakes and waffles are amazing! The beach and boardwalk are steps away. Many restaurants are walking distance. The staff is very nice, special thanks to Agnes and John for making our stay so enjoyable. Happy hour with snacks everyday and cookies to munch on after the beach. We stayed in the cottage across the street from the main inn. King bed was very comfy. The weather this week was very hot. Our window ac kept up and the room was nice and cool. Coming back in August, and looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: Our cottage room bathroom was small, so if you want a larger bath be sure to ask which room is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoeshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Inn. Both times were a satisfying experience. The Carisbrooke is a charming little seaside inn, situated steps from the beach. They provide towels and beach chairs, which makes it a lot easier when packing your car! The staff is courteous and very helpful. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. The breakfast is delicious...we had juice, muffins (delicious), coffee, fruit and outstanding french toast and sausage. Their attention to detail is consistent year long...I know because the last time we were here was in February and we received the same attention and service we received during the busy summer season. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone. It's a lovely little getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 882Carolyn882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I have become a regular at their wine tasting and dinner each year. To be honest it's more of a wine drinking :-). The regulars to this event are absolutely wonderful and to top it off the food is delicious. My husband and I travel a lot and love B&Bs but this is our favorite. The owner is there to help for anything but he gives you your privacy. The rooms are immaculate and during the holidays the house is beautiful. They do have two wonderful dogs just an FYI if you do not like pets. I am not a huge fan of pets but these two are adorable. To be honest if you are in the AC area give this place a chance. It trully is one of my favorite getaway destinations and I can't express this enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetotravelUSA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My partner and I just returned from a brief stay at Carisbrooke Inn where we traded in the hustle and bustle of the Atlantic City boardwalk hotels for a quiet B&B another municipality away. It's a sweet little inn with a comfortable dining/living room in the main building where the choice of a hot/cold breakfast is served every morning. We had a king-sized bed in a tucked away room with soft pillows and softer mattress. A handful of restaurants and cafes around the corner also made it easy to just order takeout and stay in when the boardwalk gets tired. By cab, Atlantic City's boardwalk is around $13-$20 per trip so the next time we come around, we'll be sure to bring our own car with us! Great for couples who want a quiet getaway but want to stay close enough to main attractions. Also, who love freshly baked pastries and delicious omelets in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We just used a Groupon coupon and spent 2 nights at this terrific, well run bed and breakfast about a half block from the beach, off Atlantic Ave. Carisbrooke occupies 2 buildings across from each other on Little Rock Ave. We stayed in the main building, room 6, which has a view of the ocean from one of the windows. The room had its own bathroom area and a comfortable queen size bed with many pillows and a flat screen TV. There was fruit and a bottle of wine to greet us. There is a large siiting, breakfast room and each morning there was a wonderful hot entreee, as well as juice, fruits, cereal, scones, cake, etc. The waffles, with chocolate, fruit and whipped cream,, as well as bacon was out of this world. In addition, in the evening there were snacks and some drinks. We also got a coupon for ice cream at the place they operate about a block away.

The bed and breakfast is for adults (only persons over 14 years of age) giving it a quiet, dignified atmosphere, but not stuffy. They have thought of many nice touches--free wifi, newspapers to read, cookes and fruit available, a nice balony in front overlooking the ocean and the street, a refrigerator for guests to keep items cold and a 9 car parking lot a short block away.. Carisbrooke is only about a half mile from Atlantic City and there is easy access to Margate, Longport and Ocean City to the south.

Thanks to John and the whole staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Room 6 on the second floor has a window that has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor City
2.1 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,917 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
3.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,767 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 S Little Rock Ave, Ventnor City, NJ 08406-2840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor City
Price Range: $91 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carisbrooke Inn offers a blend of classic luxury accompanied by modern amenities. The Inn is nestled in the historic town of Ventnor, one mile from the action in Atlantic City and a few steps from the beach and boardwalk. After sleeping in one of the luxurious guestrooms, you will awaken to a freshly prepared gourmet breakfast. Other amenities: Wireless Internet, Large Flat HDTV, DVD, Evening Social Hour, Luxury Beds, Business Services, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke Inn b&b
Carisbrooke Hotel Ventnor City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing